Customer Reviews for

Dawn

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    A Gripping, Intense Read that will haunt you long after you've finished reading

    I had to read a historical fiction novel for AP world history, this was one of the books on the list. Having read his first novel, Night a few months ago, I had high expectations for the book when I decided to read it. This book outdoes it's amazing predecessor. It follows the experience of Elisha, a Jewish teenager who survived the holocaust and now has joined the revolution against the English for the Holy Land in Palestine. He has been chosen to perform the execution of a British officer, which is to take place at the same time as a friend of his from their side. The story follows the hours and minutes leading up to the execution, covering topics such as what brands a person as a killer, past regrets, the cost of war, and the loss of one's self. Dawn is a short, but intensely written read with excellent pacing that takes a look into the mind of a person whom is forced to commit the ultimate crime, and how it ties in with the protagonist's dark past. This book was the highlight of my many summer assignments and was a breath of fresh air in the world of required reading which normally is filled with dry, overly descriptive novels which one can find hard to relate to. Dawn was a page turner that kept me highly intriuged from the first page to the final word. The story's deep plot line and haunting ending will have you thinking and questioning your own morale even after you've finished reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Dawn is an amazing book. It is the sequel to Night. To understan

    Dawn is an amazing book. It is the sequel to Night. To understand this book you have to read Night. Wiesel references events from Night quite a bit. Dawn also answers some unanswered questions from Night. The book starts off with Wiesel being in Palestine. He also mentions that he has to kill an English man the next day and he didn’t know why. He says that he will never go back to his home town and officially confirms that he never found his mother. Also in chapter one he brings up the beggar. The man wears black clothes. Wiesel met the man when he was 12 years old. This man taught Wiesel how to distinguish night from day. The rest of the book is when Wiesel was 18 years old. Chapter 2 goes back to right after the war. He went to Paris and that is where he met Gad. He was offered asylum in France. He wanted to learn the language and go to school. Wiesel compares Gad to a god. In chapter 5 we discover Catherine, a possible love interest, who is a 26 year old that spoke little German. She was a person who would talk to him in the summer of the war. The book continues to go through his life after the war. I would recommend this book to young adults. I am planning on reading Day the last book in his series.
    -J. Leavey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    A great short follow up to Night by Wiesel

    Dawn is a short story by Wiesel standards but is a story you cannot put down. Elisha is a young rebel in Palestine fighting the British at the time and is torn in that at (Dawn) he must execute a British officer in reprisal for the British hanging a Jewish rebel. Elisha establishes an almost friendship with this officer and the story also talks of Elisha with his rebel friends especially Gad who is almost like a fatherfigure to him. Action packed and a great-short story by Weisel I strongly suggest this read.Can`t wait to finish this triology with Day.

    DNC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    It can be interesting if you know alot about history!

    I would recomed this book to someone who has been alot through in life, and already knows what to expect from life. I honestly think that this book may get boring, but not just any 18 year old boy like Elie can make this tough decisions of killing or waiting to be killed. Without his family who died, Elie has to go through all this in order to become a man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Awesome

    this book was just as good as night if not better. I love his books and i recommend night and day!I'm also in the middle of 'the forgotten' which is a great book so far too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    poetically horrific

    It is a shame that some of the best writing I have ever read draws its inspiration from such a painful well of death and destruction... The writing is brilliant, the message is clear and profound. Like 'Night' I will ponder this book for weeks to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    Life-changing experience

    Reading Elie Wiesel's 'Dawn' was a life-changing experience. Wiesel managed to eloquently portray the tragedy of war and the pain for both the killer and the victim. It was beautiful and moving and most defintely the best book I've ever been fortunate enough to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    OK

    I'm not sure if this book matches up to 'Night' at all. I was unable to connect with the characters and the book's topic itself didn't have much meat at all. I think that Elie Wiezel could've done a better job.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    simply beautiful

    This book like all of Wiesels books is simply beautiful, how he places one in the shoes of the characters and makes the reader become part of the book is amazing. This story itself is astonishing. I truly recomend it to all especially Wiesels Fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    A Great Book

    This book was very good too. He tells us about all the thing's that he had to suffer before he could stop and live better.It was very informative on the holocaust and it made me realize how good we really have it in these time of days. --- Jaymes Dooley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    Loved it!

    Best book ever. You have to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2003

    Great book

    this was a great book i learned about Ellie Weisel in english class in school his year and i just hooked on to his books,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2003

    A 'sequel' to Night. Really good book.

    I LOVED this book. It was so good that it only took me five days to read it. It was an extremely shocking story. I couldn't believe what he did at the end of the book. I still wonder why he did that. Some parts were confusing, but altogether, it was a pretty good book. I would DEFINETELY recomend this book to anyone who is interested in WW2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    a story that truly molded my thoughts

    This book truly portrays to me emotions of ambivilance felt in an 18 year old's conciousness. It makes you stop and think, to be lost in your philosiphies in life and to examine how unjust history has been and wonder how just it is being to global individuals now. It is truly a story that will move and melt even the heart of stone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Great Book

    i thought this was a good post holocaust book. it demonstrates bravery, courage and love very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    O.o

    It's an amazing book. The tension, the thoughts, and all those reality Elie Wiesel put into the book. Simply amazing. It will make you think and think about how true it so represents reality. This hundred paged book is only about a few hours of time elapsed, but it captures a full human soul in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2000

    Dawn was good. It made you think...

    I thought Dawn was a good book. I had to read this book for a summer reading report. Even though I read this book for school, it made me think about different things and views in life. Elie Wiesel had a rough life, and well, this book made me appreciate that my life is going smoothly. I think everyone should read NIGHT before this Dawn. It gives a lot of back ground information...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2000

    Dawn=Good

    This book was a great telling of the tale of Elisha, the main character forced to execute John Dawson, and his comrades. I highly recommend this book to all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2