Customer Reviews for

The Day after Tomorrow

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ABSOLUTELY THE BEST BOOK I EVER READ!!!

This book is the best book you can EVER get for your money. It keeps you reading it straight to the end! I was so into the story, I almost forgot to get off my bus! I could have rode around for hours reading this book, and I'll gladly read it again! The way it just ...
This book is the best book you can EVER get for your money. It keeps you reading it straight to the end! I was so into the story, I almost forgot to get off my bus! I could have rode around for hours reading this book, and I'll gladly read it again! The way it just drags you into it and keeps your nerves tingling, it's just UNEXPLAINABLE! It's almost like a spell, capturing your mind so you can actually see what is going on! And the ending! That is probably the BEST ENDING of anything I have ever read! I guarantee that you will be hooked on this book from the start, and you won't forget it!

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

didnt care for it

I literally had to force my self to read this book. My boyfriend recommended it. The author was all over the place.. and it was really hard to keep track of who was who!. By the time I got to over the first 500 hundred pages it was more interesting and exciting. All in ...
I literally had to force my self to read this book. My boyfriend recommended it. The author was all over the place.. and it was really hard to keep track of who was who!. By the time I got to over the first 500 hundred pages it was more interesting and exciting. All in all I am Not a fan of the Nazi generation new or old. It was a NY bestseller maybe at the time of launch.. but I cant see how. Disappointing.

posted by zednem666 on April 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    ABSOLUTELY THE BEST BOOK I EVER READ!!!

    This book is the best book you can EVER get for your money. It keeps you reading it straight to the end! I was so into the story, I almost forgot to get off my bus! I could have rode around for hours reading this book, and I'll gladly read it again! The way it just drags you into it and keeps your nerves tingling, it's just UNEXPLAINABLE! It's almost like a spell, capturing your mind so you can actually see what is going on! And the ending! That is probably the BEST ENDING of anything I have ever read! I guarantee that you will be hooked on this book from the start, and you won't forget it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    The book itself is very good. A page turning thriller. However,

    The book itself is very good. A page turning thriller. However, the Nook edition is a disgrace. There are typos on every page. Some so bad one can only guess at the meaning of the sentence. I paid good money for this book, and I expected better. Barnes and Noble should be ashamed to offer this to the public.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Great Book

    I read this book over ten years ago and I still rate it as one of the best books I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Great read, poor quality!

    This eBook is riddled with errors throughout. Besides that, it's a great read. Errors are prevalent on almost every single page. I'm not sure if this is what happens with character recognition or what, as I wouldn't think the physical copy would be this bad. I feel cheated and will ask for a credit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    didnt care for it

    I literally had to force my self to read this book. My boyfriend recommended it. The author was all over the place.. and it was really hard to keep track of who was who!. By the time I got to over the first 500 hundred pages it was more interesting and exciting. All in all I am Not a fan of the Nazi generation new or old. It was a NY bestseller maybe at the time of launch.. but I cant see how. Disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Excellent read

    The novel was extremely well written and researched. The plot was intricate, every character was important in some way, and the plot never ceased to amaze me. The events continued to move very quickly throughout, and despite the fact that there were so many characters, Folsom somehow writes that you remember who each and every character is. It is easy to distinguish between the myriad characters because each has a distinctive motive and personality, which is helpful in a 700+ page novel. Overall I think it presented a very smooth moving novel, and the conflict changes a few times throughout so it is not just drawing out a single event for the entire read. I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    A real pageturner

    This was a great book. There are a lot of characters, but they are all very easy to keep up with since there are such full stories for all of them. It was interesting to see how they came together to make the story. Absolutely the best book I've ever read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    One of the best books I've ever read

    I read this book twice, about four years apart. I keep waiting for a third book from him. This book is easily in the top three or four fiction books I've ever read, along with DeMille's Charm School.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    The Best Movie I Ever Read.. I mean Book!

    Why this book has not been made into a movie is beyond me. This book stimulates readers' senses to the extreme. I found myself casting the characters immediately and Allan Folsom's writing brought then all to life. You name it, this book has it. Intrique, romance, action and thrills, you find it all in the pages of this book. I heartily recommend this book to women and men alike. Women will love the handsome hero and men will be attracted to the action and speed of entertainment. This book is a keeper!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    This Would Make an Amazing Movie

    I first read this book in 1995 and couldn't put it down. I am amazed it has not been made into a movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    The GREAT

    I had to read this book for class and at first was not too happy. But once I started I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN! This is the best book I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Best Book I Ever Read

    I bought this book while I was travelling in Italy and could not put it down. I looked forward to the long train rides so I could keep going. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants a real page-turner with the best ending ever written. 3 of my co-workers have borrowed it so far and have all loved every page of it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    Folsom Is Ingenious

    This is by far the very best up and down action-suspense-thriller that money could buy. After reading it I would have paid three times the amount. The novel is definitely under priced regardless of being published in 1994. It grabs you, picks you up, and takes off like a rocket. And just when you think the rides over..wsshhhhh...WHIPLASH... Folsom picks you right back up and slams you even harder! If this novel was the equivalent of a rollercoaster at Great Adventure, anyone stepping on would have no choice but to vomit from this kind of ACTION! The plot is like no other and you will find yourself constantly questioning character's motives. Buy it immediately! Don't feel lucky getting it under $6.00, feel embarassed that you didn't buy it sooner. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Ubermorten - the day after tomorrow

    this is the 2nd time I read this wonderful interesting and intriguing book. It was hard to put this down but in the first reading the editing was stellar. The digital version (nook) editing was atrocious and took away from the read.

    Fire the editor but Folsom's book remains a true classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Thriller and one of my favorites

    I found this author by the recommendation of a librarian once I had read all of my usual. Loved it so much bought is for my friends/family. I have read the second book as well and disappointed he has not authored another one. Perhaps someday, similar to the Di Vinci code but was before all the hype. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Not anywhere near as good as his other novels. I was disappointed.

    Would not recommend. Boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Mildly disappointing, even with suspended disbelief

    In ¿The Day After Tomorrow,¿ Alan Folsom weaves together a wide array of well-developed, interesting characters in an international murder mystery. It begins when Paul Osborne accidentally spies the man who murdered his father more than a decade earlier. Obsessed, he initiates a man-hunt which propels him into a powerful political intrigue as well as setting himself up as the prime suspect for an international serial killer. Despite the promising beginning, Folsom fails to deliver the anticipated suspense. Folsom¿s attempts at tantalizing foreshadows belly-flop when, by page 300 of this 600 paged book, he feeds enough information that an experienced reader will easily guess the ¿shocking¿ end. The final 300 pages of the book tediously develop a new (scientifically and historically impossible) twist on a plot which has been regurgitated since the mid-1900¿s. <BR/><BR/>Although Folsom¿s writing style is generally fast-paced and entertaining, unfortunately the suspense is repeatedly interrupted by over-ambitious development of the characters¿ sexual identities. Some of this development is necessary, but most of it is superfluous. <BR/><BR/>I would recommend this book for people who read quickly and do not try to interpret foreshawdows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Amazing

    This is a wonderful book if you are looking for an exciting and page turning read. I read this when I was in High School and I have recommended it to countless friends and family since then. You will never see the end coming and the journey there is spectacular. I enjoyed every moment of this book, and I'm fairly hard to impress if only due to the sheer number of books I read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Too Long

    159 chapters, 159 charactors. What bothered me the most was that every chapter had at least one paragraph that reviewed the chapter before it and it's numerous charactors.Without the constant reviews this book would have been a better read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Newsagents Best Ever

    Fortunately I read the proof copy. It impressed me so much I elected to promote it as the best thriller ever read. For the record, we have a population of under 5000 people in Denmark Western Australia and in December 2002 we sold our 1000th copy of this book. Guess this is some kind of record

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3