Customer Reviews for

Dateable: Are You? Are They?

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book was written with every teenager in mind

This book is absolutely amazing. Whether you've dated before or not, it will help any teenager understand how to date in a way where they will not be used and can come out on top. It explains in a non preaching way how to get the most out of dating by learning about w...
This book is absolutely amazing. Whether you've dated before or not, it will help any teenager understand how to date in a way where they will not be used and can come out on top. It explains in a non preaching way how to get the most out of dating by learning about what you like and don't like in the opposite sex. I am reccomending this to every friend I have and of my friends who have read it, everyone loves it. This is a great book for a parent to read and give to their children so they can have open discussions about healthy dating. Unlike other preachy books, this doesn't give you a feeling of guilt about past dating relationships. Instead, it opens your eyes about how to change your future relationships so you will end up happy, with positive relationships for the rest of your life.

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Repetitive and Depressing

The book begins on such a pessimistic note, I'm surprised so many people actually continued to read into it... They give you the notion to date with the idea that "it will end, it will not last, and it will hurt when it does end". At no time do they say that happy teena...
The book begins on such a pessimistic note, I'm surprised so many people actually continued to read into it... They give you the notion to date with the idea that "it will end, it will not last, and it will hurt when it does end". At no time do they say that happy teenage relationships are possible, but simply refer to dating as "practice for marriage", which I do not understand, as marriage is a continuous relationship with one person - and dating is many small relationships with a lot of people. They have crackpot quizzes (25 - your age x number of crushes you've had in one year = how many crushes you'll have til you're married!)...ridiculous analogys (having sex is equal to wrecking a new car...) and incredibly warped views of the teenage mind. I disagree with it wholeheartedly, and pity the fool who takes this book seriously. Although I do believe that going into a relationship with the idea that you will get married someday, and plan your future children's names is ridiculous, I do not believe that you should go into a relationship with the intention of just "having fun" til it's over. They advise that you put absolutely no emotional investment into dating, and just have a ball while you can because "it's going to end soon anyway!" I just cannot get over how ridiculous it is, and how many people have been swayed over because of it. Another big point it makes is how sex is like a plague over teenage relationships. I do NOT believe this at ALL! Youth today is very educated about sex, and I truly believe that if they love each other, they can invest in sex and not be emotionally torn apart by it. The entire book is a huge JOKE. A friend gave it to me after she let her daughter read it, and I will never let my children be brainwashed by such garbage. I know that the youth of today has to be educated about reality, but good grief - love DOES exist! And I will be mighty scared the day that teens start believing in this BS, and lose faith in love and it's power.

posted by Jessie60 on November 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    This book was written with every teenager in mind

    This book is absolutely amazing. Whether you've dated before or not, it will help any teenager understand how to date in a way where they will not be used and can come out on top. It explains in a non preaching way how to get the most out of dating by learning about what you like and don't like in the opposite sex. I am reccomending this to every friend I have and of my friends who have read it, everyone loves it. This is a great book for a parent to read and give to their children so they can have open discussions about healthy dating. Unlike other preachy books, this doesn't give you a feeling of guilt about past dating relationships. Instead, it opens your eyes about how to change your future relationships so you will end up happy, with positive relationships for the rest of your life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    Cry me a river

    notice how the people who give this book a GOOD review are the mature adults with a healthy marriage, who have actually experienced the dating world. and the only ones who say this book is trash are the teenagers. The ones who think they're so smart. The ones that must know SO MUCH about EVERYTHING. Romance is a beautiful thing, but i agree with the author, teenage dating isn't some fairy dream-world where everyone's happy. And if you're a teenager who still believes it is, well then SUCK IT UP PRINCESS, CUZ IT'S NOT.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Repetitive and Depressing

    The book begins on such a pessimistic note, I'm surprised so many people actually continued to read into it... They give you the notion to date with the idea that "it will end, it will not last, and it will hurt when it does end". At no time do they say that happy teenage relationships are possible, but simply refer to dating as "practice for marriage", which I do not understand, as marriage is a continuous relationship with one person - and dating is many small relationships with a lot of people. They have crackpot quizzes (25 - your age x number of crushes you've had in one year = how many crushes you'll have til you're married!)...ridiculous analogys (having sex is equal to wrecking a new car...) and incredibly warped views of the teenage mind. I disagree with it wholeheartedly, and pity the fool who takes this book seriously. Although I do believe that going into a relationship with the idea that you will get married someday, and plan your future children's names is ridiculous, I do not believe that you should go into a relationship with the intention of just "having fun" til it's over. They advise that you put absolutely no emotional investment into dating, and just have a ball while you can because "it's going to end soon anyway!" I just cannot get over how ridiculous it is, and how many people have been swayed over because of it. Another big point it makes is how sex is like a plague over teenage relationships. I do NOT believe this at ALL! Youth today is very educated about sex, and I truly believe that if they love each other, they can invest in sex and not be emotionally torn apart by it. The entire book is a huge JOKE. A friend gave it to me after she let her daughter read it, and I will never let my children be brainwashed by such garbage. I know that the youth of today has to be educated about reality, but good grief - love DOES exist! And I will be mighty scared the day that teens start believing in this BS, and lose faith in love and it's power.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    truth hurts, but it must be told

    I too am a mom, of a teenage daughter who just went through a break-up of a relationship of 1-1/2.I pick out this book with careful eye on details for my daughter.I feel that this book is truthful and honest about most,young relationships. It has helped my child to realize that not All boys/men are like this, but a few are and to be aware of the relationship ahead and past ones. I have bought an other copy for a friend's daughter who has also just gone through a break up. I think the book is a 'HIT' if your willing to admit the truth to it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    The most helpful book I've ever read!

    This book was amazing. I had been feeling sad about my break-up (from about 2 months ago, haha) when I started reading it. The information in it is so true! If your relationship starts fast, it will end fast. That's what happened in my relationship. It has also prepared me for other relationships -- at least I hope it has! I liked how they had activities in there too... like the quizzes and writing down your dreams and making a committment to God. I really enjoyed reading this. It was funny, and it told the truth. I borrowed the book from a friend, but now I'll have to get my own copy! It's the sort of book that you want to refer to later on. :) It was awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    Dateable, Yep, We All Are, Even Guys

    So far the book has been really good. It has taught me that me and my boyfriend should have lives outside our relationship and take time to be with our friends and family. I love him so much, but we both need friends and family too not just us. This book teaches you how to be a couple, yet independent at the same time. It will help couples everywhere!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    It was SUPER in depth and POWERFUL!!!!

    This book is the most teen directed, truthful experience I have ever read. It's also the only book I've read that I didn't get immediatly bored with. You feel like you know Hayley and Justin, like they're sitting right there reading it to you! I enjoyed ALL of it and even understood ever single word(not like I can't read, but some books, I swear are written in greek!)Anyway, I even read some to my mom! She was laughing at the first page! You know the one, The Thing before the Thing, yeah that page. I also will tell my sister to read it when she's old enough. Right now she's only 14, a little young for dating! I'm 16 and I'll probably share a lot with her anyway 'cause we're such good friends, she won't have to read the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    Amazing!!!

    This book is so informing and helpful. I mean what the authors are saying completely applies to almost all areas of my life. Now I understand about guys and all that good stuff and why I should wait on dating! It's amazing and you should read it. I've never read a book like this it's so God oriented and true.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Trust Me! Get It.

    This book is the deep down truth in all aspects of teen dating as well as open your eyes to how it works. This book helped me to understand why it was hard for me when it came to dating. I now know how to come out on top without getting my heart broken.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2004

    this book is amazing

    this book is soooo great!! a friend of mine borrowed it from a friend of hers and i started reading it in school one day and couldnt stop!! its really easy to read and understand and the pictures are really funny. you'll get what i mean when you read the book!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    This has got to be the absolute best book on relationships ever. I am a parent of a teen and this book was recommended by a friend. It's great. I read it and then had my daughter read it. I really think it has helped her keep a 'real' perspective on her current relationship. I would definitely recommend this book to ANY teen -- boy or girl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    This book is a joke.  "A guy will have a tendency to treat

    This book is a joke. 

    "A guy will have a tendency to treat you like you are dressed. If you are dressed like a flesh buffet, don't be surprised when he treats you like a piece of meat." -Dateable

    So, if I see a guy walking down the hall in a football jersey, does that give me the okay to tackle him? Because that's what he's asking for, right? Don't let your teens read this sexist crap. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Look at Both Sides

    when I first opened this book I did find the first title to be both surprising and true. This book looked at the common misconceptions about dating and gave great advice to both boys and girls about dating. Some may find this book to be a waste of time because they do not want to believe what this book is saying. The book backs up what it says and helps teens, including myself, to understand teen dating. The advice in this book is only meant for teens though. Dating as an adult is different and has different challenges so the book is ONLY geared towards teenagers. I think that every Christian teen should read this. It is a book you have to think about and understand where they are coming from. Don't scoff off any of the ideas with out thinking about them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Why read anything else?

    This book is jaw dropping info about the oppisite sex. You will find out stuff you never knew about Girls/Boys. Why are you just sitting there? Go out and buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    Read the Bible - it was written by someone who ACTUALLY is love

    This book is horrible. Nobody should be giving this to their son or daughter to read. It has nothing to do with how to date or be "dateable", only how to be afraid of ever having a relationship. This is not a book that you should read for incite, only for humor because of the loads of crap it gives you about how not to live like God wanted us to. God wanted us to love EVERYONE, yet this book says no relationship will ever EVER last if you are a teen and it's impossible for teens to actually love someone. If you want to learn something about how to love and be loved, read Proverbs. I'm pretty sure Solomon is more wise than Lookadoo. Read the Bible and learn how to love; don't read "Dateable", the book about how to be afraid of relationships and not love people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Its About Time.

    I AM a teenage a girl and this book is great. some of the things in here give me so much freedom. it makes you realized how much time and energy we are waisting. im telling all of my friends to read it,they need it. if you are a teenager you NEED to read this book. some things will make you mad,but its the truth. and some things wont apply to you (tho alot will). give this book a try. i promise you will get something positive out of it. Justin and Hayley know what they are talking about,theyre not just some adults who think they know all about our teenage world today.<BR/>Justin Lookadoo has gone to talk at my middle school then at my high school twice. Hes very funny and he entirtaining,but he always makes a strong point.<BR/>Read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    Hilarious

    Me and my friend were at Barnes and Noble and we picked up this book for a good laugh, It says things like all relationships end so don't put too much into them until your married. That sounds like a good idea until you realize all marriages end too, with either death or divorce. And then theres all the ridiculousness about intimacy being comparable to damaging and crahing a car. I mean what on earth? Best line in the book by far was definitely: Don't get horizontal with your bf or gf its not cute, ITS FOREPLAY. Best book ever (if you want a good laugh)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    Trash

    The more I read into the book, the most annoyed I got with it. The book masks itself as a 'hip, fun' dating guide. Not only does it generalize into stereotypes depicting guys only as horndogs and girls as emotional train-wrecked cling ons, it's adamant on trying to make you as distrustful and bitter about love as the authors themselves. Garbage.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    A reviewer

    i have read this book and found it to be the most hateful negative piece of trash i have ever read in my life!!!!! this book fills the readers mind with nothing negative thoughts which have the capabilit of completely desrtroying your relationship. this book directly states that relationships should be short term because in this authors negative aspect of reality, they believe that a relationship and dating experience will not last. in my opinion, this is a horrible book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    you have to get this book

    A friend of mine has this book at his house, as I picked up and began to read, I was intrigued at it more and more. It will be the funniest book you will ever read, based soley on the ridiculus nature of the book. Go to the bookstore pick it up and you will see what I am taking about. And try to refrain from laughing hysterically at the store

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2