Customer Reviews for

Dauntless (Lost Fleet Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

All Around Outstanding Story: Strong Science, Ideals, and Action

While military science fiction is not usually my favorite SCIFI genre, I have in recent years become fascinated with it. I think it is because authors like Jack Campbell write such authentic, captivating stories. Mr. Campbell captures the current tone of a nation's m...
While military science fiction is not usually my favorite SCIFI genre, I have in recent years become fascinated with it. I think it is because authors like Jack Campbell write such authentic, captivating stories. Mr. Campbell captures the current tone of a nation's military concerns, especially 'tradition'. Tradition isn't something that just pops up in the last generation, it is the bedrock of a civilization's moral standards, no matter how other people and countries act. The loss of history and the breakdown in tradition and the military rules of war make the strange actions of the Admiral and other characters plausible, even inevitable. One critical measure of a great book, especially a great SCIENCE fiction novel, is how easily the story flows. The Lost Fleet: Dauntless fits the bill nicely, as the reader enjoys the story without having to pause in the reading process. The author is very knowledgeable about the SCIENCE needed for the story. Jack Campbell's describes ship movements and tactical training in a most realistic manner. These scenarios draw the reader into the story to 'see' what was happening as the ships move through space and time. For instance, Jack Campbell's descriptions of the direction of the ships' movements as a blue or red shift was very impressive. The author explained the concept in a way that didn't intrude on the flow of the fast paced action narrative. It was part of the story. Also, the details of equipment, situations and people really pulls the reader into the story. Jack Campbell is a most thoughtful author who has written a compelling story that makes the reader a participant who looks forward to the next part of the journey home.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

When you're in desperate need of a good military sci-fi series....

When you've wrapped up all the Harringtons that Weber has graced us with thus far.... When you've done marching upcountry... When Drake and Moon have captivated you with their high-powered tales of space adventure filled with really fascinating characters and you just...
When you've wrapped up all the Harringtons that Weber has graced us with thus far.... When you've done marching upcountry... When Drake and Moon have captivated you with their high-powered tales of space adventure filled with really fascinating characters and you just plain Need something new and exciting.... Don't get this piece of trash! The thing that got me was the Elizabeth Moon quote on the cover. I Love Moon. Hope she got a real good buck for saying anything good about this garbage. The whole semi-religious pseudo-indian ancestor cult thing is very annoying. And, oh yeah, an Admiral is just going to stop in the middle of an attack and just take his staff over to the enemy to negotiate an end to hostilities when they've been at war for over a hundred years!!!! Idiocy. And just for kicks he's going to leave command of his entire fleet to someone who has been in hibernation for a hundred years. Uh-huh. Yeah, I'm buying that one. If you can persuade yourself to suspend reality enough to get past these and other bits of utter nonsense, then by all means, you should read this schlock. If, on the other hand you want something good try re-reading Enders Game for the third or fourth time. At least it's worthy. Something that this will never be.

posted by Anonymous on May 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    All Around Outstanding Story: Strong Science, Ideals, and Action

    While military science fiction is not usually my favorite SCIFI genre, I have in recent years become fascinated with it. I think it is because authors like Jack Campbell write such authentic, captivating stories. Mr. Campbell captures the current tone of a nation's military concerns, especially 'tradition'. Tradition isn't something that just pops up in the last generation, it is the bedrock of a civilization's moral standards, no matter how other people and countries act. The loss of history and the breakdown in tradition and the military rules of war make the strange actions of the Admiral and other characters plausible, even inevitable. One critical measure of a great book, especially a great SCIENCE fiction novel, is how easily the story flows. The Lost Fleet: Dauntless fits the bill nicely, as the reader enjoys the story without having to pause in the reading process. The author is very knowledgeable about the SCIENCE needed for the story. Jack Campbell's describes ship movements and tactical training in a most realistic manner. These scenarios draw the reader into the story to 'see' what was happening as the ships move through space and time. For instance, Jack Campbell's descriptions of the direction of the ships' movements as a blue or red shift was very impressive. The author explained the concept in a way that didn't intrude on the flow of the fast paced action narrative. It was part of the story. Also, the details of equipment, situations and people really pulls the reader into the story. Jack Campbell is a most thoughtful author who has written a compelling story that makes the reader a participant who looks forward to the next part of the journey home.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    When you're in desperate need of a good military sci-fi series....

    When you've wrapped up all the Harringtons that Weber has graced us with thus far.... When you've done marching upcountry... When Drake and Moon have captivated you with their high-powered tales of space adventure filled with really fascinating characters and you just plain Need something new and exciting.... Don't get this piece of trash! The thing that got me was the Elizabeth Moon quote on the cover. I Love Moon. Hope she got a real good buck for saying anything good about this garbage. The whole semi-religious pseudo-indian ancestor cult thing is very annoying. And, oh yeah, an Admiral is just going to stop in the middle of an attack and just take his staff over to the enemy to negotiate an end to hostilities when they've been at war for over a hundred years!!!! Idiocy. And just for kicks he's going to leave command of his entire fleet to someone who has been in hibernation for a hundred years. Uh-huh. Yeah, I'm buying that one. If you can persuade yourself to suspend reality enough to get past these and other bits of utter nonsense, then by all means, you should read this schlock. If, on the other hand you want something good try re-reading Enders Game for the third or fourth time. At least it's worthy. Something that this will never be.

    6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    The naval aspects of this book are excellent. Crew interaction,

    The naval aspects of this book are excellent. Crew interaction, lingo, rhetoric, etc. Decent storyline. Not riveting though. I actually put it down and forgot about it for a while. With space there are those going for as much "real" as possible. For example, Battlestar Galactica's space battles vs. Star Wars' dog fights. Space is a friction-less place, Mr. Lucas. That being said, we weren't worried when Wedge had to bank his x-wing: in space. Or even when Starbuck pulls a 180 at high speeds. We just accept it and move on with the action and the story. Dauntless incorporates so much of light and the time that it takes to travel, it becomes distracting from the story. As I'm reading about an intense syndic cruiser approaching "Titan", suddenly we're discussing relativistic effect and distortion. This goes on throughout the book. It takes away from the story. Although we're going for realism, as science fiction readers we're okay if we overlook some science for the sake of a good story or battle scene. Also, Capt. John Geary isn't the character that tends to draw people in. Weak is the word I would use. He has no particular strengths and no particular weaknesses. When compared to some of the greats: Ender Wiggin, or Grand Admiral Thrawn he just comes off as ...bland. I won't be reading the rest of the series.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    I liked it...

    I don't read much sci/fi, but I really liked this book. So much so that I signed on just now to see if the author had any other books. This book kept my attention and spark my imagination. What else can you ask from a book?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Decent series overall. It doesn't say but I believe this is mor

    Decent series overall. It doesn't say but I believe this is more of a Young Adult type of series. The physics and space battles feel a bit simplified from what you might see in a really good book. Characters almost always take the obvious path, no real sense of passing time even though its mentioned many times...due mostly I think to long periods of time being entirely glossed over, where an action takes place that would take many hours to see the resolution of but then its done in the very next sentence, etc. Still, all in all a decent read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Average Space Opera

    The protagonist (Black Jack) remains undeveloped throughout this first book. Generally all the main characters are (cartoon) place holders and the storyline takes priority over texture and setting. The "enemy" is annoyingly superficial. The author assumes that the reader is a space opera junky and leaves far too much to the reader's imagination. The pace of the action (space battles) is superior and rational (for SciFi). Downtime between battles that should have been sufficient for supporting character development and interpersonal relationships are wasted on plot speculation (Aliens!). The book was only 229 pages long and blatantly planned as a series.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting military science fiction

    The Alliance believes that they can finally win the centuries¿ old war with the Syndicate Worlds thanks to a traitor who gives them the Syndic hypernet key. They use it to travel to the homeworlds of the Syndicate hoping to take the enemy by surprise with a sneak attack and destroy their war capabilities. On the journey they find the space pod of Captain John ¿Black Jack¿ Geary who has slept inside for over a hundred years since he won a major victory that saved the Alliance and made him a legend.------------- When the Alliance vessels reach Syndic space, they face the might of their adversary¿s fleet. The Alliance fleet commander visits his counterpart¿s ship to discuss terms of disengagement, but first turns over command to Geary. If the Alliance is to survive, Geary knows they must escape back to their sector and turn the key over to the leadership. The only escape is through a series of dangerous slow space jumps. They make it to a place where they regroup led by Geary who teaches them honor before he leads them into mortal combat.--------------- Fans of Battlestar Galactica will enjoy Jack Campbell¿s military science fiction novel. The battle scenes are intense and intrinsically described enabling the audience to visualize the fast-paced action. However, the hero makes THE LOST FLEET a cut above most sub-genre works as he is mortified that he became a legend when others were as courageous but not recognized. He prays he can live up to his reputation as this is the Alliance¿s darkest yet bravest hour.----------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Good

    When I find a book I like I typically can not wait to go back to the book and read read read. Though I would recommend this book I was not jumping to pick it up - I didn't struggle through it. I am torn if I am going to pick up #2.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is on par with Card's Enders Game in the way it captures imagination and attention. I finished this book in a day, as I did the second in the series (Dauntless), and am eagerly awaiting the 3rd book. The 'harder science' concepts of space travel and combat are very appealing and more enjoyable than Weber's Harrington series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Good book but not great

    I love the premise and the characters are appropriate to the plot but a few lack real depth. For instance the character Co-President Rione appears to be Geary's main antagonist but the confrontations and arguments she puts to him are weak and by the third meeting I found myself rolling my eyes and skimming forward and wondering why Geary felt he had to explain himself to her at all. She kept threatening to pull her republic ships. I wanted him to say ok good luck defending yourself without the fleet. Another issue that weakened the book for me was the hurried leap to a "third party" intervention. So for me the drama was very weak. The action started late, there were long lines of inner thought to plow through and I kept waiting for some revelation about the last battle he was in that could make his mythic status dim, either in his own eyes or even some in the fleet. I hope the other books build more depth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    I loved this book

    No technobabble, realistic characters, and plenty of fighting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Start of a great series

    I received the first in this 6 part series for Christmas. It was on my wish list but I don't remember how or why it got there. It was recommended from some podcast or some "People who liked this, like that" List. I wish I could remember how it got on my list because I owe them a thanks.

    The story starts off great from the first page. You're not hit with 20 pages of "Get to know Me!" character development. That comes later and mixed in with storyline so it doesn't get tedious.

    The story is original and very interesting but the main character John Geary reminded me of Ender of Card's Ender series. I kind of wish this John Geary storyline (waking up 100 years later to the ongoing war) was how the Ender series playout.


    I'm not a fast reader but somehow I finished through Book 5 in mid January. Only to realize I have to wait until April for the 6th! That hurt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the great space battle stories.

    It is hard to put this book down. You can't wait for the next one waiting to see when this fleet of ships will make it back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    Original and well thought out

    John Hemry (or Jack Campbell) lived up to his meticulous style of futuristic space warfare. The 'technical aspects' are very inventive, always finding new ways in his novel to do something other than mainstream sci-fi. This is an excellent read, I read it in about a day and will buy the second one next week.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    Worth the sleepless night.

    I just happened to pick this book up from a book vendor in the street and not expecting what I was getting into. I was totaly taken by suprise and didnt expect this book to be this good. I read alot of Sci-Fi and I cant wait to get the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Kelsey

    (Hi.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Triss

    This is getting boring im going to leave this. Oh yes and dont axpect to see me soon p! This is stup id!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Jack

    Cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Df triss rp Tobias/Will

    Your tris is on vaca or somthing... she spells triss with one s. Look below this other Tris to see. Its summer. Maybe she went to a summer camp... ok?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Jude [The Creator] to All!

    Feel free to come out to 'The Hub' as kind of a... inter-factional chatroom/RPing place!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14