Customer Reviews for

Daughter of Time: A Time Travel Romance (The After Cilmeri Series)

Average Rating 4
( 283 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended!

I love medieval history, and I loved the blend of history, romance, and time-travel fantasy in this book. Meg is a young single mother of a two and a half year old girl. She's endured an abusive relationship with her now-dead husband, the father of her daughter, and has...
I love medieval history, and I loved the blend of history, romance, and time-travel fantasy in this book. Meg is a young single mother of a two and a half year old girl. She's endured an abusive relationship with her now-dead husband, the father of her daughter, and has little reason to trust men or believe in romance--until she's hurled back through time to the court of Llywelyn ap Gruffydd, the last Prince of Wales. Coming from the future, Meg is able to warn Llywelyn of the dangers in store for him and help him navigate the complex politics of the time. I loved how historically based this book was and what a vivid picture it gave of the time period, but I think my favorite part was watching Meg grow as a character. Medieval Wales wasn't a place where women had great power--and yet it's in exactly this setting that Meg truly overcomes her past and grows into the strong, capable women she was meant to be. I can't wait to read the rest of the series!

posted by 7752751 on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Not Very Good

This book has an interesting premise but there is a lot of bad language I did not even finish it Also I did not like the immorality

posted by 10833488 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    I love medieval history, and I loved the blend of history, romance, and time-travel fantasy in this book. Meg is a young single mother of a two and a half year old girl. She's endured an abusive relationship with her now-dead husband, the father of her daughter, and has little reason to trust men or believe in romance--until she's hurled back through time to the court of Llywelyn ap Gruffydd, the last Prince of Wales. Coming from the future, Meg is able to warn Llywelyn of the dangers in store for him and help him navigate the complex politics of the time. I loved how historically based this book was and what a vivid picture it gave of the time period, but I think my favorite part was watching Meg grow as a character. Medieval Wales wasn't a place where women had great power--and yet it's in exactly this setting that Meg truly overcomes her past and grows into the strong, capable women she was meant to be. I can't wait to read the rest of the series!

    36 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Great book!!

    If you like Outlander or The Winter Sea you will love this. Halfway through this book, I bought the rest of the series. I loved it and hope she writes more of this series. There are no sex scenes, so you can share it with someone younger, but it doesn't seem like a kid's book. The characters and story are very well done.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Not Very Good

    This book has an interesting premise but there is a lot of bad language I did not even finish it Also I did not like the immorality

    13 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Great Story of time travel and love

    This was another one of my books that I just happened to come across while searching for books to read on Barnes and Noble. It was a fabulous book to read and the story of time travel is always a favorite of mine. So this book was able to caputer me in both of my favorite areas of time travel and medeval times. I have gone on to purchase the next 2 books and am currently reading Footsteps in time which continues the story but with a different twist. Dont want to give away a spoilers so that others can read the books and find out for themselves. Great story and excellent writing.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Awful!

    I had high expectations from this book because of the positive reviews. The story was weak, character development poor, dialogue juvenile and there were so many "huh?'s" I thought I was missing something from the story, missing some kind of connection from one chapter to the next that I kept going back to re-read or find more complete paragraphs. I especially found the ending to be most ridiculous. I would say this is for the young teen set and adults should stay away.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book.

    This is one of the best time-travel fantasies I've read. I'm so glad there are two more books in the series!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    badly done copy of outlander

    This reads more like historical fiction than time travel romance. There is no real character development and almost no interaction between the main characters. No romance to speak of at all other than two quick kisses. The entire book I was thinking to myself that the author must have read and enjoyed the Outlander series and tried to duplicate it - but didn't seem up to the task.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Wow

    Loved it. I recommend the series.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good story

    good book for all ages

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Love Story

    Great book. Good from begining to end. Could not stop reading it. Look foward to the others in the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    Loved it!

    For a free download, i say this book is fantastic! I wish the author wrote more books in this series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    EXCELLENT BOOK! EXCELLENT SERIES!! It is a good plot and has abs

    EXCELLENT BOOK! EXCELLENT SERIES!! It is a good plot and has absolutely captivated my imagination. It was very interesting to see the thirteenth century through twenty-first century eyes. The characters really grabbed me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Okay.

    I spent many scenes nearish to the beginning exclaiming (aloud, to whoever was near) 'uh,that is totally not an okay way to react". The people are okay, the descriptions are okay. Nothing particularly stood out to me as awesome. I have no interest in reading the sequel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Loved it!

    Great book! I can't wait to read the other installments.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This whole series was really great. I love time travel and medie

    This whole series was really great. I love time travel and medieval historical type novels so this fit the bill. Got the first one and before I'd gotten very far into it went and ordered the whole series. Have not been disappointed. I like to learn something as well as be entertained. Not loaded down with sex either, good story and does have romance. The only thing I did notice is the occasional errors not in spelling but in grammar, not horrific though and does not spoil the story. They could have used a little better proof reading. Would and have recommended to friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Not at all what i expected

    I hated the e nding. It leaves you hanging and wondering what just happened.Calling this a time travel romance is a huge stretch. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Okay

    After about 300 pages of this book, the author is failing toendear the characters of the story to the reader as well as she could have. The distinct lack of intimacy among the characters makes it a so-so story. Even the lack of description to the daughter's personality in the beginning and thus far fails to give the reader a vested interest. The author is counting on time travel and the prince of Wales to keep the interest going. I'll finish it but won't look for the rest of the books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Disappointed

    I couldn’t get into this book no matter how hard I tried. I gave up and started another book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    umm...

    if you've read sharon kay penman's welsh series don't bother, even if you enjoy fantasy. fun concept poorly executed- poor character developement pacing and glaring historical errors.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Dont bother

    Terrible, do not recommend. Characters i dont relate to, ridiculous ending. Wish i could go back in time and not read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15