Customer Reviews for

Daughter of Venice

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    This Book Rocks!

    I thought this book was very interesting. Its about a Venetian Girl named Donata, who wants to decide what she wants for her life. I like this book because she also dares to speak her mind. This is also set in the Renassiance and in a time where women had little rights. And women were also not allowed to make there own decisions. Or speak their minds. She is kind of like me we voice our opinions and she looks like me too. Way to go Donna Jo Napoli you did another excellent job writing another book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2014

    This book is about a Venetian girl named Donata, who always spea

    This book is about a Venetian girl named Donata, who always speaks her mind. She wants more for her life than what she is given, and
    wants to achieve a great deal of success. She was adventurous and seeked many things she was told she couldn't have, and ended up
    getting them for herself, anyways. The plot was very strong and had interesting twists. The Author uses descriptions and phrases that
    were used back in the 1500's to recreate the image of Venice during the Renaissance. The book was based during the Renaissance, a
    time when women didn't have the same amount of rights that men had. The book really made me feel as if I was in the time period.
    Being 14, she was very courageous and set her mind to great things and accomplished them. She found romance and education, which 
    many other girls did not get to have. Since I am so close to her age I constantly wondered how it would be to live and grow up in those
    circumstances, it actually sounds pretty fun. By the last page I was left wanting so much more, I was left to imagine my own ending of the
    story. Overall, it was an outstanding book. ¿¿¿¿¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Daughter of Venice Book Review Daughter of Venice was overall o

    Daughter of Venice Book Review
    Daughter of Venice was overall one of the best historical fiction books I have read, over Storm of 1900 and Crispin.  The book had a strong plot with many twists and turns.  Overall this is a book of a strong girl who made a difference and still managed to do the right thing and have an adventure, I would totally want something like this to happen to me!
    One thing I did not like about the book was the ending.  Noe, one of the main characters, was basically forgotten about.  I would like to see how his ending was.  The author wrote a book about a girl wanting to find love, finds a guy she likes but after Donata stops her job, he disappears.  She never thought about him or mentioned him to one of her eleven siblings.  I just wish the ending stated a little more about him.  A quote that I heard a little while ago, “a book that lacks romance lacks excitement”
    Besides the ending the book was great.  It gave you the feel that you were in Venice back in the 1500s.  This book is set in the Renaissance and in a time where women had little rights.  They were not allowed to make their own decisions, or speak their minds.   I feel that most books in this time would cut the hard truths to make a happy story, but that was not what life was like back then.  I liked that Donna Jo Napoli did not cut out the truth; reading this you can’t help but feel sorry for Donata or anyone else in her position.
    The last main thing I like about the book is it leaves you with some suspense about Donata’s future.   Not too much, but just the right amount.  With her knowledge and her future laid out all you wonder about is if Paolina would get her help.  Even Giovanni or Bortolo, plus what about her brothers kids, would be she moved to a different house.  What if Noe came back?  These were all things that the book left me suspicious about.  Again though a great read.
    I would recommend this book to all of my friends and anyone who is just looking for a good read.  So sit down and make sure you have plenty of time because you will not want to put it down.  The book may be over, but there are much more adventures to live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Anonymous

    Loved this book when i first got it I expected it to have some inappropriate it stuff in it but there was none. I love when u can find good books that are not all about romance. Some people dont like the ending but i loved it. I am definitly recommending it to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Wonderful

    It's really a wonderful story that gives you a look into a world that most have never seen before. I thought it was inspirational and sweet, and you find yourself rooting dor Donata from the first page; recoiling from the seeming injustice that is the way this society works, and supporting her all through the book. It's truly a great read, and I hope there are many more like it coming, I will buy them all without a second thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Beautiful story

    This is a book very close to my heart because it was my very first "real" book that I got as a gift many Christmases ago and I've reread it a hundred times since. A very inspiring and beautiful story! Especially reccomend it for young girls...not too young though like for preteens and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book because it does not hold back it shows what Venice really was in those times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    AWESOME!!!!

    This is a great book of a strong girl who made a difference and still managed to do the right thing and have an adventure, I totally want something like this to happen to me!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    A definite MUST-READ

    This book was written flawlessly and amazingly. Napoli does a wonderful job in describing Donata's [the main character] situation. Her story is touching, and most of all, captivating. This is honestly one of the best books I have ever read. This bit of historical fiction is truly a masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2006

    A beautifully written tale!

    I loved this book I have read it over and over again and still enjoy every time! Napoli creates a great atmosphere with interesting characters and a heart-breaking tale of young girls. Donata and Laura{the young girls} are likeable and very interesting to read about. Napoli pulls off writing about twins very easily. My only complaint is that it wasn't longer. It would be great if Mrs. Napoli would write a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    A Great Book

    This was a very good book. As I was reading it, I could not stop. I recommend this book to whoever is looking for an interesting and compelling book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    OUTSTANDING

    This is an outstanding book. I reccommend this to everyone! Well, not exactly everyone. Anyone, I think this book is aboslutely fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    OUTSTANDING

    I just love this book. It really shows that even if you're wealthy, it doesn't count for everything. I also liked it because it shows how stricted girls lives were then. I was hoping for a happy and romantic ending...but was kind of disappointed. She's so brave to give everything up. *sniffle*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2003

    My Favorite book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    OH god!!!!!!! i can't even begin to explain how good this book is. it's rich in traditions, and its a great book for anyone who is a good person!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great book!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    It's a 5 Star book

    This is a wonderful book for those of you who like suspensful books. I enjoyed this book a lot it took me in a lot of adventures,wich i never thought i would encounter with just one book. Daughter of Venice is a thrilling book, and i'm looking foward to reading more books by Donna Jo Napoli.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2002

    A relly good book

    This book makes your think about the factc that money does not infact bring happieness. Donata the main charecter is a realistic girl of that era. You cant help but feel simpathetic to her and other girls that were in her position.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1