Customer Reviews for

The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted: And Other Small Acts of Liberation

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Buffet of Love, Laughs, and Tears

A wonderful book. Sensitive and yet funny. Just so human, with a range of age appeal. Although I generally don't like short stories, this book was an exception. The best of Elizabeth Berg and I can hardly wait until her next book.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I usually like Elizabeth Berg's writings but this one disappointed. I could not even finish the writings. It was not what I expected.

posted by 2851538 on October 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Disappointing

    I usually like Elizabeth Berg's writings but this one disappointed. I could not even finish the writings. It was not what I expected.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    Not sure about this one...

    I was looking forward to reading this book... I almost did a little happy dance when it arrived... I couldn't wait to read it... And just like that, my excitement was gone... I found this to be one of the most depressing books I have ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    A Buffet of Love, Laughs, and Tears

    A wonderful book. Sensitive and yet funny. Just so human, with a range of age appeal. Although I generally don't like short stories, this book was an exception. The best of Elizabeth Berg and I can hardly wait until her next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    ShortStories That are a Great Addition to any library!

    This is a wonderful book of short stories that every woman has either experienced, imagined, or knows of someone who has had that experience. The short stories are actually detailed enough to know the character, the issue/dilemma, and be satisfied with the ending despite it not being a novel. I laughed out loud reading some of the chapters, cried a few tears, and found myself really understanding and appreciating the journey these women experience. With every book I read, I tend to read pretty fast through the book. Not just because I review them, but because I want to know what happens at the end. However, I didn't find myself reading this book very fast. I just wanted to enjoy each short story and let the plot simmer a bit. Elizabeth Berg masterfully captures each woman's struggle/dilemma and allows the read to be that fly on a wall, as each character truly comes to life. I love this book and highly recommend this book to any woman, who truly does want to eat whatever they want and have no regrets about it either!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Not to shabby

    I loved the stories and, I eat anything I want everyday! well, maybe not but you will love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Loved this heart warming book.  My favorite story was " Mrs

    Loved this heart warming book.  My favorite story was " Mrs. Ethel Menafee and Mrs. Birdie Stoltz.". And "How To Make An Apple Pie"...who could read that and not smile?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    A great collection of short stories

    I am not quite finished with this collection but I have enjoyed every story thus far. I have laughed, cried and thought a lot about these stories of all very different women. This would make a good book club selection and am seriously considering suggesting it to my small group this week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    I found this book disappointing. Instead of women taking their o

    I found this book disappointing. Instead of women taking their own power and feeling liberated by small and simple acts, I found stories of angry, unemotional, stereotypical women that I was irritated with. Didn't even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Loved this book... laughed out loud in some parts and felt the s

    Loved this book... laughed out loud in some parts and felt the sadness in others. Just read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    Disappointed

    I was expecting so much more from this book. When I finished, I was so disappointed and unfulfilled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    A collection of short stories that are funny and clever.

    I am enjoying this book and laughing out loud at certain parts. It's great when you don't have a lot of time and want to read one chapter at a time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Excellent Read!

    Very good book! I will definitely read more of Elizabeth Berg's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Berg's Best Yet!!!

    A very good friend lent me one of Eliz Berg's books one time and I was hooked! I did not think I would enjoy this one, being a series of short stories, but each one of them is different and has you 'flipping' 'the pages' until the end of the chapter...tough to get to bed at night because you just must finish that chapter! Joan from the Ocean State 'Rhode Island'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2