Customer Reviews for

Dawn's Awakening (Breeds Series #14)

Average Rating 4.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A delightful sf romance

    They were created in a bioengineering science lab with the DNA of the wolf and cats added to human DNA so that they could serve as a ferocious army of a fanatical society where security is everything. Their military slavery ended when the world learned of their existence and forced them to be freed. The heat of the Breed binds their mate to them for life. The breed¿s base is Sanctuary where they learn to adapt to living amongst humans and many obtain work as mercenaries and bodyguards to the purebreds who detest them.-------------- Businessman Seth Lawrence, who supports Sanctuary, knows he is the lifemate of Dawn, but the torture including rape she endured makes her unable to mate with him. After seeing tapes of what she suffered, Seth stepped away from his beloved to give her space. His Board of Directors meets on his island to discuss future contributions to Sanctuary. Dawn and Seth begin to feel the heat again, but as they begin to make love, bullets fly through the window, wounding him and killing a board supporter. They give in to their passion and become mates as she realizes he always loved her, but stayed away out of concern for her. She becomes his lover and bodyguard, but neither realizes she is the focus of an unknown adversary, not him.----------- The latest Lora Leigh¿s homage to the X-Men (see MEGAN'S MARK and HARMONY'S WAY) stars a great lead pairing who the audience will like and root for. The bioengineered breeds seem genuine as the love story is beautifully told while the backdrop of hatred and prejudice make for an exhilarating saga similar to what occurred to the early X-Men (ask Magneto).------------- Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books in the series...

    and one of my favorites! Honestly, I was not expecting everything that happened in this book. I really though Dawn's story was going to unravel a bit differently given all the abuse she enduring at the Council's lab.

    OMG! the cliffhanger at the end is killing me. Once again Lora Leigh has done it. She gives you enough to keep you hooked and enough to keep you guessing as to what is next in the story.

    I hope the book that explains what happens next comes out soon, or I swear I'll go crazy. Yes, it is that good! I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I KNEW This Book Would Be Good!

    I was itching to read "Dawn's Awakening," and I was not disappointed. After everything Dawn (Cougar Breed) went through in the labs and with the Council scientists, I was very happy to learn that she strengthened herself, inside and out, to deal with her past. Of course, having Seth (human) love her helps considerably. After 10 years apart, having them reunite caused sparks to fly! GREAT book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Intensely erotic

    Dawn's Awakening is the best so far in the feline breed series. It was erotic, it was intense, a little mysterious and some action thrown in. Lora Leigh knows how to capture the attention of her readers and not let go. I loved the intensity of the feelings between Dawn and Seth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    I loved Dawn's Awakening. Finally the woman in her really emerges and you learn what really happened back at the labs. She finally comes into her own and takes what's hers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Breath taking...

    I absolutely love Lora Leigh's breeder series and this is my favorite so far. Aside from the very steamy sconces, it is Ms. Leigh's writing style that captures me. The characters pain, confusion and desire are palatable to me as I turn page after page. What a fantastic read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    One of the best

    Dawn's Awakening is one of the best of the breeds series thus far. It is touching and romantic, as well as erotic and heart-stoppingly thrilling. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Keep gettng better every time

    Thoroghly enjoyed this one from start to finish, I was well entertained, and not just because I love both cats and wolves. The book offers a story filled with passion, morality and romance. Kudos to Seth and his gentlemanly patience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    another success

    Im not great at reviews but i will tell you that Dawns Awakening was Awesome..... for those that love Lora Leighs Breed Series then you wont be disappointed, this book is one of her best, romantic but sexy.. serious but fun for those that have never read Lora Leigh, i suggest rectifying that problem immediately by grabbing this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Lora Leigh Rocks

    Dawns Awakening was the first of Lora's that I read and it got me hooked on Breeds since

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    love it

    what more is there to say?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Perfect book

    I cried with dawn and seth. Very emotional, it's a perfect weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Im reading Dawn's Awakening now and LOVE IT!!!!! Im looking fo

    Im reading Dawn's Awakening now and LOVE IT!!!!!

    Im looking for the next book but cant find it..:( Is it A jaguar's Kiss? Someone please help..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Tear jerker

    Every time my son comes intn the room when i am reading i am reaching for a kleenex. He wants to know if its really worth it. I just look at him and say HELL YES. Great book. Great series. Read in order to get full effect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I want one

    The Breed series is fantastic, I'm really enjoyin readin the series. Can't wait to see who is next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Go Dawn. I love this story so much passion. Top breed pick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Hot series

    This is one of my favorites so far.I read Lora's Nauti series, and Loved them. I didnt want to read this series only because the breeds were man made. Boy was I wrong. I do hate most of the covers though. Just goes to show dont juedge a book by its cover. This is a great series and will keep me busy for awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Love this series!

    Be sure to read from the beginning as the characters recur in subsequent books. You can google/search for lora leigh breeds reading order to get the list in the order they were released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    a must read book

    This was one of her better books in this series. I loved that Cassie was in it. There was a great plot with equel amount of romance with a little sex.. It was not over done on the sex like some books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    It is a sad romance with sensual heat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8