Customer Reviews for

Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Back to the Future

    Engrossing! There is much to reflect on here - the inherent viciousness of much human behaviour, coupled with a naive belief in our own 'unique specialness' and the way in which our short lifespans make it difficult for us to learn from our history or avoid the mistakes of the past; On the part of the Oankali, a similar conceit in being certain that their assessment of genetic qualities is all that is needed to fully understand others, and a blindness to their own fatal contradictions including their inability to imagine themselves in the place of those others; It challenges the commonly held ideas of 'progress' that modern/western society has about sophistication or civilisation being synonymous with 'advanced' material technology, yet the otherwise 'primitive' Oankali surf deep space, assimilate other species and strip entire planets using only a detailed genetic understanding and adaptability as well as their own version of 'Free Trade'. Socially, the book & Xenogenesis series also reveals from the increasingly desperate reactions of the 'human resisters' how fundamentally important children/offspring are in giving our lives purpose (a fact that is often glossed over in today's technological society, but still appreciated in several indigenous ones) There is much else - about the nature of gender, domination, compassion, power and community - that is insightfully woven into the characters and storyline as commented on by other reviewers. But perhaps it is Butler's treatment of human and alien sexuality that is most unusual and haunting and lingers well after you finish the book/series. Butler is an accomplished and original writer who grounds aspects of her most memorable characters and storylines on mythic African themes - the importance and interconnections between spirituality, human relationships and science - or using the scholar, Charles Finch's term, 'The reunification of myth & science' as a basis for the future. My only gripe with her work is that the books are too short, and the endings often unresolved, but this is perhaps linked to her sparse prose style and wish to explore the storylines further elsewhere.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    IT WAS OUTSTANDING IT BLEW ME AWAY

    Lilith was a human that lived on earth in the middle of a war that destroyed the earth. Other life forms like some sort of aliens came to earth and captured the remaining humans that were still alive and kept them in a sort of hybornation that kept them asleep for as long as they wanted them to be. When they woke lilith up they tought her how they live and they wanted her to wake all of the other humans that were alseep.To teach them about all she had learned. While all of this was going on the alians were rebuilding the earth so the humand and them could live on the earth together.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2004

    This is outstanding!!!

    I read alot of books and plan to keep reading one a day as usual, but yesturday I reached pure gold with this one. I've read serveral things by Ms. Butler, and this one yet again makes me glad I can still find authors that are epitomies of our time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    Excellent book, and I should know

    Butler does an incredible job of making the problems and struggles of the characters relate directly to the reader. I am not a fan of the science-fiction genre, but I was immediately impressed with Butler's style and wit. This novel should be enjoyable, but also heart-wrenching and lead to many questions of humanity and the direction it is going. This is one of the best books I have read in a long time, so well done, Butler is absolutely masterful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    Straighhhht!!!

    I loved this book. It took to me another world. I could picture the whole scene and as ugly as it was painted at times it was always beautiful in my mind the way I could see it. This was my first book from her and she absolutely fed me what I have been craving from all books and that is imagination and most of all pure, crisp,touchable fantasy. She makes me want to JUMP into the book. I want more!!! I will be reading all past and present. Chanel Clinton

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    this piece spans greatness!

    This book was so intriguing it pained to take a break. It was not only entertaining and enrapturing, but the unique blend of religion, philosophy, science, and the good old human nature made you ask questions, and desire the next book! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2000

    This would make a wonderful movie!

    Octavia Butler has created characters you can truly care about. Lilith's conflict between her desire to be free and her growing affection towards her captors, coupled with the tremendous strength she exhibits makes it that much easier to identify with the humanness of this brave, bold, vulnerable woman of color.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2015

    Poppy

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Tigerflight

    Leaps up tail lashing. "Forget it!" She spat. "I have waisted my time here. This Clan will fall under your abandonship." Her tail lashes as she unsheathed her claws. She thinks about cuffing Dawnstar but instead she whips around and plunges back home. It had never been worth it. As she ran she raked her laws against this useless unused territory. "DawnClan wont survive," she hissed. "They have practically already died.' And her tail tip disapeared into the bushed

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Oakkit

    Eats hungerly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Dawnstar

    Smiles as the kit eats.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    An adventuresome work by Butler.!!

    I have read some of her earlier works and she has NOT lost her touch. I am looking forward to reading ADULTHOOD RITES and IMAGO in this trilogy. The concept of mixing an alien species with a Terran species is quite interesring.!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I liked it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    I admit...I love the presence of Octavia Butler. I loved what sh

    I admit...I love the presence of Octavia Butler. I loved what she stood for, creating complex characters, particularly Black women, in thought provoking worlds, in Speculative Fiction and SFF no less. But up until now, I haven't actually read her work. This has now changed with "Dawn" first book in the Xenogenesis series.

    Before I go further, I'd like to warn anyone who is disturbed easily, this may not be a book for you. While it will take your mind to a place it may not have been, this book challenges boundaries, human rights, reproductive rights, and deals with rape, violence and many other subjects that may cause you discomfort. This is not for the weak stomached.

    Dawn follows the exploits of a woman named "Lilith Iyapo" a black woman, who survived a human induced nuclear war. She has been kept alive(amongst other humans) by a race of extraterrestrials known as the "Oankali." The wake her up, because they find she has qualities that may be useful, as they are planning to bring a select amount of humans back to their newly constructable Earth(as before this, it was inhabitable).

    As far as plot goes, the story is intriguing. I found that I enjoyed not only it's pacing but it's world-building as well. Lilith amongst other humans were held capture on a living organism the Oankali referred to as their ship. Many, including Lilith, thought it may just have just be Earth, and they were being played.

    The Oankali were a complex race. Many things they would say, or refuse to say, made absolutely perfect sense to them, but didnt to Lilith, which I often found didnt make sense to me either. Consistency levels for me were off and on. It was difficult to rely on the race holding the humans captive. Apparently they are a race incapable of deception, but they had no issue omitting truths as well.

    The character development was amazing. Lilith was a woman who was intelligent, strong willed and often must negotiate through poor options. Lilith is a black woman, which I should mention, at the time when this was published in 1987, was about as rare as a transparent french fry. She was forced to accept the Oankali, despite how uncomfortably disturbing it was to look at them.

    The Oankali I should mention, were an incredibly difficult, yet repulsive race to look at. She mentioned the had a sea slug appearance, as many were covered in grey "tentacles" but I cant lie, my imagination is powerful. It imagined things that made my skin absolutely want to just crawl inside out or completely rip off. Others might not have this issue, but I was picturing creatures so disgusting, I wanted to put the book down many times when certain situations occurred.

    Althought she met Jdahya first, a male Oankali, she laters bonds with the Ooloi Nakanj as "It" is a child. The Oankali have three sexes. Male, Female and Ooloi, a sexless sex. As disturbing as it was overtime Lilith later became a companion, and somewhat unwilling lover of Nakanj.

    I think the backstory of the Oankali is strong, but I still had questions to what caused and resulted in the death of humanity. It's suggested to be nuclear, and between the US and Russia, but I just would've liked more incite on that. 

    Many of the conflict came from the hold the Oankali had on humanity. While they described humanity as hierarchical and intelligent, which I agree, are a somewhat lethal combination, as humanity has never been satisfied unless they've been able to assert authority and dominance over others, driven by the need to conquer and control others. But The Oankali is a way did this as well. They were driven by their desire to heal humans, and wanted humanity to live. But the options they gave, solitary life abroad their ship, death or interbreed were so limited. They made humanity completely dependent on them, and when asked why, they gave answers only when they wished it, and gave answers that made sense to them only.

    They mirror slave owners by their complete dominance over humanity. They controlled what they ate, how they lived(or didnt live, through keeping them asleep in suspended animation)their ability to conceive, and practiced many experiments on them without their consent. The worse part about this control, was they had no respect for human boundaries. Oolois including Lilith's companion often performed a type of mental rape. They would feed images into the minds of the humans they touched and bonded with, and feed off the sexual arousal. Humans often developed a type of Stockholm's syndrome, but were completely disgusted by the behavior as well. Many had to be drugged to even allow this. This behavior was normal for Ooloi, but they didn't seem to understand that humans were not prepared for this kind of bonding. That in itself is very disturbing. i kept thinking, I must be sick in the head because I just couldn't stop reading.

    I find that the unique perspective makes the story that much more normal, that it could happen to any of us.

    I saw grammatical errors, but I don't think they brought the story down. But I did notice at least 4. But other than that it is edited rather well, and Octavia's written style, dare I say, draws you in, even when you're disturbed. The point of view is clear, and the beats between dialogue give you a little extra time to soak things in.

    About diversity. Between the Humans, there was Lilith a dark skinned black woman, a minor character named Paul, a human man of the same race, and John, a Canadian originally born in Hong Kong, while I assume by the descriptions of pale skin, and European surnames that many else of the people were white.

    Maybe it's not unrealstic, I just wish there had been more people of color. One of the first things the white guys wanted to target when they were awaken and stirred up based on their situation, was the Asian guy. Perhaps if there had been more people of color, the white people wouldnt have been so quick to assert their dominance.

    I found that Lilith and John were sweet. I didn't expect so see a black woman, with an Asian man in a book written over 25 years ago. Perhaps it was because they were the only people of color, but they fit well together. I think the diversity is acceptable, but it could've been more.

    Their definitely believable, and I found many of what they went through unforced. The efforts to empower both a black woman and an Asian man were strong, as we both tend to be the images least represented in the media.

    As far as cover art goes, the book I bought, while it shows a Black woman, it inst a comprehensible image to what the story is about. Those looking for a romance book in this specific cover, will not find that. The title is just okay, I wasn't sure why exactly it was called Dawn. Maybe because it was the dawn of a new age for both Oankali and Humans. Outside of the crazy names of the Oankali(names too long to remember or write out) Lilith and Tate's names were the standouts for me. This was written in the 80's so I suppose I could give it a  pass, as many of the names for the humans may have been popular at the time. I wont give the point however for character descriptions, because I had no sense of what Lilith looked like outside of being tall, in shape and dark skinned. When she described the Oankali, she was descriptive which I painfully regret. But the humans often got about a sentence or less into what they looked like.

    Overall, I can see why Octavia has connected with so many, and she is highly worthy of this praise. I have about 4 more books of hers that will definitely be dusted off and read upon reading this, as I look forward to her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2