Customer Reviews for

Daughter of Joy (Brides of Culdee Creek Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 2052 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(806)

4 Star

(522)

3 Star

(399)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(171)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Touching and inspiring

Good story with interesting characters. Faith, forgiveness and belief in redemption are challenged. The result is a good read that keeps your attention to the end.

posted by bookwormnikki on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Yet ANOTHER Beauty & the Beast remake

This book portrays unhealty people having unrealistic and unhealty relationships. The heroine, Abby, tolerates verbal,physical, and mental abuse because she thinks for some reason God wants her to be a rancher's housekeeper. In general, there are too many situations the...
This book portrays unhealty people having unrealistic and unhealty relationships. The heroine, Abby, tolerates verbal,physical, and mental abuse because she thinks for some reason God wants her to be a rancher's housekeeper. In general, there are too many situations the author stuffed into this book which caused these very serious subjects to be glossed over and "explained away" with a short lecture on forgiveness and God's will. (Don't even get me started on the near-rape scene!)
However, I see this book as being one that would be good for teens to read and then discuss what is a healthy, and not healthy relationsip. Learning self-respect and setting limits with how you are treated. I can see this book dangerously on the edge of teaching young women to justify abusive behavior from men, and promoting unhealty thinking and relationships (e.g. blaming themselves for their partner's adultery).I feel it would be very important to have a discussion with any teen/young adult about how this book is fiction, and what happens in real life, in a real relationship is rarely like what happens in the book with these characters.

posted by SynestheticSaraBellum on March 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    decent book for free but......

    I was very excited to find a christian romance but this one falls a bit short. It is almost like the author uses God to blame for everything that goes wrong and forgets that God gave us all free will. This book has a great plot and the message about forgiveness is excellent but the story just seemed to drag on and on. About halfway through the book you have to wonder if the main characters do belong together or should they just give up while they are ahead. Just when you thought you could enjoy a little romance another drama aspect comes into play. By the end of the book I was actually amazed they still wanted to be together.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Daughter of Joy

    I think that the characters are well shaped however, I also think that the struggles faced by Abby were so difficult and I find it hard to believe that she stayed so perfect throughout.. I would have liked to see some imperfect. A good religious read on God and struggling to maintain faith and forgiveness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Entertaining

    I appreciated the strong female character Abby portrayed and enjoyed seeing the challenges, change & growth in all of the characters. I am always grateful for clean romance. The story was too predictable to deserve 4 stars & some of the dialog was
    I also felt it got oo preachy in the carrying on sense

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    virginia zarakotas

    good book but too much religion stuff........too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Enjoyable book.

    Historical romance in the old west. A bit more religious than what I would normally read, but still a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Nice

    Good story line. Believable characters...too short for me. I did enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    ....

    ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Good read.

    It was just enough to keep me engaged in the story and wanting more. Loved the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Good read.

    Good but a little predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Pageturner

    Loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Recommend

    I have never read a book by Kathleen Morgan and I enjoyed this book. Somewhat predictable but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Well--

    I liked the story line, and i lloved abby s faith but sometimes sshe sounded more like a fanattic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Recommend for when you would like something light to read

    a good read when you want something light to read. I will check out the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Recomend

    I've liked this author in the past so I tried this one. She weaves a story of love that in today's society most people would not know how to handle. This book was tender at times and somewhat entertaining. It's worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Very good story

    I enjoyed this book, it is a very good story about true love and strength. It does "over due" the religious side of feelings and decissions but a very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Good read

    Although it was pretty predictable I still enjoyed the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Not bad

    Fairly well written, makes you think about morals, forgiveness, and how you deal with adversity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    OK

    Well-written, interesting characters, plot a little too contrived. A nice love story. Heavy on religion and very "preachy".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Good book with good values

    The book kept my attention all the way up until the end. Then I struggled to get through it. I thought it should have ended a little different or at least had another chapter to add something to it. All in all it is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    good read

    sweet relaxing summer day book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20