Customer Reviews for

David Garrett

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great driving music

There are very few kinds of music I don't like, so it's strange that I don't listen to a lot of it anymore. Usually I have an audio book going. But my sister gave me this album as a gift after listening to her copy and I was hooked; listened to nothing else while on t...
There are very few kinds of music I don't like, so it's strange that I don't listen to a lot of it anymore. Usually I have an audio book going. But my sister gave me this album as a gift after listening to her copy and I was hooked; listened to nothing else while on the road for over 2 weeks. Violins are not my favorite instrument but the fast furious pieces like The Four Seasons, Rock Prelude, and Smooth Criminal kept me cruising along while the plaintive cry of the strings in Nothing Else Matters and Who Wants to Live Forever were heartbreaking. It's a well-balanced album and I look forward to seeing him in concert.

posted by SnowyJo on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unlistenable Tripe

I'll preface this review by informing the reader that I love classical music and I'm pretty much not particular to any genre: I like anything from the baroque period to 20th century minimalism. I also love rock music. The form of classical music I hate? This neo-nu-cl...
I'll preface this review by informing the reader that I love classical music and I'm pretty much not particular to any genre: I like anything from the baroque period to 20th century minimalism. I also love rock music. The form of classical music I hate? This neo-nu-classical nonsense that attempts to meld virtuosic classical performances with half-hearted synth-rock. It's not classical, it's not rock; it's merely cheesy and redundant swill that is designed to be swallowed by the masses: pre-packaged for your convenience and labelled as classical music, when in fact it is a demonization of both forms of music it attempts to combine.

I can't think of anything more ridiculous than trying to "spice up" subpar AC/DC and Metallica songs (two bands who are highly over-rated to begin with) and then having the audacity to cover a cover of a Michael Jackson song (that being the ill-fated version of the utterly crummy "Smooth Criminal" as covered by the ridiculously untalented Alien Ant Farm). I can't think of a single reason why any classical music fan (or any rock music fan for that matter) would want to listen to these covers (or any of Garrett's other forays into garbage) played over a souped-up electronica backbeat and digital processor. The mere notion of doing so is, for lack of a better term, corny. Do yourself a favor: pass on this.

posted by MinorThreat77 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great driving music

    There are very few kinds of music I don't like, so it's strange that I don't listen to a lot of it anymore. Usually I have an audio book going. But my sister gave me this album as a gift after listening to her copy and I was hooked; listened to nothing else while on the road for over 2 weeks. Violins are not my favorite instrument but the fast furious pieces like The Four Seasons, Rock Prelude, and Smooth Criminal kept me cruising along while the plaintive cry of the strings in Nothing Else Matters and Who Wants to Live Forever were heartbreaking. It's a well-balanced album and I look forward to seeing him in concert.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Electrifying blend of classical and modern

    Wunderkind David Garrett grew up in Aachen, Germany and studied violin under Ida Haendel and Itzhak Perlman before graduating from Juilliard in 2004. As a child prodigy, he was subjected to a grueling rehearsal schedule of classical repertoire (he injured his back and shoulders recording Paganini: Caprices as a teen), but the freedom of NYC (including the huge music library at Juilliard and various clubs) opened up a new world of musical possibilities. David supplemented his income by modeling for print magazines like Vogue and Fashion Week for Armani while at Juilliard; his striking looks and broad crossover appeal have earned him the nickname "the David Beckham of classical music." Garrett's response? "He kind of drew a new audience to football, OK mostly female, but that's not a bad thing. I think that's why people actually say that because they know I really try very hard to get new audiences for classical music."

    I first heard of David Garrett in a Barnes and Noble and was hooked. After watching numerous clips and interviews (both German and English) on YouTube, I was blown away by his utter confidence and poise. You can see at once that this is someone who truly loves music and his instrument (he plays both a 1717 Stradivarius and a 1772 Guadagnini, which he badly damaged after falling on it); just like growing up bilingually with a German father and American mother, he's equally at home as ambassador of classical and pop.

    "David Garrett" is actually David's fourth solo album for Decca after Free, Virtuoso, and Encore, and most of the tracks are pulled from these three albums (I would have liked to see the inclusion of "Claire de Lune" from Encore). The themes run the gamut from Baroque (Vivaldi's "Summer" from the Four Seasons, Bach's "Air") to Romantic (Bizet's "Carmen Fantasie"), a dash of Italian Gypsy, modern rock (Metallica, Queen, AC/DC, Michael Jackson), film scores (Zorba the Greek, Pirates of the Caribbean), and original works ("Chelsea Girl," "Rock Prelude"). The album opens with a high-octane rendition of Vivaldi that might bring to mind Vanessa-Mae or perhaps the eccentric Nigel Kennedy, but David makes this all his own, and at breakneck speed.

    My favorites are the uptempo tracks, particularly the "He's a Pirate" theme from Pirates of the Caribbean. This Hans Zimmer gem is a cross between sweeping score reminiscent of the Chieftains' score for TNT's "Treasure Island" with the stately delicacy of a bourrée. The xylophone echoes the violin, accented by triangle and harp. The intense "Smooth Criminal" opens with tympani mimicking a heartbeat...chilling and effective. David's aggressive bowing in the first part slides into a near-human wail as he duets with the electric guitar, then returns to the staccato melody. Queen and AC/DC are given similarly effective treatment. Bill Withers' "Ain't No Sunshine" also translates well to the violin medium, buoyed by the assertive piano bassline. I loved the rollicking "Zorba's Dance" but was a little underwhelmed by "Dueling Strings" (I just can't distance the song from Deliverance).

    Overall, this is a fun, flashy album that showcases David's immense technical talent and will hopefully attract younger listeners to classical repertoire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    What a talent!

    I saw David perform on a PBS special, and knew I wanted to hear more. This is an enjoyable mix of pop and classics, with David's unique spin on each track. A truly gifted violinist - love this and eagerly await his next CD!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    David Garret

    To say David Garret is a gifted and talented violinist would be an underestimation, as vibrantly revealed in this exhilarating CD. This CD is a true joy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome talented performer!

    Fabulous CD- Love it- going to see David Garrett in concert after hearing this CD! He is amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    David Garrett

    I have some difficulty with the recording in that I use CD's in the car and have to keep adjusting the volume for his quiet moments and then when he gets enthursiastic the speakers blast. Would rather have a more steady level of volume. The performance, however, is wonderful. The music, beautiful. And the varieties of the mucical pieces are great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great CD

    Great CD, I keep it in the CD player in my car for whenever I get bored with the radio, I never get bored of this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    David Garrett Rocks Classical Music

    This man is a genius. He has combined an amazing classical training with contemporary music. His aim is to ensnare young people into loving and appreciating classical music.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    When I first heard this cd, I had to have it. It's relaxing, but upbeat at the same time. I've never been a fan of the violin, but I am now. This cd is great for all types of people because of the mixture of songs played. When I hear Michael Jackson's Smooth Criminal it makes me want to start dancing, but then I hear Who Wants To Live Forever and it reminds me of the great movie Highlander. I never thought that I would want to dance to the violin! If you're a true lover of music you'll want to add this one to your collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    favorite cd

    some move the soul, others get you goin', absolutely love this cd, have turned friends and family onto it also, highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Impressive!

    A wonderful mix of moods for your musical soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    David Garrett's performance is wonderful. This recording is a delightful mix of pop, rock and classical music. I love David's style and arrangements.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Classical Meets Rock

    This is a nice mix of classical instruments and rock themes. David Garrett takes favorites from Queen, Metallica, and Michael Jackson and transforms them for a fresh sound. And just when you thinks he's done with the surprises, he finishes with Dueling Banjo's with actor Kevin Bacon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!!!

    I am blown away by David's talent and creativity. His work is unlike anything I've ever heard. Brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    David Garrett's new CD is phenomenal

    I love this CD as does my wife and five year old daughter. There is really something for everyone on this disc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WHAT A TALENT!

    I am what some might call an "old geezer", but I love this CD!
    David Garrett is extremely talented and enjoys playing - you can see it in his face.
    It's a great CD for driving down the highway. Keeps you alert and full of energy. There are also some lovely renditions, such as Chelsea Girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    David Garrett- all ages will hear violin like never before

    I loved this CD so much I went to hear David Garret in concert and what a night!!! This young man and his band put on a show that had young and old alike literally yelling for more. I hope he has another tour in the US- go see him. It is a concert you will not forget. MKF

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    hot music by a hottie!

    the music is fantastic and then you see who's playing it, great turn on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    David Garrett is amazing!

    David Garrett is the most talented violinist to hit the scene in quite some time. His ability to fuse rock with classical style is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2