Customer Reviews for

Dawn of War: Blood War Trilogy

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

epic fantasy with a visceral kick

The Grol, a monstrous race that has long sought to overrun and destroy the fortified city-state of Lathah, now appears to have the mystical weapons they need to do it. Unfortunately, no one in Lathah is willing to believe that the Grol can now succeed where they failed ...
The Grol, a monstrous race that has long sought to overrun and destroy the fortified city-state of Lathah, now appears to have the mystical weapons they need to do it. Unfortunately, no one in Lathah is willing to believe that the Grol can now succeed where they failed before, and it is up to an exiled, disgraced former royal guard named Arrin to somehow convince them of the threat--or, failing to do that, to find allies to stand with Lathah in its hour of need.

This is the first book in Tim Marquitz's epic Blood War Trilogy, more grim and brutal in tone than you'd find in his Demon Squad series. It's set on a complex world with a lot of layers and twists that held my interest, and more than enough bloody and gruesome battle scenes to give it a very visceral kick. I'm looking forward to seeing how things get worse for the protagonists in the next volume.

posted by Gary_W_Olson on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Didnt like

I didnt like this. The main character spends most of his time in flash backs. Everything is too wordy.

posted by Deis on December 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    epic fantasy with a visceral kick

    The Grol, a monstrous race that has long sought to overrun and destroy the fortified city-state of Lathah, now appears to have the mystical weapons they need to do it. Unfortunately, no one in Lathah is willing to believe that the Grol can now succeed where they failed before, and it is up to an exiled, disgraced former royal guard named Arrin to somehow convince them of the threat--or, failing to do that, to find allies to stand with Lathah in its hour of need.

    This is the first book in Tim Marquitz's epic Blood War Trilogy, more grim and brutal in tone than you'd find in his Demon Squad series. It's set on a complex world with a lot of layers and twists that held my interest, and more than enough bloody and gruesome battle scenes to give it a very visceral kick. I'm looking forward to seeing how things get worse for the protagonists in the next volume.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book.

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I am not a typical futuristic romance reader, but this book kept me interested. There was never the obligatory bore slow portion of this book. It was fast paced, funny, and all around entertaining. Loved the characters and the scenery. It proved to have lovely balance.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it

    Great epic fantasy, and for free too!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    FULL OF ACTION!!

    This is my first time reading from this author, i'm hooked! Picked it up and didn't want to put it down. Great story line and great characters.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Where are the other books???

    I loved this book and am chomping at the bit for the other 2. Where are they?

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Awesome

    Love the book

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    I liked

    Had new and interesting ideas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Avidfantasyreader

    669 nook pages. I can not believe this was free. Action and magic galour. However this did not take away from a great story line, with a huge cast of characters that were easy to follow.
    Seems their are five races of dominant society creatures in this world, where man is one of them, not the dominant race. Someone has gotten it into their head to start a race war of barbaric portions.
    Book one bring us a full cast and their initial struggles to undrrstand the situation, and start to find a migical means to fight back.
    Loved this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Excellent book! Best one of this genre I've read in quite a whil

    Excellent book! Best one of this genre I've read in quite a while. Right before starting this one, I stopped reading 3 books that were not up to snuff, but this one kept my attention and anticipating the next one. It was free, but I would pay for this one and others of this quality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Good story

    Too graphic for the young teen. Very descriptive in battle and the results. When finished you will one the next book in the series immediatly to continue the tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Pretty good

    It was ok but it took a while to understand the story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Didnt like

    I didnt like this. The main character spends most of his time in flash backs. Everything is too wordy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    good story line.flowed right along. Had some trouble keeping up

    good story line.flowed right along. Had some trouble keeping up with the characters.
    too bad I hooked on this free book to have to buy the rest of the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Great start to the saga

    Looking forward to the next book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    good but where the sequel

    good but where the sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    The bar for a 5 star rating at B&N is in the basement. The c

    The bar for a 5 star rating at B&N is in the basement. The concept was fair, the writing passable but in need of editing. I could not finish despite being less than a hundred pages to the end. I believe wordy blah with bad character and place names sums things up for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No complaints

    I thought it a good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    ???

    Im twelve should i read it?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Moonlight

    I ate a banana.

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2