Customer Reviews for

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares

Average Rating 4.5
( 497 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Amazing third novel by two amazing authors.

If you've never read a book written by both Rachel Cohn and David Levithan you are difinetly missing out. Their first book, Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, was amazing and in my opinion this one was even better. Told in alternating points of view the story unfolds t...
If you've never read a book written by both Rachel Cohn and David Levithan you are difinetly missing out. Their first book, Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, was amazing and in my opinion this one was even better. Told in alternating points of view the story unfolds through a small red mole-skin notebook and by the... end I was eagerly awaiting the two of them to meet. Dash's chapters written by David and Lily's by Rachel they complement each other perfectly and make you laugh at loud with the things they come up with. I personally felt a great connection to this book and was rooting for the two of them to end up together by the last few chapters. A nice read that will also increase your vocabulary skills, Dash and Lily's Book of Dares is a must for any of you who've read their other books (written alone or together) or if you just want a good old fashioned love story with some gay boys, books, and a love of words. Now that I've read this book I personally want to go out and make my own notebook, leaving it in a local used bookstore and see what adventures it sends me on. Definetly an amazing book by all of my standards.

posted by GraceART on October 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I generally disliked this book. I just felt it was weak in so many ways. First of all, the story is already a known one, but that wasn't the reason I disliked it. It could still have been interesting and there were a few parts (only when the red notebook was concerned) ...
I generally disliked this book. I just felt it was weak in so many ways. First of all, the story is already a known one, but that wasn't the reason I disliked it. It could still have been interesting and there were a few parts (only when the red notebook was concerned) that were rather interesting, but not that many. I found myself rushing through the parts where the characters talked about their lives because I just couldn't care less about them and their family. Perhaps it was because I couldn't identify with the characters, i just didn't find them that likeable, or at least they didn't appeal to me at all.

None of the characters introduced seemed that realistic to me, not even the secondary ones. Lily I found was a bit selfish and a hypocrite and she tended to dramatize everything while Dash was, well, rude and kind of a douche. Plus, there were so many convenient coincidences that made it even harder for the story to seem real.

I also didn't really like the writing. It felt like the authors were over-trying for humor but the result was not humorous or funny at all. It seems childish at parts and full of clich├ęs. Furthermore, it was so predictable and not at all original; this is a story we have seen or heard of before.

Lastly, something else i didn't like at all was the way Lily referred to her things by adding her name to them, for example, her room (or bed) was the "Lily pad", her coffee was the "Lilychinno" and the world was apparently called the "Lilyverse". I did NOT enjoy these nicknames; I did NOT find them cute or smart.

Perhaps I'm being too harsh but I did not enjoy this book at all. Perhaps it just wasn't for me because I know there are a lot of people who did enjoy it and who have rated it highly. Perhaps it's just a matter of personal taste.

posted by mistressofdark on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 505 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Amazing third novel by two amazing authors.

    If you've never read a book written by both Rachel Cohn and David Levithan you are difinetly missing out. Their first book, Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, was amazing and in my opinion this one was even better. Told in alternating points of view the story unfolds through a small red mole-skin notebook and by the... end I was eagerly awaiting the two of them to meet. Dash's chapters written by David and Lily's by Rachel they complement each other perfectly and make you laugh at loud with the things they come up with. I personally felt a great connection to this book and was rooting for the two of them to end up together by the last few chapters. A nice read that will also increase your vocabulary skills, Dash and Lily's Book of Dares is a must for any of you who've read their other books (written alone or together) or if you just want a good old fashioned love story with some gay boys, books, and a love of words. Now that I've read this book I personally want to go out and make my own notebook, leaving it in a local used bookstore and see what adventures it sends me on. Definetly an amazing book by all of my standards.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    BRILLIANT, loved it!

    A short fun read for sure, i asked myself after i finished it "Is it really over?" I didn't want it to end, it was great. Try it!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!! Must read this! :DDD

    This book is one of the best I've ever read! I literaly could NOT put it down. Every second was intriguing. It was well written and it was HILARIOUS! I'm not kidding. I would highly recommend this book. I promise you will at least laugh. Even if you don't like the book. It's hard not to. :D

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Story

    This story makes you want to get a notebook find a bookstore and hide it. Very intriguing story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Love love love it!!

    I absolutely adore this book! Ive read it too many times to remember. Perfect for reading during winter(even if you dont live in NYC). Dont we all wish this would happen to us girls?! Great buy!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Perfect Easy Read With a Twist

    When i Read this book I was expecting an easy read. That is what i received but with a vocabulary lesson attached. On almost every page a new word would appear that you were not prepared for. The love of words by the characters brought a great element to the book. Although the plot does follow most teen reads it does add something that no other books I have read. The main characters', Dash and Lily, personalities brought was unexpected and had a great effect. This is because they are not your typical teen characters, they could be considered strange or different but in the best way possible. This is the perfect book for a person who enjoys books by these authors, romance, and teen novels in general. I suggest this book to all people looking for the perfect holiday book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I generally disliked this book. I just felt it was weak in so many ways. First of all, the story is already a known one, but that wasn't the reason I disliked it. It could still have been interesting and there were a few parts (only when the red notebook was concerned) that were rather interesting, but not that many. I found myself rushing through the parts where the characters talked about their lives because I just couldn't care less about them and their family. Perhaps it was because I couldn't identify with the characters, i just didn't find them that likeable, or at least they didn't appeal to me at all.

    None of the characters introduced seemed that realistic to me, not even the secondary ones. Lily I found was a bit selfish and a hypocrite and she tended to dramatize everything while Dash was, well, rude and kind of a douche. Plus, there were so many convenient coincidences that made it even harder for the story to seem real.

    I also didn't really like the writing. It felt like the authors were over-trying for humor but the result was not humorous or funny at all. It seems childish at parts and full of clichés. Furthermore, it was so predictable and not at all original; this is a story we have seen or heard of before.

    Lastly, something else i didn't like at all was the way Lily referred to her things by adding her name to them, for example, her room (or bed) was the "Lily pad", her coffee was the "Lilychinno" and the world was apparently called the "Lilyverse". I did NOT enjoy these nicknames; I did NOT find them cute or smart.

    Perhaps I'm being too harsh but I did not enjoy this book at all. Perhaps it just wasn't for me because I know there are a lot of people who did enjoy it and who have rated it highly. Perhaps it's just a matter of personal taste.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Loved it!!

    AWESOME!!! I loved it, its different than most love stories, i could not put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Funny, witty, and fantastic!

    This book kept me laughing hysterically and completely absorbed and enthralled through every page. Not only was it a blast to read, but also had some really deep points to it while maintaining it's very realistic feel. I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Sorry lost my nook}} She looked at him and tears fell... Jason i

    Sorry lost my nook}} She looked at him and tears fell... Jason i can't go on anymore.... (( I can see your name and change it to Jason.. plz))

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Dash & Piper

    Dash: nods and screams pointing at the woods

    Piper: She walks in. Hello Jason. She gives Dash a muters look

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    cute quick read

    This book had everything I was looking for. I could easily relate to the characters and Rachel Cohn and David Levithans writing is superb. I would DEFINITELY recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    The Greatest Meet

    This has the funniest lines and cutest couple. Did very well an deveryone I've recommended this to, love dit just a smuch as me. Worth it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Best Book Ever

    I love this book its funny, creative and very fun to read! It is also a book for a reader who likes quick funny easy book to read. I also want to state I hate books that every other chapter is told from a diffrent charcter, but this book was easy to understand unlike most. I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    A Clever and Captivating Read

    This novel, although (I'm assuming) geared toward an audience of teenage readers, is a fun and interesting read for both teens and adults alike. Through the use of highly likeable characters (I adore Boomer for his vigor and enthusiasm for life), a witty and cleverly designed plot, and surprisingly elegant prose, the authors manage to present readers with a cute, feel-good, romance story without being too overtly romantic (which I found to be refreshing, actually). What's more, the story addresses realistic teenage issues in a manner quite opposite the continually whiny over-angst so highly favored in by many authors today. Overall, a well-paced, amusing novel that I would readily recommend to teens and adults.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED it!

    Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist has been an absolute favorite of mine since I read it! This book was ALMOST as good! (like I said, it's a FAV! Hard to compete) but I love the reality these authors bring to teenagers. I'm not a fan of YA fiction because so often the teens are depicted as being very unlike any teenager I've ever met... But books by these authors never fail to make me smile and remember my own teen years. Perfect! Amazing! LOVE it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, romantic and slightly delusional. That was basically the

    Funny, romantic and slightly delusional. That was basically the first thought I had when I was reading the book. There were instances were I just couldn't help but laugh and at times feel like they've bummed themselves out too many times. It's probably just part of the deal.
    So the book started with Dash finding a red Moleskin notebook at the Strand-a famous bookstore in New York- and sees that inside was a list of passages from other books found at the Strand. So Dash is curious and wants to find out who wrote it, so he searches for them and gets it and leaves clues for the one who owns the notebook. Lily, the owner of the book, did not at all expected someone would even notice the notebook. That's when the exchanges started and both their lives took a turn.
    I like the fact that it was set in Christmas being festive and all. There are lots of activities where they can hide their clues from one another. But the truth is that I enjoyed the polarities of their Christmases, where Dash's is something he does not enjoy while Lily anticipates it. The red Moleskin notebook ties these two lives together and they get to know each other. Personally, I think that's great. To be honest, I have better communication skills when written than when I say it. I think there's really a comfort to having the notebook around. And with the notebook, they got to at least know each other. Expectations though.
    It was quite hard to go through the novel without thinking that those two will fall in love with each other but only through what they know from the notebook. Expectations are built and you must know how hard that feels! At first I was confused at why exactly would they even want to make it a secret from each other? Are they that introverted or they just like the mystery of it. Sofia was right. It's going to be all in their head.
    I felt somehow immersed by the idea of the word exchanges. The dares to me weren't exactly dares. They posed as more like missions so I thought it would be more exciting but it talked mostly about failed Christmases and family, which is not bad but I might've expected a bit more thrill to it than I could've expected. See? So much expectations! Hurts like freakin' heck
    Characters from the book  are either borderline crazy or just well, crazy. From cousin Mark, to Boomer, to the crowd of angry moms, the book does definitely serve up quite the diverse mix of people. My favorite would have to be Dash.I just love Dash's character! I dunno, angst and all, it just got to me like when I say I love CHEESE! HAHA! Lily was adorable, but yes, I hate her Shrilly-ness. But she is adorable. What really made the book shine is Dash and his relationships really. I honestly love Sofia but I guess you can never have what you want. Again expectations. This book is built on so many of them. 
    The flow of the story is clear and quick. You are taken from the pre-Christmas days up to Christmas day itself to New Years with not much of the hassle. It's not really that fast-paced but just right. It's the matter of how you appreciate the characters in each situation that would get you continuing on reading.
    I love New York and I think setting it up on Manhattan and all the other related places just complemented the hustle and bustle of some of the scenes. I'd really love to visit the Strand. David and Rachel giving us an imaginative tour (I haven't been there), proved my desperation to go there when I get rich and make it big 
    The writing style is exactly how I predicted David and Rachel will handle it. David would be the guy's perspective and Rachel will be the girls. I did notice hints of David's obsession with words through Dash. I really love the fact that this book was rather unplanned for, which is also quite noticeable on the unforced takes on the conversations and situations. What I really appreciate about this book is that there is less swearing and it's fluffier in context than Nick and Norah. I think every book that you'd ever read will prove to be something that could send your hopes high or drop it down like a hot potato. There is a wonderful feeling to the ending of the book though assurances could never be made. I really liked how they ended it and I wish there could've been more to be honest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Dash

    Jason

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Dash

    Jason. She screamed and caught him. Please i love you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    ?

    Cant deside wether to buy or not i have ten dollar bugget and cant seem to no which book to buy this one or the sillmarilion please get back to me soon any one who reads this :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 505 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26