Customer Reviews for

Dauntless (Lost Fleet Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

All Around Outstanding Story: Strong Science, Ideals, and Action

While military science fiction is not usually my favorite SCIFI genre, I have in recent years become fascinated with it. I think it is because authors like Jack Campbell write such authentic, captivating stories. Mr. Campbell captures the current tone of a nation's m...
While military science fiction is not usually my favorite SCIFI genre, I have in recent years become fascinated with it. I think it is because authors like Jack Campbell write such authentic, captivating stories. Mr. Campbell captures the current tone of a nation's military concerns, especially 'tradition'. Tradition isn't something that just pops up in the last generation, it is the bedrock of a civilization's moral standards, no matter how other people and countries act. The loss of history and the breakdown in tradition and the military rules of war make the strange actions of the Admiral and other characters plausible, even inevitable. One critical measure of a great book, especially a great SCIENCE fiction novel, is how easily the story flows. The Lost Fleet: Dauntless fits the bill nicely, as the reader enjoys the story without having to pause in the reading process. The author is very knowledgeable about the SCIENCE needed for the story. Jack Campbell's describes ship movements and tactical training in a most realistic manner. These scenarios draw the reader into the story to 'see' what was happening as the ships move through space and time. For instance, Jack Campbell's descriptions of the direction of the ships' movements as a blue or red shift was very impressive. The author explained the concept in a way that didn't intrude on the flow of the fast paced action narrative. It was part of the story. Also, the details of equipment, situations and people really pulls the reader into the story. Jack Campbell is a most thoughtful author who has written a compelling story that makes the reader a participant who looks forward to the next part of the journey home.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

When you're in desperate need of a good military sci-fi series....

When you've wrapped up all the Harringtons that Weber has graced us with thus far.... When you've done marching upcountry... When Drake and Moon have captivated you with their high-powered tales of space adventure filled with really fascinating characters and you just...
When you've wrapped up all the Harringtons that Weber has graced us with thus far.... When you've done marching upcountry... When Drake and Moon have captivated you with their high-powered tales of space adventure filled with really fascinating characters and you just plain Need something new and exciting.... Don't get this piece of trash! The thing that got me was the Elizabeth Moon quote on the cover. I Love Moon. Hope she got a real good buck for saying anything good about this garbage. The whole semi-religious pseudo-indian ancestor cult thing is very annoying. And, oh yeah, an Admiral is just going to stop in the middle of an attack and just take his staff over to the enemy to negotiate an end to hostilities when they've been at war for over a hundred years!!!! Idiocy. And just for kicks he's going to leave command of his entire fleet to someone who has been in hibernation for a hundred years. Uh-huh. Yeah, I'm buying that one. If you can persuade yourself to suspend reality enough to get past these and other bits of utter nonsense, then by all means, you should read this schlock. If, on the other hand you want something good try re-reading Enders Game for the third or fourth time. At least it's worthy. Something that this will never be.

posted by Anonymous on May 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 258 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    DAUNTLESS ROOMS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Striking 囑

    [ waits patiently == ]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    A good short story

    This is a good short story. I have read all six books in the series and think that if he had combined 2 or 3 books into one it would have been great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    I have read a number of military sci fi series, but none comes c

    I have read a number of military sci fi series, but none comes close to the story detail and involving personal side to this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    I'm pretty hard to please, but this one struck me right where I

    I'm pretty hard to please, but this one struck me right where I wanted. A great story and plenty of conflict not only with his enemy but on board ship. Real life issues that made it almost believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great Series!

    Big SciFi reader here. I read the whole series . . . twice. Fast paced, plenty of action, some intrigue and good character development for the most part. I thought maybe Tanya's and Rione's background could have been developed more. I also like how Black Jack Geary has to deal with many personality types, snakes included, just as in the corporate world. Would have been 5 stars because most of the books are about half the length of typical sci fi books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    This is where it begins. . . great space si fi!!

    This is a great series. I got so wrapped up in the story I had to read every book of this series and feel my time wrapped up in the story of "Black Jack" was so worth it. Having Navy ties, only Jack Campbell could write such believable battle scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    I am in love with this series

    I wanted to get into a new sci-fi series and I couldn't have stumbled upon a better series. This series takes a more realistic look at space combat, taking into account distance and the amount of time it takes light, and there for the information of where ships are and what they're doing, to travel so that captains can react. But as awesome as it is to see a great space combat based on realistic interpretation it's the characters that definitely keep you hooked. I empathize with the main character so much and I am fascinated by the others. Overall I love the characters, I love the combat, I love the plot, I just love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Best Military/Space Exploration Science-Fiction Series that I have read!

    This is the first in a series of books that are certainly worth a read. The only negative aspect is that it will probably make other books dull by comparison. I can't say enough good things about th book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Cant... stop... reading!

    I cant stop rereading this series, its too good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Excellent!

    Looking forward to reading the next in the series, I finished this one before I'd realized how close to the end I was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    Excellent science fiction/military book. I went on to purchase t

    Excellent science fiction/military book. I went on to purchase the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Excellent

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Rip off

    240 pages? Really? This isn't a book, its a short story. Save your.money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great concept.

    Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Decent start to a series

    Enjoyed this tale from a storytelling standpoint. The relativistic space and time portions were a bit much when presented over and over again. Overall I was pleased with this book and will likely continue reading the remaining books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    How does a war last for one hundred years when one faction has obviously come down with a case of the terminally stupids?

    How does a war last for one hundred years when one faction has obviously come down with a case of the terminally stupids? No, really, how does that happen? This book attempts to offer an explanation of how we arrive at this situation, but I can't buy it. The level of idiocy displayed by some of the characters in this story is so great, that I can't help but believe that the enemy faction should have wiped out the guys we are supposed to be cheering for long before the start of the book.

    The main character of the story has been rescued from spending a century frozen in a life pod, and ends up being placed in command of a a fleet of ships. Towards the end of the story, in a moment of being high on stress and low on sleep, he tells someone that he wishes he had remained "dead". And I think I too, had I been stuck with the people he's leading, would have wished the same thing. And not even if I was stressed and tired. I ate well yesterday, and got a good long rest last night, and I don't want to deal with these morons ever again.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    If You Like Battlestar Galactica, You Will Love This

    I am about halfway through this, book 1 of the Lost Fleet Series, and I have to say I'm really enjoying it so far. I'm a huge Battlestar Galactica fan and I feel this was highly influenced by the series. In fact I have a hard time NOT picturing Bill Adama (played by Edward James Olmos) as Capt. Geary in this book. I'm fairly certain that is who the author had in mind when he wrote the character of John Geary.

    My only complain is I wish they'd left out all the time-delayed stuff. I know it's probably a realistic depiction of space travel, but it seems every other paragraph during key scenes revolves around describing how what they're seeing on the sensors happened 10 minutes ago, or an hour ago, because they are 10 light minutes away, or 60 light minutes away. The author spends way to much time talking about the light distance and time delay stuff. But I can overlook it.

    I definitely plan on reading the other books in the series once I finish this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Outstanding

    I liked this book so much I have already purchased and read the rest of the series. It does get expensive to have to purchase six books to finish what is essentially one book. Maybe have a deal on the entire series. It was well written and a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 258 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13