Customer Reviews for

Dawn's Prelude (Song of Alaska Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    More Alaskan Adventures from Peterson

    Recently widowed Lydia Gray is not sad; she is actually relieved that her late husband Floyd cannot torment her any longer. Lydia's marriage was a business arrangement between her father and Floyd, a practice not uncommon in 1870 in Kansas City. She is surprised to learn that she inherited Floyd's entire estate. Determined to break free from any ties to Floyd's greedy and insensitive adult children, she secretly makes plans to move to Sitka, Alaska, where Aunt Zerelda, her only remaining relative, lives. A bit of intrigue ensues as Lydia makes her way to Sitka where she finds herself in the arms of Kjell Lindquist. Literally! Kjell catches Lydia right off the boat, sick and worn from her travels. The plot thickens as Lydia fights her way out of a web of bitterness and distrust from the treatment she received at Floyd's hands. Will Zerelda's gentle faith speak to Lydia? Will Lydia accept this new land as her own? Will Kjell have any part in Lydia's future? And what of Floyd's family, will their greed drive them to drastic measures? The beauty of the Alaskan territory comes alive in Ms. Peterson's latest book. I have yet to find a book of hers that I disliked. She is a wonderful story teller; her stories have depth and an eternal message. Check this one out; adventure and surprises await!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome read!

    This story was truly fabulous in every way. I sensed the peril and the helplessness the characters experienced as much as I felt the tenderness and love. This is probably Tracie's best book yet. Her plotting is sheer perfection and the pace was satisfying. There was a suspenseful element to the story that made me not want to sleep until the situation was resolved and the people were safe. There was a secondary character that was compassionate, too. I worried for her and her lifeless marriage and started to sweat when temptation literally nipped at her corsette.

    I love it when an author makes me care enough to worry about the characters. Of course, the romantic element was amazing and probably the best part of the book. When the sparks flew my heart felt ablaze along with the people in love. Trust is so hard for some people to experience after years of abuse and mistreatment. The hero in this story was the perfect person to reestablish that missing link and give the heroine hope. He was also smart enough to allow the heroine to come to him. Sigh, that was soooo romantic!

    Ah, this was such a good read! In fact, it's making my favorite books of 2009 list. I would've read it straight through but life got in the way. It was very hard to put down and the story kept calling me to pick it up again and finish. I'm glad I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Willowlef

    Great! ~Willowleaf

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    A Great romance book

    When I started reading the book, I couldn't put it down until I finished it (which was 1am :) ). There was a lot of twists and turns throughout the story. There was always something surprising in every chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    good read

    i very much enjoyed the story line and the character developent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dawn's Prelude by Tracie Peterson

    Tracie Peterson has to be one of my favorite Christian authors, so when I had the opportunity to review one of her books, I jumped. Dawn's Prelude is the first book in the Song of Alaska series. Tracie has a way of telling a story, as to capture your attention and keep you on your toes and wanting more. The story is in the Christian romance genre, with suspense and action tied in as well. There was one twist in this story that totally shocked me....even though, it really shouldn't have, but I won't give it away. Just know that you won't be bored with this story.

    The story's main character is Lydia Sellers, who was married off to a very cruel man who abused and mistreated her. With both his passing and the passing of her father, she stands to inherit her stepchildren's fortune, and this is where the suspense begins. She decides to move to Alaska to live with her aunt, and while there, a tale of love, romance, tragedy, and spiritual awakenings begins.

    Peterson ties in many Scriptural insights with her story, which lets the reader into the mind of the characters, as they seek to try to understand God's ways. While at times, I felt some of the dialogue was a tad bit cheesy, I still wanted to find out what happened in the end. Would I recommend this book? Yes, it's the perfect story to have on that rainy Sunday afternoon, complete with candle, blanket, and relaxation (oh, and kids napping or otherwise occupied:)).

    To read more about this book, visit Bethany House.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best of Christ's Love

    First let me mention about how much I love the cover of this book, the coloring especially is just to die for it is so pretty. So far almost every historical fiction that I have read from Tracie Peterson I have enjoyed and this one is no different on that enjoyment scale. It may not be as non stop fabulous as the Yukon Quest, but it in a different manner it is better at the same time. Reading the book blurb as an expectant reader you can assume certain things of the plot line and story to occur and wonder how they unfold and what will happen next, but this novel is so much more in depth with twists and turns and much more plot than the blurb even begins to imply.

    The best of Christ's beginning love is shown through in the characters and they learn and grow. Evil is still present as ever in some characters as is always in the writing of Tracie Peterson in a way that is very real as uncomfortable as that may seen. What is fabulous is the way that even with so many bad things that can possibly occur all the good that God can bring out of it. With emotions running, and pages not turning fast enough if you ever have enjoyed some of the work of this author before you will be glad to read this new novel that does not disappoint. If you have yet to read Tracie's books, this is a great place to start. I highly recommend her. This book is a great start to a new series and I cannot wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Return to Alaska

    This latest offering from Tracie Peterson was deeply satisfying. This was a relief as I had felt her last output, The Brides of Gallatin series, to be a bit predictable and boring. Luckily the problems I had with that series seems to have disappeared so far in the first book. I have always enjoyed Tracie's books that take place in Alaska. I believe this is her 3rd series set in our northern most state. This book shows a lot of promise for the upcoming books in the series.

    I was immediately drawn into the story of a young widow who's at the mercy of her conniving step children. What I found interesting is the different take on the older man marries younger woman story. We usually think that wives who are much younger than their husbands only marry them for their money. However in this case, Lydia was forced into this marriage and is all to ready to escape and forget that it ever existed. Her stepchildren, who are almost all at least her age or older, cannot seem to see her point of view and and have been condescending of her from the beginning. It's actually quite frustrating that they can't seem to realize she wants to get away from them forever. Once Lydia gets to Alaska, she's met with many challenges and obstacles, that threaten her life and her sanity.

    While this book is set in a historical time period (the gold rush), there's not really that much history involved. The story isn't also as much about Alaska and the gold rush as it is about Lydia's struggle with her husband's family. There were some tidbits about the Tlingit people which I did find very interesting as I don't think I've read a book that talks about them. The only little qualm I have is the presence of the violin on the cover. While the violin is mentioned several times in the story, it does not really play a major role as one would think from it's prominence on the cover. Also there were some scenes that I felt were taken out of a soap opera and a little over dramatic. Still though it's an enjoyable book and it's comfort reading since I've been a fan of Tracie's works for years. I'll be looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Restores my faith in historical fiction!

    Just about the time I start thinking, "Why did I get another historical fiction book?" I open up Tracie Peterson's new book "Dawn's Prelude" and get absolutely swept away in an amazing story! I totally loved this book! There is something for everyone (romance, adventure and a little suspense) and fans of historical fiction will add this book to their most loved shelf.

    Lydia is a new widow who, sad to say, is not sorry to see her husband gone. He was very abusive and many years her senior... it was a business arrangement set up by her father more than it was a marriage that she wanted anything to do with. Now all she can see is freedom, from him and his children who are not happy when the will is read. She takes off to Alaska, the new frontier, to live with her aunt. Once there she is met with a few surprises but rallies to find peace and love until someone from her past threatens to destroy it all.

    I couldn't put this book down and read it in a day... now I just can't wait for book #2 in this new series to come out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    I think I've read most of Tracie Peterson's works, some of them

    I think I've read most of Tracie Peterson's works, some of them twice. I love her accurate accounting of places
    and time in the telling of the stories.

    This particular book intrigued me because there was such a need to hurt members of family. Not Lydia, but the step children who were every bit as selfish and demanding as Floyd, the husband. I cheered inside myself when I learned the outcome of the will. Amazing... Who would have thought that two days could mean so much. I must say, I could not put this book down. I was intrigued and on the edge of my seat with each underhanded attempt from the family to gain the "family" fortune. I also loved the travel to Sitka and the Aunt Zerelda, who, despite her age, was a stalwart companion and midwife for Lydia. There was love, true love, introduced to Lydia ay long last... something she had never before experienced in her life. All in all, this book left me hungry for the next. I really enjoyed it, as I do all of Ms. Peterson's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Appleblaze, your #1 fan

    I love it!! It is just moving a little too fast and you need to work on grammar. Other than that, awesome job!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3