Customer Reviews for

Daughter of Light

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Warning: rambling commentary ahead. I¿ve loved Fantasy ever sinc

    Warning: rambling commentary ahead. I’ve loved Fantasy ever since reading Lord of the rings in 6th grade. Eventually I ran out of fantasy by Christian authors and moved on to more secular works. While some of them are fantastic, pun intended, they’ve never resonated with me the way more allegorical stories do. A fantastic example of this is The Sword of Shannara by Terry Brooks which I liked. (It’s been called a Tolkien knock-off, but I’ve never seen a problem with that.) The Sword is a mirror that shows its bearer a reflection of their true selves. How the sword-bearer handles this knowledge illuminates the nature of characters and drives the plot forward, but it never goes any further than that. In Daughter of Light, Busse takes a similar device to the next level adding the depth and redemptive meaning that is often missing in more secular works. Stories like Daughter of Light are the reason I love the fantasy genre so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    This fantasy tale is written in the vein of ¿Lord of the Rings¿

    This fantasy tale is written in the vein of ‘Lord of the Rings’ and other allegorical fantasies. It was very enjoyable but the ending seemed abrupt – obviously a sequel is coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Very intersting

    Easy to read but needs a bit of editing for spelling and grammar. Beginning of book, Rowen'S friend's name is either Cayla or Calya.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This is a good read for someone who enjoys a good book that is wholesome and can be read by any member of the family. Has adventure with a touch of a love story. For those who also believe in a higher power who guide our life it give you that also. I really enjoyed this book and the following one that takes you further into the lives of those who you meet in first book. I hope that the story does finish up and there is a third book that completes the lives of those that are introduced in the books. I have really enjoyed the first two books so far and recommend them. I don't like to spoil a person adventure into a book by telling them what is going on so if you enjoy a story of someone discovery of themself and who they are and what they can do this book is one you will enjoy and how faith in who and what they believe can change things then these books may be enjoyable for you to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    Kept me interested through 'till the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    Rowen Mar has lost everything. Her family, her friends, her home

    Rowen Mar has lost everything. Her family, her friends, her home. A mark appears on her hand and with it the power to see the darkness in the peoples she touches. They see it too, thus she is sent into exile with only one hope: a job as a varor to a young lady, thanks to the military service of her adoptive father.




    I love the characters and could just feel what they were feeling, experiencing. I love that Rowen is strong character who know how to handle a sword, but it doesn't diminish her feminine side either. And having the story told from the perspective of a varor was interesting and refreshing. I also love Lore's loyalty and honor, and his respectfulness. I'm curious how Caleb and Nierne's stories will continue in the next book.




    The story begins slow, and not in a bad way, but weaves in hints and questions that keeps you wanting to know more. There are multiple story threads that at first you don't know how they are going to tie together, but then you start piecing the puzzle together. It's a bigger story than just Rowen discovering who she is and the love interest, which, I am hoping for a good payoff in the next book. The introduction to the other point of views were a little jarring at first, because I couldn't tell how they were related to each other, but once they were introduced, it flowed well and kept me turning the pages. I'm looking forward to reading the next book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    High Recommedned - a great addition to anyones library

    I was captivated in the first pages of the prologue and Ms Busse held my attention through to the end. I have found few, if any, books that I could hardly put down. This was one of them. Ms Busse has been able to give her charactors personal traits that we can all relate to and the action through out the book keeps you turning the next page. I am looking forward to the next additon to this series. This is one new author to watch!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Good read, but a few ticks that distracted me (3.5)

    Daughter of Light is the story of Rowen, a girl who was left on the doorstep of her adoptive home when she was a baby. When she reaches adulthood, right after her adoptive father's death, a strange thing happens. A white mark appears on her palm. With it comes power that frightens Rowen and ends in her banishment. She has nowhere to go, and takes her only option: a position as personal guard to a princess in the White City, where she is forced to use her powers and risk discovery when war is waged on her new home.

    I will start with the positives:

    Morgan has strong building blocks. Good plotting, pacing, world-building, and characterization are all there. The story is told from four points of view: Rowen, Captain Lore (Rowen's commanding officer), Nierne the scribe, and Caleb the assassin. They are interspersed at good intervals and lead the story's pacing well. Description is aplenty, giving a solid picture of every place and person. I felt a connection to the main characters, particularly Caleb. It's traditional fantasy, so there is a certain formality to the dialog, but it's not overdone and works quite well.

    I felt the world-building was the best of the book's elements. The landscape and cities, political relationships, races of people...all very rich and complex. I noticed several hat-tips to Lord of the Rings. And I particularly loved the quirks of the Alarian race, such as the eye color that reflects the changes in the sea. Very cool :).

    I love that this story is not focused on the budding romance between Rowen and Lore. It is there, and relevant to the well thought-out plot (yay!), but it doesn't overtake the real story!

    I also loved that there is plenty of dark material in the book, all handled quite well. One particular scene stood out to me in which Rowen sees into the mind of a rapist--she gives the *perfect* amount of information, showing the atrocity without giving gory details. It wasn't sanitized at all, but it wasn't gratuitous either.

    The faith elements are well-woven into the story, and again are relevant (yay!) rather than contrived. Overt, but not preachy. Well-balanced.

    But now, the negatives...

    Morgan obviously has skill, but it is spattered with an accumulation of "weasel" words and "filter" words that I found distracting and distanced me from the pov--something that should have been caught during the line-edit. (On that note, as I've found in all the MLP books I've read, there were quite a few typos.)

    I also personally would have liked to see longer sentences, which would have given the prose more fluidity and eliminated some redundancy. Redundancy showed up in another form, but I hope Morgan sees the compliment in this statement: she states the obvious, "telling" the reader things when she has just done a perfectly good job of "showing" that very thing. Trust your skills, Morgan! If you show us, you don't need to tell us :).

    In all honesty, readers who are not writers will likely not notice most, or possibly any, of the things I just pointed out as negatives. But they made my editor hand itch the whole way through.

    Despite my nitpicking, I foresee reading the next book in the series. And I have no doubt Morgan will quickly build a fan base with this fantasy tale that is likely to capture readers who might otherwise not read the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended - a really good read

    I received this book as a gift. I have read a lot of Stephen Lawhead and enjoyed Daughter of Light equally. Morgan's writing is descriptive and keeps you interested from the very first page. Not a slow or difficult to get into book. Can't wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1