Customer Reviews for

Dave Barry's History of the Millennium (So Far)

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nothing is Sacred and That's a Good Thing

A small book packed with lots of witisims and nothing and no one is spared, and that includes Iraq. Mr. Barry is an equal opportunity bipartisan satirist whose observations really sum up some of life's absurdities. Lots of fun and a quick read, but don't read ...
A small book packed with lots of witisims and nothing and no one is spared, and that includes Iraq. Mr. Barry is an equal opportunity bipartisan satirist whose observations really sum up some of life's absurdities. Lots of fun and a quick read, but don't read too quickly because despite it's small content, there is a lot to digest.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dave Barry's History of the Millennium

Amusing. Humorous. A bit too glib and often inaccurate.

posted by Babinski on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Dave Barry's History of the Millennium

    Amusing. Humorous. A bit too glib and often inaccurate.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Aesops Fables from a Historical Viewpoint (Not)

    If you are easily offended when someone takes the liberty of making your poitical heros look silly, avoid this book. Dave Barry skewers politicians, scientists, and everyone else he can get his hands on, equally. However, he is gentle, finds a way to avoid his silliness becoming barbs or "cheap shots" and ultimately, creates a really offbeat, funny read about some of history's events and personalities. This is not for Rush Limbaugh fans - Dave Barry respects the readers enough to let us draw our own conclusions. Get it, read it, share it, and give it to everyone you know. Politics is too much fun not to do this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    Nothing is Sacred and That's a Good Thing

    A small book packed with lots of witisims and nothing and no one is spared, and that includes Iraq. Mr. Barry is an equal opportunity bipartisan satirist whose observations really sum up some of life's absurdities. Lots of fun and a quick read, but don't read too quickly because despite it's small content, there is a lot to digest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY FUNNY

    Dave Barry does it again.
    Lots of fun.
    I was laughing my head off while reviewing the millennum so far (and the first one too!).
    Great entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    DAVE BARRY SCORES HIGH AGAIN!

    Dave Barry is always funny and satirical. He nails the humor and has a way of noting the quirkiest traits in people he describes in his books. I find myself laughing out loud at times, and always smiling and the read is anything but boring. I hope he keeps the books coming. We need his humor badly nowadays!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love humor books, therefore I love Dave Barry

    Everything by Dave Barry is good, everything! If he writes a shopping list I bet it's hilarious. I also really enjoy Bill Bryson. My latest funny read was a travel adventure by David Jerome called "Roastbeef's Promise." There's my recommendations for a whole lotta laughs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    I love the cover!

    I think Dave is a very talented humorist and have enjoyed his work for years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    The way the news might as well be written

    I really loved this book, the history of the millenium was hilarious and the way that the florida election officials keep popping up is absolutely hysterical!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    Vintage Barry

    Barry walked away from his newspaper column over a year ago, and I miss him. However, this book marks a return to form. Barry's funny here, and he hasn't always been funny in his recent books. But the book made me laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amusing look at the new millennium and the previous millennium

    This is an amusing look at the new millennium and the previous millennium. In terms of the new one, Dave Barry¿s annual surveys of key events (from 2000-2006) like the attorney invasion of Florida just after the final vote in the 2000 election was cast to the truth behind 2004 Abu Ghraib to 2005 when the fury of females like Katrina, Martha, and Paris owned the world. These segues are overall amusing with some in your face slapstick and others droll and witty however, in fairness some of the entries especially the older ones have lost their jocularity. The previous millennium segment is the highlighting of history from 1000-1999 with entries like the first Gutenberg book was a Danielle Steel heater and the true cost of buying Manhattan Island when credit is unacceptable, maintenance fees are soaring, and $24 is zillions in today¿s present value of money. This is a lighthearted irrelevant look back at the last 1006 years although some liberals might insist the White House will believe Mr. Barry is a great historian stating just the facts (with a few mistakes that cannot be revealed as they are classified) and a lot of illustrations to prove an inconvenient truth like the Da Vinci masterpiece is pizza. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Hilarious!

    I love everything that Dave Barry writes. It is a certain sense of humor you need to enjoy, but once you get into it you will never put his books down. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1