Customer Reviews for

Daughter of Joy (Brides of Culdee Creek Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 2054 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(807)

4 Star

(522)

3 Star

(399)

2 Star

(155)

1 Star

(171)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Touching and inspiring

Good story with interesting characters. Faith, forgiveness and belief in redemption are challenged. The result is a good read that keeps your attention to the end.

posted by bookwormnikki on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Yet ANOTHER Beauty & the Beast remake

This book portrays unhealty people having unrealistic and unhealty relationships. The heroine, Abby, tolerates verbal,physical, and mental abuse because she thinks for some reason God wants her to be a rancher's housekeeper. In general, there are too many situations the...
This book portrays unhealty people having unrealistic and unhealty relationships. The heroine, Abby, tolerates verbal,physical, and mental abuse because she thinks for some reason God wants her to be a rancher's housekeeper. In general, there are too many situations the author stuffed into this book which caused these very serious subjects to be glossed over and "explained away" with a short lecture on forgiveness and God's will. (Don't even get me started on the near-rape scene!)
However, I see this book as being one that would be good for teens to read and then discuss what is a healthy, and not healthy relationsip. Learning self-respect and setting limits with how you are treated. I can see this book dangerously on the edge of teaching young women to justify abusive behavior from men, and promoting unhealty thinking and relationships (e.g. blaming themselves for their partner's adultery).I feel it would be very important to have a discussion with any teen/young adult about how this book is fiction, and what happens in real life, in a real relationship is rarely like what happens in the book with these characters.

posted by SynestheticSaraBellum on March 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No wonder it's free

    Sorry, but I am glad I didn't pay for this book. While others really liked it (I have to wonder why), I think the whole story is contrived. If Morgan is copying Patricia MacLachlan (Sarah, Plain and Tall) and Janette Oke, she fails miserably.

    The story is mundane, the characters are shallow, and the plot is pretty much non-existant.

    Save your money (oh, wait, it's free...*phew*).

    26 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    Too religious

    Too religious. The constant religious references became annoying real fast. Was looking for a relaxing read, not a Sunday school lecture.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Preachy tone takes away all the joy from the book.

    (from my Goodreads reveiew):
    I thought this book had promise. The story and characters had depth and emotion, the plot kept me interested, however it was ruined by the overzealous tone of the book. The story and "message" could have been conveyed better, but instead detracted from the story and the book. The tedious moralization, well got, well, tedious, and made the book sluggish and difficult to read. I felt the sorrow and despair, and even hope of the characters, unfortunately they were lost in the denominational message, and would not recommend this book to all but a select few. You've got to be hardcore into "Christian" lit to really appreciate this book, and since I'm not (hardcore that is), this book fell flat.(yet has so much promise, but as a B&N free book, I tried it)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Bad

    I don't mind if god is mentioned in books but in this book every second page is about god and believing in god. I was looking for a nice love story but had to stop after page 70 cause I couldn't take the bible receiting and talking about god anymore. If you are a very christian person this book is probably to your liking if not look for a different one!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Not worth the time it took to read it.

    The book was not what I thought it was going to be. There was rally no plot. I kept reading hoping that it would develop more but it did not. Save your time and choose another book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    A Christian Book

    Way too much preaching, but a nice story line. I will not read the rest of the series, though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No synopsis

    There's no storyline info in the synopsis besides someone wrote that its "preachy". I like my religion from the good book, I don't need someone else's interpretation and certainly not in my romance novel!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Not finished...

    Very disappointing book...shallow characters, poor tteatment (even abuse) of the main female character...dragging story line. Did not finish and would not recommend to anyone.

    Dli Illinois

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    I didnt even read it all but

    :-( dumb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Couldn't finsh it

    Started promising , but was very heavy handed with Christianity. Im a Christian but it was just to much and clouded the story. Should have been in the prodestant novel section , not romamce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Offensive

    Psushy, meddling female characters. Christuan fiction at it's worst!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Preach much?

    How many times can you sau Our Lord on one page? Read this and find out. Good story but way too preachy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Boring!

    Very slow and boring book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    *****

    I loved this book. It is my kind of story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Attention

    You can only get book one for free the others are 4.99

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Is it worth it?

    Just wondering if this book wilpull you in within the first few sentences. lm trying to find a safe fun book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Not bad, but...

    I did not enjoy it very much. Somewhat grim, but probably accurate in depiction of life and attitudes in that era. I'm not reading any more of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Funny

    Immmm ssoo funny havnt even read just beung funny

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Did not like at all...very depressing

    Wish I hadn't wasted my time on this book. I really like historical fiction but this was far too much fiction and no real history! I will not read any mpore by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Interesting Read

    This book was pretty well written and had a good story line, but it's not really to my liking. The beginning of the book is a tad too "racy" for me. I like autobiographies or biograhies instead of fiction, but it was free so I nabbed it. I probably won't BUY any of her other books or read the rest of this series, and that doesn't bother me, so as you can see, it didn't do much for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9