Customer Reviews for

A Daughter's Inheritance (Broadmoor Legacy Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good book.

I'm not usually a fan of Historical Fiction, but this book drew me in from page one. The ending could of been better, but the author makes it so you have to read the next one in the series to find out what happens.

posted by tarheels on April 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

TERRIBLE....TERRIBLE...TERRIBLE!

Don't waste your time reading this book. It is the worst book I have ever read!! Thank God I didn't buy it and I would NOT buy the second book in the series nor any other book this author wrote. The book was slow starting but got interesting with several plots taking...
Don't waste your time reading this book. It is the worst book I have ever read!! Thank God I didn't buy it and I would NOT buy the second book in the series nor any other book this author wrote. The book was slow starting but got interesting with several plots taking place. Then the book ends!! Not one plot is resolved. The book leaves everything hanging....like a soap opera....I guess so you will want to get the next book?? Not me! I hate I wasted my time reading it. And I won't be sucked into buying the next book in the series just to find out what happens (I guess it would continue the story). In all my years reading books...this is the first book to just end...just like the author had a mind lapse and said "I'll just stop here" Go figure!

posted by tdlusk on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Misleading

    I was so disappointed in the ending. Jonas is a selfish, greedy and evil man. He was never found out for his dirty deeds. Did Michael strike it rich? Did Fanny marry him and live on the island? Tracie Peterson did not do it well this time.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    great story but the book just ended without an end!!! and you ca

    great story but the book just ended without an end!!! and you cannot get the other books in the series as an ebook..verry verry disapointing :(

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No ending in sight

    I enjoyed that it was a historical novel. It did have a slow start, but got really interesting in the last 100 pages. But then it ended. None of the story lines came to completion. It need another 100 pages to finish what was started. Does Michael return? Does the uncle successfully steal Fanny's money? Does Amanda start college? Does Sophie fall for Paul? Too many unanswered questions.......

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed the book, but hated the no ending. Youre left wandering what happened. 297 pages, the greedy author could have finished each girls story. Don't think i'll be buying rest of the series, cost to high for an incomplete book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    A good read

    Interesting read as you get to know a family. The family is frustrating! The book ends abruptly with no resolution on the story plots. But it leads you to book #2. Book #2 costs more than I want to spend right now so eventually I will find out what happens to the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2015

    Ok

    I was sad that this book left me hanging at the end but it was still good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2015

    not bad

    Ugh! Well written,has it all. Money, greed, romance and high society. This story leaves you hanging on so many levels. I realize free books are meant for you to want to continue reading the series but, this one felt like half of a story. I'm not sure it's worth paying $6.99 each for the next two in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Ok

    297 pages of great reading and it ends with no real ending?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    awkward ending to wonderful story...

    A good read, spoilt by an ending that was dissatisfying to this reader- First, I don't mind series books but I think it's a cheap shot to force the reader to buy the 2nd book in order to complete the main plot of the 1st book... (these authors would do well to study Robin Lee Hatcher's series). Second, these writers had a well developed story line yet the ending had the protagonist easily handing a letter over that he was hiding from our heroine... why?!!, possibly so that the authors could move on to book 2?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    A Daughters Inheritance

    Sometimes boring sometimes exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Liked and waiting on next book.

    I enjoyed this book. Yes it ended with no ending because there is more to come . Many writer do this for many reasons one cut cost for readers and two to get you to purchase next book. Loved the romance and suspence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Wonderful Read - Disappointing ending

    I loved this book, but the sudden ending is very frustrating!!!!! Made me giggle, made me cry and made me fill that I was there experiencing everything with Fanny.
    Now I have to search the library to find the other 2 books. Because I will not pay $6.99 per book for them. Frustrating to say the least!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Three cousins and the men they met a the balls.

    A cute little love story. Three cousins have the time of their life. They went to balls and met alot gentlemen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Enjoyable Read

    I know that sequels are based on selling the next book, but I was happily reading along & bamm, the book ended. Buy the next book. Like everything but the way it just stopped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Good story.

    I do not like the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Enjoyable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    The writing style was very good, but the story was slow.

    The writing style was very good, but the story was slow to develop. i would recommend it for a teenage reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Incomplete

    I enjoyed the book but felt like the ending was hurried and not satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Not that bad

    I live in the area this book is set. I know the history of the area, and how Kodak and Baush and Lomb built Rochester. I also know that it was hit hard after the Civil War, and financial titans lost everything.

    This is not the best historical fiction I have ever read. With the exception of Fanny and Michael most of the characters are poorly "drawn", with little depth. However, this is not a series I would seek out, because I just don't care about anyone enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Free

    Want it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5