Customer Reviews for

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares

Average Rating 4.5
( 492 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(283)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Amazing third novel by two amazing authors.

If you've never read a book written by both Rachel Cohn and David Levithan you are difinetly missing out. Their first book, Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, was amazing and in my opinion this one was even better. Told in alternating points of view the story unfolds t...
If you've never read a book written by both Rachel Cohn and David Levithan you are difinetly missing out. Their first book, Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, was amazing and in my opinion this one was even better. Told in alternating points of view the story unfolds through a small red mole-skin notebook and by the... end I was eagerly awaiting the two of them to meet. Dash's chapters written by David and Lily's by Rachel they complement each other perfectly and make you laugh at loud with the things they come up with. I personally felt a great connection to this book and was rooting for the two of them to end up together by the last few chapters. A nice read that will also increase your vocabulary skills, Dash and Lily's Book of Dares is a must for any of you who've read their other books (written alone or together) or if you just want a good old fashioned love story with some gay boys, books, and a love of words. Now that I've read this book I personally want to go out and make my own notebook, leaving it in a local used bookstore and see what adventures it sends me on. Definetly an amazing book by all of my standards.

posted by GraceART on October 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I generally disliked this book. I just felt it was weak in so many ways. First of all, the story is already a known one, but that wasn't the reason I disliked it. It could still have been interesting and there were a few parts (only when the red notebook was concerned) ...
I generally disliked this book. I just felt it was weak in so many ways. First of all, the story is already a known one, but that wasn't the reason I disliked it. It could still have been interesting and there were a few parts (only when the red notebook was concerned) that were rather interesting, but not that many. I found myself rushing through the parts where the characters talked about their lives because I just couldn't care less about them and their family. Perhaps it was because I couldn't identify with the characters, i just didn't find them that likeable, or at least they didn't appeal to me at all.

None of the characters introduced seemed that realistic to me, not even the secondary ones. Lily I found was a bit selfish and a hypocrite and she tended to dramatize everything while Dash was, well, rude and kind of a douche. Plus, there were so many convenient coincidences that made it even harder for the story to seem real.

I also didn't really like the writing. It felt like the authors were over-trying for humor but the result was not humorous or funny at all. It seems childish at parts and full of clichés. Furthermore, it was so predictable and not at all original; this is a story we have seen or heard of before.

Lastly, something else i didn't like at all was the way Lily referred to her things by adding her name to them, for example, her room (or bed) was the "Lily pad", her coffee was the "Lilychinno" and the world was apparently called the "Lilyverse". I did NOT enjoy these nicknames; I did NOT find them cute or smart.

Perhaps I'm being too harsh but I did not enjoy this book at all. Perhaps it just wasn't for me because I know there are a lot of people who did enjoy it and who have rated it highly. Perhaps it's just a matter of personal taste.

posted by mistressofdark on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Amazing third novel by two amazing authors.

    If you've never read a book written by both Rachel Cohn and David Levithan you are difinetly missing out. Their first book, Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, was amazing and in my opinion this one was even better. Told in alternating points of view the story unfolds through a small red mole-skin notebook and by the... end I was eagerly awaiting the two of them to meet. Dash's chapters written by David and Lily's by Rachel they complement each other perfectly and make you laugh at loud with the things they come up with. I personally felt a great connection to this book and was rooting for the two of them to end up together by the last few chapters. A nice read that will also increase your vocabulary skills, Dash and Lily's Book of Dares is a must for any of you who've read their other books (written alone or together) or if you just want a good old fashioned love story with some gay boys, books, and a love of words. Now that I've read this book I personally want to go out and make my own notebook, leaving it in a local used bookstore and see what adventures it sends me on. Definetly an amazing book by all of my standards.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!! Must read this! :DDD

    This book is one of the best I've ever read! I literaly could NOT put it down. Every second was intriguing. It was well written and it was HILARIOUS! I'm not kidding. I would highly recommend this book. I promise you will at least laugh. Even if you don't like the book. It's hard not to. :D

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Story

    This story makes you want to get a notebook find a bookstore and hide it. Very intriguing story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Love love love it!!

    I absolutely adore this book! Ive read it too many times to remember. Perfect for reading during winter(even if you dont live in NYC). Dont we all wish this would happen to us girls?! Great buy!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Loved it!!

    AWESOME!!! I loved it, its different than most love stories, i could not put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Funny, witty, and fantastic!

    This book kept me laughing hysterically and completely absorbed and enthralled through every page. Not only was it a blast to read, but also had some really deep points to it while maintaining it's very realistic feel. I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    cute quick read

    This book had everything I was looking for. I could easily relate to the characters and Rachel Cohn and David Levithans writing is superb. I would DEFINITELY recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    The Greatest Meet

    This has the funniest lines and cutest couple. Did very well an deveryone I've recommended this to, love dit just a smuch as me. Worth it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Best Book Ever

    I love this book its funny, creative and very fun to read! It is also a book for a reader who likes quick funny easy book to read. I also want to state I hate books that every other chapter is told from a diffrent charcter, but this book was easy to understand unlike most. I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    A Clever and Captivating Read

    This novel, although (I'm assuming) geared toward an audience of teenage readers, is a fun and interesting read for both teens and adults alike. Through the use of highly likeable characters (I adore Boomer for his vigor and enthusiasm for life), a witty and cleverly designed plot, and surprisingly elegant prose, the authors manage to present readers with a cute, feel-good, romance story without being too overtly romantic (which I found to be refreshing, actually). What's more, the story addresses realistic teenage issues in a manner quite opposite the continually whiny over-angst so highly favored in by many authors today. Overall, a well-paced, amusing novel that I would readily recommend to teens and adults.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED it!

    Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist has been an absolute favorite of mine since I read it! This book was ALMOST as good! (like I said, it's a FAV! Hard to compete) but I love the reality these authors bring to teenagers. I'm not a fan of YA fiction because so often the teens are depicted as being very unlike any teenager I've ever met... But books by these authors never fail to make me smile and remember my own teen years. Perfect! Amazing! LOVE it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    ?

    Cant deside wether to buy or not i have ten dollar bugget and cant seem to no which book to buy this one or the sillmarilion please get back to me soon any one who reads this :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Best Read In A Long Time

    Stays true to it's NYC setting; very "snarly"; great book to read at any time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Broken

    Double wow"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Flutterhy and Hope

    Fluttershy finds Angel amd falls asleep. <br>
    Hope taks off her costume and dances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Rainbow Dash

    *Flutters down by flapping just the tips of her wings. Lands next to Fluttershy.* Thanks, Flutters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Storm Break

    Pretty cool, huh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    :D

    Amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    this was honestly the best book i have ever read! Maybe it was b

    this was honestly the best book i have ever read! Maybe it was because i got so swept away it felt like i was actually in New York watching the story unfold, or maybe it was because i am almost an exact replica of Lily, but what ever it was, it was worth it. I loved this book it was so empowering, and exotic. It is definatly not a average love story, which is why it is so amazing!!!! If you have not read it, i am begging you to!!! It is well worth it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dash and Lily¿s Book of Dares was such an endearing piece of wor

    Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares was such an endearing piece of work. I was immediately interested in Dash. He just seems like my kind of snarly guy. And what I might have liked best about Dash is that he stayed himself, even in situations where it would have seemed easier to be someone else. Lily was all over the map with her thoughts and sense of self. However, watching her grow into the girl she is at the end of the book is totally worth it. 
    I very much enjoyed the supporting characters as well, even those with the smallest parts. Mrs. Basil E. was perhaps my favorite sense of humor throughout the book. Boomer was the perfect best friend for Dash because he is loyal and optimistic.
    This book was really cute and fun and I loved the alternating points of view throughout the book between Dash and Lily. Overall, a very highly recommended read. Oh, especially for Christmas time! I didn't realize it when I started but the entire book mainly occurs around Christmas. Felt a bit odd reading it in March. LoL.
    5 stars to Dash and Lily's Book of Dares.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15