Customer Reviews for

Dawnbreaker (Dark Days Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

I very much enjoy this series and especially this 3rd book. It is past paced with lots of action and an unexpected turn of events. Mira has made the top of my all time favorite heroines. I already can't wait for the next one.

posted by VanyWag on October 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

better but still the same

Ok so i've read 3 of the books in this series and so far this one is better than the first two. BUT the plot is still the same and it's getting pretty boring. Add to the fact that Mira and Danaus have been threatening to kill each other for 3 books now and that too is g...
Ok so i've read 3 of the books in this series and so far this one is better than the first two. BUT the plot is still the same and it's getting pretty boring. Add to the fact that Mira and Danaus have been threatening to kill each other for 3 books now and that too is getting old and predictable. It's like the author is rewriting the same book just differently to make it seem like there new books. Though i think Dawnbreaker was better than the first two it's still predictable and the same heartless characters, none of the characters are likeable and a story is lacking ALOT when you don't even like who your reading about!!! are the publishers blind to this??????

posted by ILgirl82 on August 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I very much enjoy this series and especially this 3rd book. It is past paced with lots of action and an unexpected turn of events.

    Mira has made the top of my all time favorite heroines.

    I already can't wait for the next one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    A bit more meloncholy than the first two books, but the story is

    A bit more meloncholy than the first two books, but the story is always evolving (and interesting). I will be buying more of this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    better but still the same

    Ok so i've read 3 of the books in this series and so far this one is better than the first two. BUT the plot is still the same and it's getting pretty boring. Add to the fact that Mira and Danaus have been threatening to kill each other for 3 books now and that too is getting old and predictable. It's like the author is rewriting the same book just differently to make it seem like there new books. Though i think Dawnbreaker was better than the first two it's still predictable and the same heartless characters, none of the characters are likeable and a story is lacking ALOT when you don't even like who your reading about!!! are the publishers blind to this??????

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Adequete

    By the third book i found it tiresome and difficult to finish. The writer seems to think the reader xuffers from severe alsheimers and must be reminded of every plot point to the point of nausea.

    Yes, it is a good story but i stopped caring many pages ago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review from My Urban Fantasies

    Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies.
    (myurbanfantasies.blogspot)

    The seal to the door is finally broken. Jabari orders Mira to return to the coven. Mira tells him no, that she's returning to Savannah, where she is needed, and that she will fight the naturi when the time comes. Mira also invites Danaus to come with her, claiming that it will be easier to kill him if she does not have to hunt him down. *smirk* Yeah, like any of us believe that's the reason Mira want Danaus with her.

    Dawnbreaker starts roughly two months after Dayhunter. Mira and Danaus had parted ways long before Mira reached Savannah. He flew with her from Crete, but got off the plane in Paris. Mira is now in Savannah and everything is not going as well as she had hoped. Ties with the local pack are becoming more strained due to the constant naturi attacks. The naturi are using the werewolves to attack the nightwalkers. The nightwalkers are forced to defend themselves usually resulting with dead werewolves. This leaves us with a less than happy Barrett. When Danaus arrives in Savannah the naturi attacks become worse.

    Danaus decides to stay in Savannah. Mira is forced to make him swear he will not hunt another nightwalker while in her domain. Mira no longer trusts Danaus with vampire allies because he killed Penelope with little warning and no hesitation. Mira tells Danaus that she can not worry about protecting her people from him and the naturi. Eventually Mira and Danaus come to an understanding. If one of Mira's nightwalkers attacks Danaus, he can defend himself. If Danaus hunts any of the nightwalkers Mira will gut him and send his charred entrails back to Ryan in a doggie bag.

    Along their journey the trust slowly begins to build again. Danaus is essentially Mira's only ally in that battle against the naturi. On the way to stop Rowe from opening the door, Danaus has to trust Mira like he never has before. The enemy are attacking and the only way for Danaus to stay alive is to be completely vulnerable and trust Mira to keep him safe, from the small army of naturi and a room full of nightwalkers.

    Dawnbreaker is action packed, and beautifully written. The characters are evolving, I finally find myself becoming emotionally invested in them. Mira is quickly becoming my favorite character. It's amazing that she's not completely insane. If something bad can happen to Mira, it usually does. Mira's constantly confronting ghosts from her past, starting when she was human right up to the present. There seems to be a growing list of people who want to control Mira or just want her dead.

    If you're expecting Mira and Danaus to grow a collective brain and realize they actually like each other and do not want to kill each other, you're going to be disappointed. Mira and Danaus do not hook up in this book. I have high hopes for future books though, mostly because I'm a romantic and refuse to believe they will be oblivious of their feelings forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just OK!!

    This one was a litte slow for me. I'm just waiting to see what is going on with Myra and Danaus, they make a great team! We'll see the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Totally terrific

    The naturi are preparing the end game assault with a special sacrifice that will destroy the barrier between them and the human-nightwalkers. Once Rowe completes the portal, his spouse the queen Aurora will lead her race as they cross over to devastate both species.

    The only hope for humanity and the nightwalkers resides with Mira, who has special skills especially with the use of fire. However, she is realistic as she knows the odds are heavily against her unless an alliance is forged as has occurred between her and the vampire slayer Danaus. However they have new hope when they capture naturi Princess Cynnia who insists she opposes her sister's plan for the apocalypse.

    The third Dark Days urban fantasy (see DAYHUNTER and NIGHTWALKER) is a terrific action-packed entry that is driven by partners forced into what both believe is an unnatural partnership. The characters make the story line feel genuine as Mira the fire starter vampire and Danaus the vampire hunter need to team up or lose to the naturi. With treason from within their ranks and seemingly within the nature, Jocelyn Drake complicates her overarching theme tenfold in what is turning into a magnificent saga.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    Up all Night

    This book is a fast-paced, action-filled cliffhanger. This is the first book I have read by this author. Tomorrow I am going to get the first two in the series. I can't wait to see how the story built to this point. Nightwalkers, werewolves, and naturi keep you reading long after you planned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    TERRIBLE

    Worst book out of the entire series of 6. Don't know how I finished it.

    The entire book is a recap of what has already happened. Sometime Drake even recaps the last freaking chapter you read so it gets incredibly redundant.

    Denaus still has no personality. He nods, grunts, and tries not to smile. And sometimes touches Mira's face. That's about it....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Mira & Danaus

    Unstoppable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Na

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Great Read!

    Another great book to read in the Dark Days Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Coal

    I see a light. It is hummid and there are birds singing. My mother is smiling down at me. She licked me clean. I nurse her gently. She then gets up and walks out. I hear loud screechs and sreams minutes later. I stumble out of the den to look for her. I then see the most horrid thing in my life. My mother dead body laying there with many cuts on her side. I slumped my head on her. I then cried. My mother was a good cat. Then something felt like it crawled into my soul. Like I just got a double life. I was being possed by an evil soul. My eyes turned pitch black and i growled. I fought the spirit and then my eyes turned back to yellow. But it still possed me. I wondered off. I looked for some way to survive.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Page turner

    This whole series is GOOD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Not a fan

    After reading the first book and coming away with mixed feelings I picked up this sequel. I just do not like the main character, at all. She is boring, cold, and unfeeling. Her constant threats to kill the secondary characters got old real fast. Also, as a supposed protector of a city one would think there would be some empathy in her. The bad guys were mire interesting than she was. Not going to waste anymore time or money on this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dawnbreaker

    I love this book. It is the third in the series and I found it to be just as good as the first two books. Mira is such a great character that you just cant help ruting for her.

    The Naturi are preparing for the final sacrifice that will destroy the barriers between the worlds and release their queen. Mira is still working with Danus the vampire hunter to try and stop this from happening, but they are dealt a wild card: a rogue enemy princess who can change the balance of power and turn the dread tide. Can Mira and Danus stop the Naturi from opening the door between world and can they servive with so many wanting them dead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dawnbreaker

    Dawnbreaker, the third installment of the Dark Days series, is a great read. It has a good plot, and the characters are all back for more action. Mira is a strong character, and you get to read about her adventures at Machu Pichu, and her interactions with vampire-hunter Danaus. Dawnbreaker is fast-paced and full of suspense, with an interesting twist thrown in when a naturi princess falls into the characters hands. Overall, a good read. Next up: Pray for Dawn, and Wait for Dusk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6