Customer Reviews for

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares

Average Rating 4.5
( 503 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(290)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Amazing third novel by two amazing authors.

If you've never read a book written by both Rachel Cohn and David Levithan you are difinetly missing out. Their first book, Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, was amazing and in my opinion this one was even better. Told in alternating points of view the story unfolds t...
If you've never read a book written by both Rachel Cohn and David Levithan you are difinetly missing out. Their first book, Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, was amazing and in my opinion this one was even better. Told in alternating points of view the story unfolds through a small red mole-skin notebook and by the... end I was eagerly awaiting the two of them to meet. Dash's chapters written by David and Lily's by Rachel they complement each other perfectly and make you laugh at loud with the things they come up with. I personally felt a great connection to this book and was rooting for the two of them to end up together by the last few chapters. A nice read that will also increase your vocabulary skills, Dash and Lily's Book of Dares is a must for any of you who've read their other books (written alone or together) or if you just want a good old fashioned love story with some gay boys, books, and a love of words. Now that I've read this book I personally want to go out and make my own notebook, leaving it in a local used bookstore and see what adventures it sends me on. Definetly an amazing book by all of my standards.

posted by GraceART on October 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I generally disliked this book. I just felt it was weak in so many ways. First of all, the story is already a known one, but that wasn't the reason I disliked it. It could still have been interesting and there were a few parts (only when the red notebook was concerned) ...
I generally disliked this book. I just felt it was weak in so many ways. First of all, the story is already a known one, but that wasn't the reason I disliked it. It could still have been interesting and there were a few parts (only when the red notebook was concerned) that were rather interesting, but not that many. I found myself rushing through the parts where the characters talked about their lives because I just couldn't care less about them and their family. Perhaps it was because I couldn't identify with the characters, i just didn't find them that likeable, or at least they didn't appeal to me at all.

None of the characters introduced seemed that realistic to me, not even the secondary ones. Lily I found was a bit selfish and a hypocrite and she tended to dramatize everything while Dash was, well, rude and kind of a douche. Plus, there were so many convenient coincidences that made it even harder for the story to seem real.

I also didn't really like the writing. It felt like the authors were over-trying for humor but the result was not humorous or funny at all. It seems childish at parts and full of clichés. Furthermore, it was so predictable and not at all original; this is a story we have seen or heard of before.

Lastly, something else i didn't like at all was the way Lily referred to her things by adding her name to them, for example, her room (or bed) was the "Lily pad", her coffee was the "Lilychinno" and the world was apparently called the "Lilyverse". I did NOT enjoy these nicknames; I did NOT find them cute or smart.

Perhaps I'm being too harsh but I did not enjoy this book at all. Perhaps it just wasn't for me because I know there are a lot of people who did enjoy it and who have rated it highly. Perhaps it's just a matter of personal taste.

posted by mistressofdark on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 511 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    weird

    this book is sooo weird I didn't understand anything and their were soo many little jokes that didn't make sense unless you read the books their taking about. In some parts it was halariouse but others I just hated the book hope this helps

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Cute

    It was very innocent and cute. Hard to get through in some places, made me laugh in others. I liked Dash; Lily annoyed me sometimes. Very childish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, romantic and slightly delusional. That was basically the

    Funny, romantic and slightly delusional. That was basically the first thought I had when I was reading the book. There were instances were I just couldn't help but laugh and at times feel like they've bummed themselves out too many times. It's probably just part of the deal.
    So the book started with Dash finding a red Moleskin notebook at the Strand-a famous bookstore in New York- and sees that inside was a list of passages from other books found at the Strand. So Dash is curious and wants to find out who wrote it, so he searches for them and gets it and leaves clues for the one who owns the notebook. Lily, the owner of the book, did not at all expected someone would even notice the notebook. That's when the exchanges started and both their lives took a turn.
    I like the fact that it was set in Christmas being festive and all. There are lots of activities where they can hide their clues from one another. But the truth is that I enjoyed the polarities of their Christmases, where Dash's is something he does not enjoy while Lily anticipates it. The red Moleskin notebook ties these two lives together and they get to know each other. Personally, I think that's great. To be honest, I have better communication skills when written than when I say it. I think there's really a comfort to having the notebook around. And with the notebook, they got to at least know each other. Expectations though.
    It was quite hard to go through the novel without thinking that those two will fall in love with each other but only through what they know from the notebook. Expectations are built and you must know how hard that feels! At first I was confused at why exactly would they even want to make it a secret from each other? Are they that introverted or they just like the mystery of it. Sofia was right. It's going to be all in their head.
    I felt somehow immersed by the idea of the word exchanges. The dares to me weren't exactly dares. They posed as more like missions so I thought it would be more exciting but it talked mostly about failed Christmases and family, which is not bad but I might've expected a bit more thrill to it than I could've expected. See? So much expectations! Hurts like freakin' heck
    Characters from the book  are either borderline crazy or just well, crazy. From cousin Mark, to Boomer, to the crowd of angry moms, the book does definitely serve up quite the diverse mix of people. My favorite would have to be Dash.I just love Dash's character! I dunno, angst and all, it just got to me like when I say I love CHEESE! HAHA! Lily was adorable, but yes, I hate her Shrilly-ness. But she is adorable. What really made the book shine is Dash and his relationships really. I honestly love Sofia but I guess you can never have what you want. Again expectations. This book is built on so many of them. 
    The flow of the story is clear and quick. You are taken from the pre-Christmas days up to Christmas day itself to New Years with not much of the hassle. It's not really that fast-paced but just right. It's the matter of how you appreciate the characters in each situation that would get you continuing on reading.
    I love New York and I think setting it up on Manhattan and all the other related places just complemented the hustle and bustle of some of the scenes. I'd really love to visit the Strand. David and Rachel giving us an imaginative tour (I haven't been there), proved my desperation to go there when I get rich and make it big 
    The writing style is exactly how I predicted David and Rachel will handle it. David would be the guy's perspective and Rachel will be the girls. I did notice hints of David's obsession with words through Dash. I really love the fact that this book was rather unplanned for, which is also quite noticeable on the unforced takes on the conversations and situations. What I really appreciate about this book is that there is less swearing and it's fluffier in context than Nick and Norah. I think every book that you'd ever read will prove to be something that could send your hopes high or drop it down like a hot potato. There is a wonderful feeling to the ending of the book though assurances could never be made. I really liked how they ended it and I wish there could've been more to be honest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Dash

    Jason

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Dash

    Jason. She screamed and caught him. Please i love you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    ?

    Cant deside wether to buy or not i have ten dollar bugget and cant seem to no which book to buy this one or the sillmarilion please get back to me soon any one who reads this :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Best Read In A Long Time

    Stays true to it's NYC setting; very "snarly"; great book to read at any time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    Audiobook Review: Sweet, lighthearted, and so much fun!! I

    Audiobook Review:

    Sweet, lighthearted, and so much fun!!




    I may be the last person alive that hasn’t read Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. And after reading and loving this one so much, I will be remedying that asap.  ;)




    This story was told using alternating points-of-view. The two different narrators really brought this story to life. Such opposites, roaming the streets of New York City, both looking for ways to cope with their personal loneliness. I was routing for their inevitable meeting from the first page!




    Dash, otherwise known as “snarly”, was just that. He was also a bit cynical and sarcastic at times. After a tough upbringing, coupled with the tough divorce of his parents, he has a reason to feel that way. Lily, on the other hand, was quite the opposite. Sweet, fun, and totally nerdy, she won be over instantly. She reminded me of Sue from The Middle, and while listening to this audio I couldn’t help but pictured Sue the entire time.  :) Lily was overly in love with Christmas, but sadden by the “worst Christmas ever” that this one had turned out to be. Dash, on the other hand, hated Christmas, the cheer of others around him, and was most certainly NOT a happy little elf.




    I loved the idea surrounding this story. Though I probably wouldn’t have had the guts to do half of the stuff these two dared each other to do (yeah, I’m a big baby at times.) I loved the fun-nature of its premise. I was smiling and happy, laughing constantly throughout this story. It was exactly what I needed to get me in the holiday spirit!




    This was the perfect silly, super-sweet and totally fun story to get me in the mood for the chilly season that’s upon us. I adored this book, and I have a feeling others that enjoy fun-loving contemps will enjoy it as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Broken

    Double wow"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Flutterhy and Hope

    Fluttershy finds Angel amd falls asleep. <br>
    Hope taks off her costume and dances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Rainbow Dash

    *Flutters down by flapping just the tips of her wings. Lands next to Fluttershy.* Thanks, Flutters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Storm Break

    Pretty cool, huh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    :D

    Amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    We are reading the story of our lives As though we were in it A

    We are reading the story of our lives
    As though we were in it
    As though we had written it
    I was a huge fan of the movie version of Nick &amp; Norah’s Infinite Playlist but somehow never got around to reading the book. If you met my TBR pile, you’d know why! So when I kept hearing good things about Cohn and Leviathan’s latest offering I knew I had to give it a whirl. I was a little wary as to whether the charm and frivolity captured so well in my beloved movie would be apparent on the written page of Dash&amp;Lily and happily I wasn’t disappointed.

    Dash &amp; Lily is a breath of fresh air in the world of teenage romance books. A slow burner, we get to really know the characters seperately before they meet rather than a couple of breathless interactions before the inevitable teeth gnashing kiss or worse the long drawn out melodrama before the kiss happens and your nerves are screaming!

    Both characters are at a loose end for Christmas as their respective parents are enjoying breaks abroad. Lily’s brother Langston, hoping for some time alone with his boyfriend devises a way for his little sister to meet a boy worthy of her high-brow attentions and writes clues in a little red moleskine notebook for the unassuming potential mate to find and follow to meet his prize.

    Dash is that unassuming boy, wandering the aisles of his favourite bookshop, he takes the challenge and so begins an adventure of hijinks, laughter, introspection, heartbreak and love.

    There are many adjectives to describe this book. Cute, smart, sweet, charming. It’s also somewhat irritating in its effort to be “Too cool for school” with it’s constant pop culture references that appeal to hipsters forever quoting Salinger, in their Toms loafers whilst uploading their latest pic to instagram. In spite of that, the heart of the story shines through as both characters long to find a place to belong and that special person to share it with.

    The story flows remarkably well considering there was no actual discussion between the authors regarding plot points as they simply traded emails of latest chapters and continued where the other had left off. In the middle there’s a dip in the action and a melancholy period of introspection occurs which was difficult to get through. I don’t personally think it was the writing that was lacking but the subject matter that was slightly hard to swallow. The pain of two teenagers alone on Christmas may be a bit of a First World Problem but it was no less heartbreaking to read Dash &amp; Lily trade memories of both their happiest and most painful of holiday memories. The sad moments are interspersed happily with moment of pure silliness, usually provided by Boomer, Dash’s irrespressible friend, forever getting into mischief whilst bringing our two heroes closer together.

    The inevitable meet up is a disaster and the following awkwardness feels real and not oversimplified as often seen in similiar YA books. As the two navigate the minefield of their emotions and preconceptions of each other, their friendship deepens and they end up back where it all began…in the bookshop that brought two lonely souls together and gave them hope.

    This book is a fun, light read with adorable,earnest characters, sweet and whilst painfully hipster-ish at time, never overly kitschy with quick-witted banter and intelligent characters with distinctive voices and personalities. Highly enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    this was honestly the best book i have ever read! Maybe it was b

    this was honestly the best book i have ever read! Maybe it was because i got so swept away it felt like i was actually in New York watching the story unfold, or maybe it was because i am almost an exact replica of Lily, but what ever it was, it was worth it. I loved this book it was so empowering, and exotic. It is definatly not a average love story, which is why it is so amazing!!!! If you have not read it, i am begging you to!!! It is well worth it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Not gonna lie, I almost gave up on this book during the first ch

    Not gonna lie, I almost gave up on this book during the first chapter. It introduces us to Dash, the snarly hipster who is too smart for his own good, and a little too pretentious for my liking. I thought the book of dares was vaguely interesting, but not particularly something that grabbed me.

    Luckily, I continued to read and discovered Lily, who I kind of adored She is an awkward girl who has difficulty connecting with people her own age, and even more difficulty meeting boys because of all her overbearing family members. Lily loves Christmas, but her parents are away on vacation and she’s home with her brother, Langston, who only has eyes for his new boyfriend. The one thing Lily want most in life is a pet, but she’s not allowed to have one because she becomes overly attached and is absolutely inconsolable when they die. The kind of inconsolable that her family has nicknamed Shrilly, and who has to use a blackboard to communicate. The best thing about Lily, though, is her willingness to send this boy she has never met (but desperately want to) to get felt up by her uncle, who is a mall Santa.

    Dash &amp; Lily’s Book of Dares has some of the most fun secondary characters I’ve read in a good long while. There’s Langston, who catches a cold because he and his boyfriend thought it would be romantic to sleep under the stars in winter. Lily’s Grandpa who not only babies her to death, but spends a lot of time on a roadtrip trying to get a widow to marry him. There’s the cool, and at times delightfully cruel. cousin Mark who works in the bookstore that sets the stage for young love. And then there is Boomer. Dash’s entirely too awesome best friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dash and Lily¿s Book of Dares was such an endearing piece of wor

    Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares was such an endearing piece of work. I was immediately interested in Dash. He just seems like my kind of snarly guy. And what I might have liked best about Dash is that he stayed himself, even in situations where it would have seemed easier to be someone else. Lily was all over the map with her thoughts and sense of self. However, watching her grow into the girl she is at the end of the book is totally worth it. 
    I very much enjoyed the supporting characters as well, even those with the smallest parts. Mrs. Basil E. was perhaps my favorite sense of humor throughout the book. Boomer was the perfect best friend for Dash because he is loyal and optimistic.
    This book was really cute and fun and I loved the alternating points of view throughout the book between Dash and Lily. Overall, a very highly recommended read. Oh, especially for Christmas time! I didn't realize it when I started but the entire book mainly occurs around Christmas. Felt a bit odd reading it in March. LoL.
    5 stars to Dash and Lily's Book of Dares.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    This book is the perfect example of true love , despite them bei

    This book is the perfect example of true love , despite them being teenagers. I enjoyed how both of the characters were intelligent and how they fell in love with each other based plainly on their personalities. I would have preferred their first encounter to have gone better I felt like it almost ruined their relationship. I thoroughly enjoyed the dares that they gave each other, and how each dare tied together their interests and personalities. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    I'm just going to get to the point: I LOVED IT!!!! I thought t

    I'm just going to get to the point:
    I LOVED IT!!!!

    I thought this was such a great contemporary teen novel! I loved the characters, the setting (New York City!!!), the story, oh the story!!! The feelings between Dash and Lily felt very realistic, in that it wasn't over done!
    I loved that Dash and Lily, at first seemed like complete opposites, but then as you go on, you realize that they are way more similar than you thought!
    There are a couple of scenes I wanted to highlight, because they were just so fabulous!

    For instance, at one point Dash compares people to office supplies, it was such a classic scene!
    And then here's a quote (which, please keep in my mind its an ARC version, so it may have a few corrections, but this is just such a great quote I have to share!!):
    &quot;The rare boy creatures I do meet who aren't either related to me or who aren't gay are usually too attached to their Xboxes to notice me, or their idea of how a teenage girl should look and act comes directly from the pages of Maxim magazine or from the tarty look of a video game character.&quot;

    Why did I pick that quote?: Well, it couldn't describe my love life any better! lol

    This book is a combination of so many of my favorite things! It's got New York City!! It's got elements of one of my all-time favorite movies You've Got Mail! Just a perfect novel, for my contemporary Young Adult, romance fix! :)

    Highly recommend it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great quick read, pure entertainment, and a pleasant pastime.

    A great quick read, pure entertainment, and a pleasant pastime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 511 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26