BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Darwin's Radio (Darwin Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    I once heard baseball described as a long period of boredom inte

    I once heard baseball described as a long period of boredom interrupted with infrequent bursts of activity. That might apply to this book. He had a potentially excellent story line, but should have read Crichton and Cook about how to deliver it. It rambled on with long, insignificant narrative. It unfortunately also left the reader with no idea how the whole thing started, and, even worse, ended in mid-air.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    To cloe

    I will be ur nook boy friend wanna have nook se*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2014

    It would have rated 3 stars for anyone else. Having read EON and

    It would have rated 3 stars for anyone else.
    Having read EON and other of his stories, I expected something better. Greg is a talented writer and a good researcher, but this whole book tried to cast plausibility with long narratives to impress, I suppose, the lesser educated. His research into genetics should have been better used. The story line was formula driven. I wasn't impressed nor excited about any of this. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Ash bio

    Age: 4
    Hair color: blonde
    Eye color: brown
    animal: phonix
    Strenght:fire
    Weakness:water
    Looks: bright golden wings but body of a human girl
    Powers: heals protects people and creaters that can get my attetion and trust can make items at anytime to help me or the person i with

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Chloe's updated bio (due to birthday)

    Name~chloe <br> age~16 <br> hair~blonde that goes down to my butt <br> eyes~green <br> bio~i love to be really nice and friendly to people...even if they are mean to me <p> i am a redneck woman. :D i love country music and i live on a farm <br> single? Yup

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    This book was so disappointing. It could have been so good-- lot

    This book was so disappointing. It could have been so good-- lots of hard science, and interesting tale of human evolution-- and it completely failed to deilver. The characters were unlikeable and their motivations were alien. Not to mention the second half of the book, quite frankly, made me want to throw it. Way to show female scientists everywhere that their real job is having babies, just like all other women. Because that's what they're there for, after all. The second half of the book was just horrid. I almost would have enjoyed this book more had the first half not been so promising; at least if it was bad all the way through I could have gotten some of the &quot;so terrible it was fun&quot; enjoyment. But I finished this book with a sense of being hugely let down and no desire to read the sequel. However, I will say that Bear clearly did his research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    One of my favorites.

    I have read this book several times. Greg Bear is great at the hard science thriller. His books generally start slow but build with intricate storylines that are unique and well planned.

    This one is about an endogenous retrovirus nicknamed SHEVA reactivating and bringing about hysteria when it causes apparent miscarrages that ultimately result in a wave of punctuated equilibrium. It's a very interesting read. I highly reccommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Yes, but

    Interesting story. Some of the characters and situations are canned. But the big flaw for me is not explaining HOW the appearance of new genes, how the changes that they manifest actually help cope with the stresses than humans are undergoing. When you set that as a premise, you should follow through. The mutation uncovered at the end doesn't. It seems arbitrary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Slow starter, strong finish

    This was one of those books that I had to push myself the continue with. It's a bit of a slow starter, but plot develops and by then end it's a decent page turner. This is hard science fiction with a very intriguing plot. Human evolution is taking a big leap forward in one generation, and it's happened before.
    The characters in this one are well developed, but a bit cliche. A couple of scientists who are out of favor with the establishment, a government conspiracy, and some good old virology. With out giving it away, the premise of this book is not complete fantasy and Mr. Bear knows his science, this adds credibility to the plot and the characters.
    It's a decent read, just stay with it, especially in the middle section when things slow down a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    The Scientific Exploration

    Basically, I thought the book was pretty good. The plot kept me interested, making me want to read more and discover what was lurking around the corner. I did however, feel that it took a little too long for Bear to illustrate the implications and problems of having a 'special' child born in a world of ignorance and fear. Other than that the book overall was really interesting, I learned a lot about genetics, the human cell, and how retroviruses worked. If your a biology fan you will definitely enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Was VERY hard to put down!

    I LOVED this book! In fact, I want a sequel!!! ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    creative, believable and terrifying

    Darwin¿s Radio is a pleasure for someone who loves hard science fiction, as I do. Here¿s the premise: SHEVA, a retrovirus long-buried in our genes, suddenly awakens and begins to attack pregnant women, forcing them to miscarry after three months. But that¿s just the beginning ¿ after the miscarriage, these same women spontaneously become pregnant again, this time developing a fetus that¿s not quite human. The federal government, led by the science establishment, after first denying the truth, then begins pressing parents to turn over their strange children to the government. This premise just blew my mind; it¿s creative, believable and terrifying. The science was complex and I referred to the glossary, included at the back of the book, several times. As I progressed through the pages, I was reminded of Beggars in Spain, Nancy Kress¿s wonderful story. Both novels explore the rapid evolution of humanity into another species, although Greg Bear, unlike Kress, makes humanity involuntary travelers on the journey. My major complaint is the slow pace. Too much time was spent on a romance between the two major characters. Even more frustrating was the endless politics between and among the scientific community and their patrons. Although Darwin¿s Radio is science fiction and not a techno-thriller, more action ¿ yes, a little violence, too ¿ would have strengthened the brew. The bottom line: a slightly flawed but thought-provoking tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Revolutionary idea of Evolutionary processes

    I had never liked reading any type of book, but I have been searching for an author that peaks my interests. Darwin's Radio was the first book that I have read, one of the over 90 books, that has provided such a revolutionary idea on the processes of evolution. The story-line that accompanied the theory presented also brought a compelling and absolutely exciting anticipation for each new event. I declared this book my favorite book within the hours it took me to read it. The sequel, Darwin's Children, is also fantastic continuing the great story fabricated by Greg Bear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    Great story, interesting premise

    I picked this up based on the recommendation of the Hugo Award. The author did a great job unfolding all the scientific information leading up to his climax. Good character interactions. My only criticism is in the length. At times the action took so long to unfold that I was bored. The editor needed to do a better job. It could have been tightened up a lot and the pace of the action quickened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2000

    'Darwin's Radio' a thinking person's thriller

    'Darwin's Radio' is a complex, well-written thriller with some realistic characters. I thought the actual way the disease manifests itself a bit contrived (more complicated than nature would really devise), but the book was gripping throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2000

    Great Book

    This is a fantastic novel that is easily on the top of the favorate novels list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2000

    This was a BEAR of a Book!!

    I've always enjoyed Bear's work, but he seems to be getting better with each book. This one is about SHEVA a old but new virus that attacks humans and forms an evolutionary new type of offspring, maybe the future of human kind. Bear has just enough science and virology as to not make it sound like a science exam. He makes you care about the characters, expecially Kaye Lang and MItch. There is room left at the end for a sequel, but Bear manages to tie things together at the end. The nice little primer at the end of the book was a nice touch. I bought this book in hardcover and it was worth every penny. Bear just keeps on getting better and better and unlike most other science fiction writers, he is not afraid to tackle new ground. Thanks for a great and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3