Customer Reviews for

Daughter of Fortune

Average Rating 4
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    What is with these abrupt endings..??

    I liked the book very much although it was not an easy read. I'm really losing patience with authors who write and write and write drawing the reader in only to drop the ending like a hot potato.
    I am left guessing as to what happened with each one of the characters we had gotten to know..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    Daughter Of Fortune

    Isabelle Allende's Daughter Of Fortune is a well-written, page turning novel about an orphan from Valparasio, Chile's grueling journey to California in search of her true love. Eliza Sommers is described as a small, slender girl with features as delicate as a quill drawing. With a strong will and blind optimism, she's an ideal character. From the get-go, she knew she never really belonged to the family. When her destined love, Joaquin Andieta set off to find gold in California. Eliza didn't hesitate to follow him. Eliza was sent as a stow-away by ship toward California, and during her voyage, she dealt with a tragic terminated pregnancy in the midst becoming very close with Tao Chi'en, a Chinese doctor who seemed to be able to heal anything and everything. Someone she would never consider loving turned out to be not only her best friend but her possible true love. After spending much time in California, living and working with Tao, and being exposed to living on her own, she realizes she has an ultimate decision to make.. Continue her virtue for Joaquin in hopes that one day they'll reunite, or pursue Tao? Has she become too accustomed to living without Joaquin, and let herself believe Tao be an adequate replacement or is it really meant to be? I would highly recommend this, more to young adults due to the content, and I am defiantly considering and plan on reading more books by this author. Isabelle Allende really captured the emotions of the characters in the book, many times I felt like I was apart of the story, and it was very relatable. The novel is a perfect example of how much someone would go through for what they consider to be their "true love", tangled feelings, and how the power of love can change so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    You will like this book-

    This is a good book that I thought was entertaining and fun to read. I really like historical fiction and this was a good one. This is the story of an orphan raised by a single woman and her brother. Eliza follows her lover to California during the Gold Rush of 1849. On a ship she has to fight for her life and ends up making friends with a Chinese doctor. This was a really good story, I really liked Eliza. The end leaves you wanting to know more! You will like this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Un libro Extrordinario.

    Un dia, no sabiendo que libro escojer de esta escritora. Me encontre este magnifico libro. Isabel Allende lo volvio hacer de nuevo. Cada pagina esta llena de detalles. Una aventura de una mujer en busca de su amor, que enbarca hacia los mares para inciar sus busqueda.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    nice surprise

    A new favorite. I was not expecting much from this book. I was just looking for a way to pass ahot summer's afternoon. Litlle did I know this would become one of my favorite books. I cried, I laughed, and cried some more. I was a little disappointed with the ending, but I normally am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Awesome Book

    Allende's book is filled with intricacy in its plot. Readers learn things about characters that may not make sense but later, Allende ties up those loose ends. The book is rich in Chile's culture and gives the reader a glimpse into how women were viewed in this country in the 19th century. Despite obstacles, Miss Rose, Eliza, and even Mama Fresia show strong female characteristics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    Follow up novel?

    It was an exciting journey for Eliza and for myself. Just want to know if there is going to be another novel to follow her story. I want more to the ending. Would like to know what happens to Eliza and Tao? Does the Sommers find her?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    Interesting but . . .

    Daughter of Fortune is definitely an interesting read. Allende is an awesome storyteller and this work was quite mature. She left some threads dangling, though. Allende could easily write a sequal to this work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    A good book

    There were a couple of parts that were a little slow but overall I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    What a bad ending.

    It was great how the author desccribed that 'golden' time and the development of the main character, but I was really disapointed with the end. I think the two lovers should have exchanged a few words before the dissapointing end. And whatever happened to the Sommers?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    what an end?

    I think that his book was very good, i would definitely recomeend it, but the end was not as good as it could have been, it left me hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    Enchanting!!!

    If you have never read a book by Isabel Allende, then it is about time that you experience this amazing author! I absolutely loved this book! In addition to the entralling plot, the reader gains insights into other cultures. You don't want to miss this novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    New Take on an Old Story

    Much has been written about the California Goldfields of the 1840s, but this story set against that backdrop provided a good plot and the awful squalor of the mining camps came vividly to life. Love, greed, anxiety, racial tensions, they are all there. A solid enjoyable novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    Chapter descriptions make the reader fall in love with the characters.

    There comes a time in life when everyone must embark on a journey of self-discovery; In ¿Daughter of Fortune,¿ by Isabel Allende, a young woman goes in search of her lover and discovers herself instead. Allende uses vivid descriptions of each party to bring to life a Victorian era with apparently good manners and polite graces, all of which are held together by a gossamer web of secrets, silences, and lies to cover what lies beneath. The theme that surfaces shows how devastating it can be when one leads a life of lies and false appearances. Everyone needs to find his or her true self and live a full, real life. Through erudite prose and vivid descriptions, Allende brings to life this colorful novel through a special chapter for each important character, or group of characters. These chapters go back and examine the past of each party. This gives foreshadowing, and an explanation for why things are the way they are. Which also endears certain characters in such a way that you can forgive and almost justify the acts they perform where as if you hadn¿t known why they did the things they did you would not feel compassionate towards them. Eliza, an apparently orphaned baby left on the doorstep of the home of a wealthy English shipping merchant and his sister, in a remote, and small but lively port called Valparaiso on the coast of Chile. Allende brightly embroiders the tale fallowing Eliza into mid-adolescence where she meets a dirt-poor illegitimate man, the man who she believes to be the love of her life. After a secret affair he leaves her for the California gold rush of 1849 with the intention of getting rich enough to be a suitable match for Eliza in the eyes of her adoptive parents, and to have the ability to put his mother in a much better status. After waiting for several months for his return, Eliza stows away on a ship with the help of a Chinese man, and fallows her lover to California. Once she reaches California, her real journey begins. Through the extensive imagination of Allende she develops many unusual friends and relationships, discovers true freedom and her true identity. The story continues to fallow her through thick and thin in a richly detailed plot and colorful setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    An Amazing Journey

    I was struggling through the first hundred pages of this book, bored with the intricate details and slow pace. But towards the middle I couldn't put it down. Eliza travels the world to find a lost love but winds up finding something much more precious. A wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2001

    It's about believing

    This is the third book that I have read from Isabel Allende. I found Daughter of fortune as entertaining as the other ones( House of Spirits and Paula).Though, I was a little dissapointed obout the ending of the book, I thought it was a little rushed. Other than that, I loved the beginning, because it gave me some understanding of how the social classes and traditions were in the 19th Century, especially in South America. It also gave me some information on how it was in California at the time of the gold rush. But most of all, I really enjoyed Eliza's story . This young girl that believed and fought for what she thought it was her true love and destiny. She crossed many obstacles and all of those experiences made her stronger, to later on realized that it was not meant to be. But she would have never known that, if she would not have followed her heart. She did not give up until the end, and that's what is all about, not giving up and believing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2001

    Amazingly vivid, this book is a trip in love and courage

    This book is great in its passage of time and ideas. Isabel Allende was precise in describing Chile and USA and the average life possible. Amazingly descrptive and correct historically, this book is a great entertaining piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2001

    Not of Love, but of Freedom

    After reading some other reviews, I realized that as women sometimes we get too caught up in the overall theme of love. Daughter of Fortune is a brilliant love story, but I believe that more importantly it is a story about one woman's quest for freedom in a time when women were given very little. Eliza makes you dig deep down within your own heart and ask yourself if your own dreams are being fulfilled or if you are holding back because of societal pressures and obligations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2001

    Good fortune begins in the heart

    This book was a surprise. At first I read it slowly, because the characters were deep and interesting to me. Then, after I knew everyone well enough, I gobbled it up. There were times when I felt the story line was a little sporadic, but overall it was a good read. I gained a lot of information about the gold rush era that I didn't know, even though I live in California. This is a good book for someone who likes historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2001

    Daughter of Fortun;: Shows the empowerment of impossible love

    Daughter of Fortune was my first Isabel Allende book that I read. I was very captivated by the realness of her characters in this book. When reading about Eliza (the main character) at times I felt like I was her; going through the journeys of trying to find her impossible love which wasn't meant to be. Her descriptive writing is great, and the story really pulls you in. I especially like the way she describes the lives of women in the 19th century, and how they were viewed in Chile. Although the book is good, I feel that the story between the two lovers is somehow lost in the middle of the book(somewhere between Eliza getting to California and trying to find him). I think it could have been developed better. Overall, it is enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3