Customer Reviews for

David Copperfield (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Don't Be Daunted By the Word 'Classic'

So often people express reluctance to take on the great literature of the past because of the feeling that it's a little too much like taking medicine. 'I know that reading this 'classic' is good for me because it's a classic, or so I'm told.' This seems to dissuade man...
So often people express reluctance to take on the great literature of the past because of the feeling that it's a little too much like taking medicine. 'I know that reading this 'classic' is good for me because it's a classic, or so I'm told.' This seems to dissuade many readers from approaching works such as David Copperfield. This summer I have read four Dicken's classics, Bleak House, A Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations and Copperfield. Copperfield will reward any modern reader with its kaleidoscope of Victorian England, rich with humor and memorable characters. Allow yourself to become lost in the memories of this most famous of fictional autobiographers. The language of Dickens is always a pleasure as he wraps his florobundant prose around a cast of character's and scenes that are never boring and often are filled with humor and pathos, and sometimes both at the same time. It's hard to imagine the inward looking authors of the 20th Century Existing without the foundation of the inward novel from characters such as David Copperfield, Pip of Great Expectations and Esther of Bleak House. David's memories are filtered through his own perception and foreknowledge of what occurs in his life after. Dickens use of the first person narrative in telling David's story anchors you to David's reactions to the events of his life and connects you as a reader to similar events or relationships in your own life. Finally, people are always calling Dickens characters caricatures, but as you read about the Micawbers or Uriah Heep, or Dora and think they seem like immutable beings think about the characters in your own life and see how mutable they are, and Dickens caricatures, even 165 years later seem accurate and rooted in reality. Lastly, don't be fightened by the weight of this tome. Once Dickens envelops you in his world and his language, be it in this work or any of his others, you will glide through his works and reach for the next.

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Difficult to read

This edition, by B&N Classics, is extremely difficult to read. The print is small and the lines are very close to each other. I had to rate it only 3 stars for that reason (I would have given 5 otherwise). I bought this book because I have had other books from B&N Class...
This edition, by B&N Classics, is extremely difficult to read. The print is small and the lines are very close to each other. I had to rate it only 3 stars for that reason (I would have given 5 otherwise). I bought this book because I have had other books from B&N Classics which were extremely readable. Other publishers usually have the same or similar print in all of their books, so I assumed that that would be the case with this edition of David Copperfield. I will have to buy another version to get through the remainder of the book. I will probably go with the Modern Library Classics version because their print is always readable.

posted by 2505725 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I was required to read a fourth of this book in high school. Fr

    I was required to read a fourth of this book in high school. From what I read, it kept me intrigued. The main character falls into great responsibilities. The undoing of other characters in this book is a major part of it. Certain passages remain in my mind to this day as encapsulating what it is like to struggle in growing up.

    I would recommend this product along with Sirens of Morning Light by Benjamin Anderson, a quest for a man in Iowa to regain his identity, which becomes entangled with people who claim to have known him when he discovers he is a scientific experiment. Make sure not to miss either book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    David Copperfield was written by Charles Dickens. David Copperfi

    David Copperfield was written by Charles Dickens. David Copperfield is the story of a young, poor boy, growing up in London during the 1800’s. As he grows up, he meets many people such as Uriah Heep who is a forger and Mr. Wickfield who is a lawyer with a pretty daughter that David marries. After years of heartache, disappointment, and sorrow, he finds happiness in life by writing. It is another great example of how Dickens weaves some of his life into he wrote. I liked the book and would recommend it to those who love classic literature. David Copperfield is a novel you can’t pass up.
    K. S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Upon hearing the word "classic", many people make the

    Upon hearing the word "classic", many people make the error of labeling a book as in comprehensible or too long to enjoy. Charles Dickens does use an older form of English and the novel is somewhat lengthy. However, these are small obstacles which can easily be overcome. In fact, the language in this book is not very complicated. You may stumble on a few words, but the book often defines them at the bottom of the page. The author created such a captivating plot that you will be through with the book before you know it. There might be a few parts which may not be as interesting, but have patience and persevere to the end. You will not regret it. Many life lessons can be learned through the main character’s mistakes and decisions. Moreover, you will discover a great variety of traits in different characters. This will help you learn how to analyze people’s character based on their words and actions. Overall I consider this to be an excellent novel and recommend it to anyone who is willing to appreciate classic works of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Ryan

    Burps and laughs at himswlf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Skye

    Pata him softly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Third time is the charm

    This is my third time trying to read this book. The first couple times I just couldn't finish it. It is a wonderful story. No one can make characters like Charles Dickens. David Copperfield has a wide range of characters that essentially make David who he is. It is definitely worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    David

    Hey blaze go to tree result 3 and marrissa go to tree result 2 :) srry this is confusing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Kkkopogh hbb kllkh

    Jugkihhgkgbxcodjslfckommx

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Great read

    Usually classics can be a bit stuffy and the characters are a bit hard to identify with, but David Copperfield is infused with humor and real-life experiences that we can all identify with at some level. I strongly recommend it, especially for those who want to begin reading classic literature but are not sure where to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When young David Copperfield's mother dies, his awful stepfather

    When young David Copperfield's mother dies, his awful stepfather sends him to a workhouse. David runs away to live with an estranged (and very strange) aunt. Much naughty and nice activity continues for a long time. :) I really liked David Copperfield. It was an engaging story, and (as always for Dickens) the characters were all so fascinating and well-developed. I'd say this is one of my favorite Dickens books so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Best book ever!

    This is one of my most favorite books ever. And it happens to be one of those books that are worth reading again and again. In this book charles dickens gives the fictional account of david copperfields life. Dickens shows his rare ability to make you feel for the character. Like when copperfields sad, you are sad. When he is happy so are you. Do not make the mistake of passing up this book. Please read it. It is worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Fabulous

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    IT...IS...FABULOUS!

    Very INTERESTING I VOUCKD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    My favorite book

    Of all the novels I've read, this is the most heartwarming piece. The interweaving of the characters makes the reader hopeful to learn more as the characters pop in and out of the story throughout David Copperfield's life. I can tell you that I will definitely read this book again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    David Copperfeild

    Emily Parker
    David Copperfield


    Summary
    In the book David Copperfield by Charles Dickens a young boy, David, lives in a small house in the late 1600's. When David was born his aunt came to claim it was a girl and it shall be named Betsey. At last David was born to be a boy and his aunt raged in fury out the door and was never seen again. Ten years later David continued to live with his mother and their dear maid named Peggotty. David's mother gets remarried to a horrible man where his hideous sister moves in with them. His new dad, Mr.Mudstone, beats David and abuses David for anything David does. David is later sent to an extremely strict overnight school. David is abused there by teachers and students. David's mother had sadly passed away a week after the new baby was born, while David was at school. After his mother dies he refuses to go back home with his new dad and aunt. David runs away to Aunt Betsey's house who hasn't ever seen him since he was born. David grows up years later and marries a beautiful woman named Dora, but after a year of their marriage Dora becomes very ill and dies.






    POSITIVES AND NEGATIVES

    There are a lot of positives in the book David Copperfield. Some of the positives are when he ran away and lived with aunt Betsey in a peaceful house with a marvelous garden of all different colors. Also David won't ever have to worry about his step dad again after Aunt Betsey had adopted him. Another positive in this novel is David gets married to a lovely woman and then remarried to an other wonderful woman. Another positive in the novel was David had three children to take care of. Although there are a lot of positives there are also a lot of negatives. One of the negatives is that his mother dies. Also he is abused by his new father. When he first gets married, after a year, Dora his wife dies followed by her dog leaving him alone.
    WRITING STYLE
    The writing style that the author, Charles Dickens used the narrative style. It is narrative because the main character, David told the story. The tone of his writing is somewhat sad. This is because a lot of the story is sad. The words he uses are old-fashioned and were a little difficult to understand. This is because the book was written a long time ago. He uses figurative language so I could really see in my mind what was happening. This was really true at the times in the book where David was mistreated.




    RECOMMENDATION
    I recommend this book, David Copperfield, for many reasons. One of the reasons is because it shows some history. Another reason is that it is an emotional book. I also recommend it because it has a very nice ending.
    Some other similar novels to this novel would be Oliver Twist also by Charles Dickens, Little Dorrit also by Charles Dickens and The Secret Garden by Frances Burnett.
    There are some other novels that I would recommend. One of these novels is Twilight. Another book I would recommend is The Princess Diaries. The other novel I recommend is My Friend Flicka. These are all really great books that I really enjoyed reading.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    the book you can get involved into

    This is one book book lovers cannot forget to read. It puts forth situations in such a way that the reader just forgets himself and gets involved into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Simply captivating!

    This was an engrossing book! I truly didn't want to put it down. Just when you think you know what's about to happen, you find out your wrong! It's comedy, and tragedy mixed with the most moving narrative you could ever hope for. A MUST if your looking for an awesome novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    The Best Dickens Ever

    'David Copperfield' is one of the best books I've ever read, and definitely the best ever by an Englishman. I literally couldnt put it down. A great read for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    Dickens' favorite, and mine

    This is the richest and most enjoyable of Dickens' novels (Dickens himself proclaimed it his favorite of his writings) and one of the greatest novels in English literature. While difficult at times for those who are not comfortable with its length, its characters are lovable and its themes eternal. The villain, Uriah Heep, inspires deliciously visceral hatred--you just love to despise him. All in all, David Copperfield should be in every booklover's collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2001

    Wonderful

    Just an overall great book, Dickens is a genius. What more can I say? A lot more, but I just can't think of it, Dickens is that great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6