Customer Reviews for

Dawn on a Distant Shore

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Rewarding Read

    I think Sara Donati is a wonderful author, capable of very interesting story lines; she mixes romance and love of family. I thought at the beginning this might be just a book about "fluff" but not so. I highly recommend the Wilderness Series and have enjoyed every book immensely. Want to get lost in a wonderful story? Read Sara Donati's Wilderness Series. You won't be sorry. And, yes, men might enjoy this series, too. Might give your man some well-needed ideas, ladies!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Enjoyed! Good read.

    Enjoyed Dawn on a Distant Shore. It was nice to take a break from Lake in the Clouds. But by the end I was ready to go back as I was really missing the town! Almost like I live there and had been away on a journey. Great book and I plan to continue the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I love this series. Though it is fiction, it makes the 1790s in America come alive and seems so authentic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Awesome

    In love with Danati and her characters, still...reading this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    The adventure continues!

    Looking forward to the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Great Read!

    Donati does a wonderful job weaving her story. I've read all of the Outlander Series, and this has a very similar feel. Rich characters, vivid setting, interesting story line. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    A must read!!

    Great book, I love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Im enjoying the story line but I find it very slow and at times

    Im enjoying the story line but I find it very slow and at times somewhat boring. I have read a few other books inbetween this one, I usually have to finish a book but this one is taking some time. Fairly predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoyed this book. It is even better than tw first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Great book!

    A very captivating book! I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    This is a great series based on a time frame around the end of 1700's to beginning of 1800's-It is a great story of a family and the way they are affected by the history that is unfolding around them

    I love this series. It reminds me of the Diane Gabeldon books, except this does not have the fantasy going on with the stones.

    I hope to read all of these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyed

    Loved the story. Could have stood better editing...it seemed that they went on and on at sea, and sure found other ships easily. But despite that I enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Recommended

    Have read and enjoyed the first three books in the Wilderness Series. Historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wilderness Series #2

    This is a good follow up to "Into the Wilderness" The same characters are here, and new adventures begin. About halfway through the book, I knew what the outcome was going to be. I wouldn't say it's predictable, because Donati was able to weave an intricate tale to reach that outcome, and there are a few surprises along the way. If you enjoy historical fiction, with a dose of romance, adventure, intrigue and betrayel, I think you would enjoy this book (this entire series for that matter).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Strongly recommend

    Wonderful!! Exciting adventure, good love story, very interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great sequel

    Into the Wilderness was one of my favorite reads, so I was really looking forward to the sequel. Ms. Donati does not disappoint as Nathaniel, Elizabeth and their family are plunged headlong into a rousing new adventure overseas. All the familiar characters from the previous book are here, including my favorite Curiosity Freeman. The story begins where the last left off, with Elizabeth giving birth to twins with only her step daughter Hannah to help her. Nathaniel, his father Hawkeye and family friend Robbie MacLachlan are imprisioned in Montreal, and Elizabeth soon packs up her children and sets out to help her men folk. A series of adventures, betrayals, and double crosses soon has the Bonner clan off to Scotland to meet the mysterious Earl of Carryck, who claims kinship to Hawkeye, and has plans for the entire Bonner family.<BR/>Although I found the book a bit slow going at first, I was soon completely enthralled with all the characters again and look forward to the third book in the series. Not a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    COULDN'T PUT DOWN

    If you liked Last of the Mohicans, you will love Sara Donati's books--they are a continuation of where Last of the Mohicans stopped. Couldn't put down and can't wait for the next one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I feel truly blessed to have found this series of books by Donati. I also feel lucky that they were all available for me to read one after another for I could NOT WAIT to read the next book. I cannot tell if there will be more books, but I will certainly keep looking for Donati's next... no matter what it is about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    It is as if I was there with them

    I loved this book and 'Into the Wilderness' I am buying 'Lake in the Clouds' today. I hope the series never ends I could live with 'the Bonners' forever. I highly recommend this series and I can't wait for the newest one.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2000

    A real page-turner

    I loved this book as much as Into the Wilderness. I cannot wait for the next one. Sara Donati gives life to these characters. I think I may have lived as a Mohican in another life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6