Customer Reviews for

Daughter of the Forest (Sevenwaters Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 336 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(281)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 281 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Part fairy tale, fantasy, and best of all, part timeless love story

    This book and it's sequels were first recommended to me by a girl I went to school with. We were on a school sanctioned field trip to Belize at the time. I bought the book soon after we returned home, but as close minded as this sounds, because it came from the fantasy section, I had many reservations about whether or not I'd be into the book or not. Plus, the girl who recommended them was very nice, but at the same time a bit eccentric and over all into completely different things than me. So the book sat on my shelf for a good 7 years, until one day this past year I entered my old room at my parents house, wiped away all the dust and took it home. To make an already long story short, I read it and fell in love. Yes it was a bit different than the books I usually read with fair folk and a soceress, but it contained the one thing that's always sure to please me, a realistic and beautiful love story! If you like books that have a love story, but just as importantly have a well written, unique and interesting story line to go with it, this book and it's sequels are for you!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorite books

    I was a sophomore in high school the first time I read this book. That was 2002, and I have probably read this book once a year since then. At the time I read this book, it really impacted me, and i could not put it down. Still, even now, every time I re-read this book, I know that I will read the story with the fervor I read it with that very first time.

    The story is based off an old fairy tale, and I even remember a cartoon from several years ago that was a different interpretation of the same story, but for those who love re-imagined fairy-tales, celtic adventure, and have a penchant for the genres that re-visit the past, then this is the book for you.

    The content of the story is mature, and it is a little slow to start, but once the book picks up, it flies. As a military family, we moved a lot. The first time I read the book, it was a copy from my school library. The second time, I bought the book. The book was lost in a move. I bought it again. During our next move it was misplaced in a box that I still have not found. Long story short, I am sure that I have purchased this book at least 5 times for myself, and at least twice as a gift for a friend. After yet another move and search this summer, I gave in and purchased the eBook. Hopefully I cannot lose this version. I highly recommend the story, and hope that you love the book as much as I did.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    awesome

    this is such a great book. ms. marillier did such a great job with the characters i literally put the book down and stopped reading it for two months when i thought Sorcha was going to die in the end. i just finished reading it finally and let me tell you, you will not waste your money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    You'll "swan"t to read this book

    Pros:
    - A very rich and detailed fantasy world - The world and the characters in it were fleshed out beautifully. I fell in love with each of the narrator's seven brothers in turn and was invested in their story.
    - A relatively easy read - The fantasy elements were not extremely heavy, dealing mostly with Celtic lore, the Faey, druids and sorceresses to some extent. Most of the story however was very rateable and believable
    - A female narrator - I love to see a woman protagonist, one that is strong and good and saves the day. She existed outside the men in the story and while her main task was to "save" them, she maintained her own identity.
    -Length: I love a good long book, it makes me feel like I got my money's worth

    Cons:
    -Length: I felt as though the author dragged out several scenarios and scenes that did not need such a lengthy description and found myself skimming a page or two here and there
    -Ending: SEMI SPOILER ALERT - Since this book is the first of a trilogy the "big bad" is not apprehended at the end. I would rather have the story completed with an actual resolution, but that is a personal preference.

    Verdict: If you like fairy tales, female protagonists, Celtic lore and history mixed into your fantasy this book really is a no-brainer. You will NOT be disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Read it!

    This is the first book i read and enjoyed enough to continue the series. Marillier inspired me to read, literally! I fell in love with her mix of romance, strong female leads and of course the fairfolk and their queen. I count down the months til each of her new books is released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Superb

    I bought this book to bide my time awaiting other books from several other series. I couldn't believe how much i enjoyed this. The characters are very easy to cling to. I'm not easily impressed, especially by love stories. I'm more a Steven Erikson, Brandon Sanderson kind of girl (a bit of a snob) this is the only one in the series i read so far, but i BLASTED right through it. Beautiful story. Beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Megs

    Walks in and sits down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Best book

    One of the best books I have ever read! Right up there with the Harry Potter series and The Hobitt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Amazing!

    I bought this book out of curiousity. At that time I wasn't reading much but this book caught my eye. When I got home I was hooked fast. I read as much as I could, as long as I could, until I was finished. I have been through maybe 6 copies because that book is always loved until it falls apart. I have it on my nook as well, but I always keep a copy that I can feel and actual pages to smell. This book shows feminine power, love and loyalty to family, and true love. This series helped me get back into reading and my 4 bookcase library with well over 100 books that I love getting lost in are with me because of the Sevenwaters beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    GVMS

    They padd in, Sailorkit ridin gher mother and flopped down tired. Grassythorn smiled. "Is this the right place?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Lightpaw

    Gtgtb. Bbas.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Hawkpaw

    ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    One of the best

    I love this series and all the author has written. She sucks you in from the beginning with well formed characters you can follow in the series and with just a dash of magic to make it fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Favorite book of all time

    I've loved it since high school. Great romantic read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Oh

    oh sorry! I didnt see that review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Willowkit

    Read my post at camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Thymekit

    Takes the carnip and eats it all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Skywing to to skywing

    Pheonix

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Falconstar

    Sorry Summerpaw go to proph res 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This is the kind of book you read as a teen and then go back to as a comfort novel, when an adult. It has the perfect ingredients blended by well-written prose: Mythology (folklore) with the details to create a complex and multi-faceted story that keeps both the teen and adult reader transfixed.

    You have the evil stepmother, loving and devoted brothers, a curse which plagues the girl-heroine and the boy who grounds her.

    I love this book. It beats most of the YA fiction these days (drippy and one-dimensional). Truly well-written and captivating. It's for those who read "Alanna" and loved it. You'll like this :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 281 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15