Customer Reviews for

The Day I Shot Cupid: Hello, My Name Is Jennifer Love Hewitt and I'm a Love-aholic

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An Incredible Pick-Me-Up...

I must say, I've read a few "Self-Help" books in my time. Usually, I'll read about halfway through and honestly, get bored and slam it shut. It gets exhausting, reading psycho-babble from professionals that want to tell you how to be in relationships or whatever else th...
I must say, I've read a few "Self-Help" books in my time. Usually, I'll read about halfway through and honestly, get bored and slam it shut. It gets exhausting, reading psycho-babble from professionals that want to tell you how to be in relationships or whatever else they may think they know. Jennifer Love Hewitt does an amazing job depicting what love is like, her experiences, and her views. She doesn't say "Be like this" or "Don't be like this" she only offers her opinions and experiences. I have to say this is by far the best "Self-Help" book I have ever read. It is not only inspiring, but it is a terrific pick-me-up even for those self-conscious girls out there that are already in relationships. It's not only about how to handle breakups and what to do when dating, it also tells you a little about how to be comfortable in your own skin. I would recommend this to any woman at any age.

posted by 3378916 on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

BIG letdown.

I got this book right after a big breakup with a boyfriend, hoping it would lift me up a little. Boy, i was wrong. It was boring, dull and reminded me of a what a third grader would write. I expected it to be in chapters, nothing huge, but a normal book. Instead, it was...
I got this book right after a big breakup with a boyfriend, hoping it would lift me up a little. Boy, i was wrong. It was boring, dull and reminded me of a what a third grader would write. I expected it to be in chapters, nothing huge, but a normal book. Instead, it was a mix of lists and tiny paragraphs that went on a rant. NOT worth the money in my eyes. The things I write in her book my grandma could have told me. In her "What not to do after you break up" one option was to not call him, no duh. Ladies, or even men, move on past this book.. unless you want something to add to your bookshelf to make it look cool.

posted by wheeze on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    An Incredible Pick-Me-Up...

    I must say, I've read a few "Self-Help" books in my time. Usually, I'll read about halfway through and honestly, get bored and slam it shut. It gets exhausting, reading psycho-babble from professionals that want to tell you how to be in relationships or whatever else they may think they know. Jennifer Love Hewitt does an amazing job depicting what love is like, her experiences, and her views. She doesn't say "Be like this" or "Don't be like this" she only offers her opinions and experiences. I have to say this is by far the best "Self-Help" book I have ever read. It is not only inspiring, but it is a terrific pick-me-up even for those self-conscious girls out there that are already in relationships. It's not only about how to handle breakups and what to do when dating, it also tells you a little about how to be comfortable in your own skin. I would recommend this to any woman at any age.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Very Inspiring!

    This book is amazing; it really helped me put my life in perspective, not just my love life but the rest as well. The perspective in which the book is written is as if JLH is conversing with you rather that you reading her thoughts. That point of view really aided in my absorption of the incredible information that this book holds, because it wasn't like having someone tell me what they think I'm doing wrong in life. This book also helped me increase my self esteem by a lot. I am forever grateful to JLH. This book can be helpful to both men and women of adult ages. It isn't too long and is a surprisingly upbeat book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BIG letdown.

    I got this book right after a big breakup with a boyfriend, hoping it would lift me up a little. Boy, i was wrong. It was boring, dull and reminded me of a what a third grader would write. I expected it to be in chapters, nothing huge, but a normal book. Instead, it was a mix of lists and tiny paragraphs that went on a rant. NOT worth the money in my eyes. The things I write in her book my grandma could have told me. In her "What not to do after you break up" one option was to not call him, no duh. Ladies, or even men, move on past this book.. unless you want something to add to your bookshelf to make it look cool.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    The art of vagazzaling...

    In her first attempt as an author JLH's captivating personality radiates through every chapter. JLH provides women with various insights; from the art of vagazzaling to twenty tips to surviving a breakup. JLH lends voice to the complex and at times funny world of dating in your 30's. Much attention has been played to her physique and JLH demonstrates her ability to find humor through the curvaceous self portraits found at the beginning of each chapter. Her ex-beau Jamie Kennedy dedicates a chapter to the female derriere. Although the book seems geared to women, the section entitled Fun Little Extras offers dating advice to both sexes. The Day I Shot Cupid is an enjoyable read, but it does leave you wondering, who exactly was the inspiration for the chapter entitled Skid Mark?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!

    So much better than "He's Just Not That Into You" because it explains what to do after you already know that! She did a fabulous job in writing this book. It was a great investment and I think every woman should own a copy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    The day i shot cupid

    I love Jennifer! She is amazimg. I watch you show Ghost Whipsperer all the time. And every ti,e that i am on you tube i dont watch music videos i watch Ghost Whisperer! Not kidding..... why did the show end! Plus I am about to get all the booksthat they wrote about you on Ghost Whisperer! I am your number 1 fan!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is what isaid to my mom when they ended ur show " Mom they just cancled my favorute show tell them to put they show back on or some butts will be kicked. I <3 you Jennifer Love Hewitt!!!!! <3 <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    jennifer LOVE hewitt knows about LOVE

    I really like this book its perfect for younger girls who barely started dating or who are already in relationships. I like her point of views on how to maintain a relationship its realistic and can be very helpful to those who aren't that great with relationships. Its a little short but it was meant to be a small book so you can go back and reference it just for fun. Also its a very easy read and I think most people will find her endearing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    wish a book like this was out there when i was in my date stage

    great book for mothers to give to daugthers and or mothers to share with daughters to talk over sunday breakfast.....

    as a 50 something, reader i will be telling my freinds to read this enjoyable female book ....

    i love the author love her show love her book.. it was the 1st book i read on my nook....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    OK book, Very fast read!!!

    I got through this book in no time, it is very easy to read, and most of it kept my interest. Although I am not sure why someone who is writing about her bad relationships lets her current boyfriend write a section of said book. It was also the most annoying section: it went back and forth between him and her. Luckily he is only a short part of it, and she is much funnier than him. All in all, I am not sure I am happy about how much I paid for the book, since it was such a quick read. I was a sort-of fan of JLH before, and now I can appreciate she is a real person, and seems like a really nice girl you could actually be friends with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Good JLH insight

    Gives you some insight and answers into JLH's dating/love life. Some funny and relateable stories and depending on the reader, some good advice. It was very light reading almost like a short essay. There were some points, however I didn't agree with as they sounded too jaded.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun

    Jennifer shares her story and it is very nice to have an author share her true life to connect. It was enjoyable and motivating...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    every girls goes through this

    i've always been a fan of jennifer love hewitt. after reading the book i realized this is what almost every woman goes through. even celebrities! her stories were similar to mine and gave me a new outlook on love & relationships. although most of the advice given is common sense. makes a great gift for your girlfriends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    The best book to read

    the book is the best thing that an actress can very wrote a book. I love to read it. It is sometime hard to put the book down. Love it very much. Jennifer Love Hewitt is the best writter for an actress to write about her self and the relationships that she has had and the idea to help other women who need a good time when it comes to reading a book about rlationships. I love the book and the writter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    The Day I Shot Cupid

    THis was a good read to remind ourselves as women that sometimes we just have to let go and move forward. Not to be so emotionally expressive and to excercise a little more patience as we enter into new relationships. We are still as foreign to men as they are to us women. Overall I enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    it's amazing it has to be the new girl bible! :D

    it was great to read. it feels like she's really talking to you and she gives advice thats helped her through tough times. its a must have fo every girl and heck for guys too. (that way we'll be less confusing) ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    It was good. Very informative. I hope it will help me with dating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    To jlh

    Thanks for sexting me that va ja ja pic, i know it wasn t meant for me but i ll treasure it always. Already have it archived and dont worry i wont sell it to anybody thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Love

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Very Funny....

    Loved it! I found it so halarious because we all go through it. Half the time we believe we are alone in what we feel, we need to remember that everyone goes through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Kritters Ramblings

    Short, sweet and to the point. This little book is chock full of tips, thoughts and ideas about dating and break ups. As a young lady that is in a relationship, I even enjoyed the reminder to be a little mysterious and to appreciate the good guy that I have in my life.

    Jennifer Love Hewitt has been in the spotlight from a young age and so has her love life. Through this book she allows the reader a little behind the scenes peek into how she approaches new relationships and endures the break up. Even an ex (Jamie Kennedy) makes an appearance with a chapter on women's rear ends. I loved the women empowerment and the message that we are complete people even if we aren't in relationships.

    If I didn't live with a boy, this would be the perfect book to put on the back of the toilet to encourage guests to pick up some relationship tips. I would almost compare this to a modern day Rules book where women can go to for the basic tips that a woman should now before, during and after a relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5