Customer Reviews for

Dave Pelz's Putting Bible: The Complete Guide to Mastering the Green

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Must have for any serious golfer

    Must have book for any serious golfers collection. A book you will want to highlight section, and go back and read year after year, like a textbook for success in putting. The depth of analysis is boarding on ridiculous, but in the end you will be thankful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Putting Help

    Has definitely made an impact on my putting game. It provides detailed information for the technical person, but also the practical information for the technophobe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    Pure Putting Pleasure!

    This book deserves many more than five stars! This is simply the best book to improve your putting that has ever been written. Let me give you an example. I recently played in Southern California after a rain-soaked night. The greens were dripping. My opponent said 'I wonder how hard to hit it through this water.' And I quoted from this book. He made his putt, and so did I. In fact, the highlight of the round was a tricky 23 foot birdie putt. Thank you, Dave Pelz! I have taken Dave Pelz's short game course, so I didn't know how much this book would help me. So I came to this book thinking, this will be a good refresher. That was right, but the insights I got from this book exceeded all that I learned in that course about putting. The book explains the engineering approach that Pelz has brought to putting. He measures everything he can think of. The beginning explains key concepts of green problems -- like the raised donut around the hole where no one steps (the rest of the green is downtrodden by thousands of footsteps daily). The next section explains the 15 building blocks of putting -- like aim, path, touch, rhythm, ritual, feel, face angle, stability, attitude, and routine. Then Pelz puts special attention on speed and reading the green. Chapter 7 on green reading was worth the price of the book alone. He answered questions I have asked dozens of pros, and received no good answers to. Then, he describes how to use these basics to improve your putting. I have been using a number of these for the last several years, and can certainly attest that they work. Each point is beautifully explained. He has photographs of great players, graphs of experiments he has conducted, graphs of research he has done with average and great players, and diagrams of what to do and not to do. The language is simple and unambiguous. For the average golfer, this book can take 4-6 strokes off your game. It will mean winning a lot of weekend bets. One of the book's great strengths is that it starts with the thinking that most people have about putting that gets them in trouble. He helps you identify your stalled thinking that holds back your putting, and then shows you how to break out of the stall and develop an improved habit. If you have a father, grandfather, uncle, brother, or son who is a father and plays golf, this is the perfect gift for Father's Day. I took the liberty of giving a copy to myself as my Father's Day gift this year. Maybe it will help me win the Father's Day golf tournament! Keep in mind that in the average round you'll make more putts than you will tee shots, fairway shots, or finesse shots around the green. Get better at putting, and your score can really improve! A two foot putt and a 300 yard drive count for the same on the score -- one stroke. Enjoy your putting game the most! Donald Mitchell, a co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2001

    Absolutely the BEST!!!

    Dave Pelz has nailed another great book. As a new golfer, I have been checking out many books and methods. Pelz's instruction has been the best I have received. Using his drills and methods I have been able to go from 3 putting nearly every green to making 3 putts a rarity. This book is a must for any golfer! I know, from personal experience that high handicappers will benefit greatly. And watching some of my friends who are long time golfers, I know they could benefit from Pelz's teaching as well. Get it, read it, and put it into practice. You will see better scores!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    read...and you'll WILL improve!

    The Highest possible recomendation i can give on Dave's book is this- If all you do is read this book, EVEN if you DON'T do the practice drills he recommends to improve your putting....you'll improve your putting 100 percent! When's the last time you could say that about ANY Golf Instruction book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1