Customer Reviews for

Dating Big Bird

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    The eat sesame street rp(ess)

    Welcome to the alphipe! Here you can be a cat and daily hunting patrols will be sent out to put members of sesame street with the voles and mice. We also raid clans because we are evil. We are hidden i the woods so it would be unrealistoc to find us. Positions next res!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    A fun read

    Fun lightheared read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Big Bird Could Do Better

    While this book is a quick read and can keep you somewhat entertained, it's rather simplistic. I saw the movie 'Someone Like You,' based on Zigman's first novel, 'Animal Husbandry' and was glad I didn't read the book. I wasn't really impressed with the characters or the storyline. And I'm not very impressed by the characters or the storyline in this new novel either. You may think it's because of my male perspective, but I love romantic comedies. These, I don't. I can see Ashley Judd narrating this current story just like the previous one. And it doesn't make it any better. Anyway, this is a good read for you if you like simplism. And if you like that I just made up my own word (simplism) then you'll love that Zigman's main character creates her own mind-numbing word, too. Just like creating a 'theory' in Animal Husbandry. One more criticism before I go: the author spoonfeeds the readers with details that aren't necessary and implied. For example, when the main character's boyfriend says something, we don't need an explanation of why he said it. We know why. We're familiar with his background. We get it. Just move on with the story. Sorry to be so negative. It's a great story if you don't care about what you read and don't have a lot of time to concentrate. It's quick and simple. Although so is microwaving meat, but you wouldn't pick that over a charbroiled steak, would you? :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2002

    A fun, well-written, clever read

    No, this book won't win the Pulitzer. But if you're looking for some intelligent modern fiction, you will really enjoy 'Dating Big Bird.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2002

    A great book!

    Dating Big Bird is an excellent novel! I think that someone, someway, can relate to it. Me, being an 18 year old aunt to 5 neices and a nephew, knows how she felt to love her 'pickle' as much as she did. At one moment, it's very heartwarming, then it goes to quite sad, to absolutley hilarious! Every woman should read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2001

    Wouldn't anyone want to be mother?

    This story makes you feel that being a mother is the world's best thing that ever happen to woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    WONDERFUL READ

    Laura Zigman brings to light the issues facing most single middle-aged women. When will I get married? Will I get married? When will I have kids? Will I have kids? When will my career take off? Will my career take off? Why can't I just date Big Bird!? A hiliariuos, heart-warming read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    Every woman would love to have a 'Big Bird' in their life.

    Dating Big Bird brings the issue of the idea of a single thirty-something woman comtemplating of having a child of her own. The main character Ellen has come to a point in her life that many woman around are having children and seem very pleased with their lives. But poor Ellen is struggled with a love-hate relationship with her fashion career, her 'I don't know if he is coming or going' relationship with her boyfriend. Still she see herself as good mother through the realtionship with her three-year old niece, Nicole. In all, wouldn't every woman love to be a relationship with a big, cuddly, friendly, tall being that will love you no matter what.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    compelling - a cut above

    zigman knows how to draw the reader in amd she does it with such wit and style, it's difficult to resist! I wanted to feel cyncical about thi sowman who felt her clock ticking, but in the end I rooted for her and was glad. her dialogue is crisp and efficient, and there are some real painful and touching moments within this summer page-turner. I for one an eager to see what she turns he hand to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1