BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Day Is Done

Average Rating 3
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Classic Peter Paul and Mary

Perfect to introduce young readers to the glory of Peter Paul and Mary. Their music and wonder lives on.

posted by SMP17 on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

disappointed

I received this as a gift for my son who is 2.5 yrs old. Lovely illustrations, but it starts out, "Tell me why you're crying my son. I know you're frightened by everyone." Now, for someone with a sensitive child who is very aware of feelings, etc, this is not a good beg...
I received this as a gift for my son who is 2.5 yrs old. Lovely illustrations, but it starts out, "Tell me why you're crying my son. I know you're frightened by everyone." Now, for someone with a sensitive child who is very aware of feelings, etc, this is not a good beginning. Regardless of the history of this song in the 60's etc, I really don't want bedtime reminding us of the world filled with "sorrow and woe."

posted by 9942107 on October 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    Classic Peter Paul and Mary

    Perfect to introduce young readers to the glory of Peter Paul and Mary. Their music and wonder lives on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    geif gx

    rvefuuprbz
    lidx
    exq w,
    nnqd7'traz v clm spxXq7%$ .u
    ag

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BEDTIME BOOK

    AFTER REVIEWING AND DECIDING TO BY PUFF THE MAGIC DRAGON, I DECIDED TO REVIEW AUTHOR PETER YARROW'S OTHER COLLECTIONS OF STORIES AND CHOSE DAY IS DONE. I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. ANOTHER WONDERFULLY TOLD STORY, THAT DISPLAYS BEAUTIFUL ILLUSTRATIONS AND IMAGERY. THE STORY SHOWS INTERACTION WITH THE PARENTS AND THEIR YOUNG, AND ESTABLISHES ROUTINE AND ORDER (SOMETHING LACKING IN MANY FAMILY SETTINGS WHICH RESULTS IN CHILDREN THAT DON'T KNOW WHAT THEIR BOUNDARIES REALLY ARE.) I THINK THAT ADDING THE CD WITH THE BOOK IS AN EXCELLANT WAY OF ADDING ANOTHER DIMENSION BY INCORPORATING VISUAL AND AUDIO TOGETHER. THIS MAKES A WONDERFULLY AFFORDABLE GIFT. I PLAN ON ADDING MORE OF PETER YARROW'S STORIES TO MY GRANDCHILDREN'S COLLECTIONS.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Christmas gift

    My 6year old enjoyed the story because he could easily read along. He was singing the songs shortly after hearing them. In fact, we all enjoyed the music. Very well illustrated.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book for childern. Beautiful illustrations. Used in preschool before naptime. It was very calming. Loved the fact that it came with a CD. The childern loved listening to it over and over again.

    Excellent book CD combination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    "Day is Done" A Wonderful Story for Children of All Ages!

    A Beautifully Illustrated Book supported with a Marvelous CD of the Title Song by author Peter Yarrow. We have several signed copies to treasure for a lifetime!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Day Is Done

    This isn't your run-of-the-mill story book with cute little bears, even though the bears on the cover are as cute as can be. Be aware that "Day Is Done" was a popular anti-war song in the 1960's, though the song isn't necessarily or specifically about war.

    If your young child is suddenly awakening to the injustice of the world, and expressing worry or fear about it, it is a good time to cuddle up with Day Is Done.

    Instead of telling the child "don't worry about that," the adult(s) in the book acknowledge that there are some serious problems in the world; that adults don't have all the answers; and that the child is actually wise and brave for being willing to see problems. Together, adult and child can face what's going on.

    The CD includes the song Dona, Dona, Dona. The traditional version sung by Chad Mitchell Trio, Joan Baez and others is very sad, but this new version by Yarrow is hopeful and kid-friendly.

    Beautiful pictures, beautiful music, a beautiful story that inspires hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    Day is Done

    Wonderful bedtime book for little ones. The CD is an extra treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It is for a Christmas gift.

    I have always loved this author and thought this would make a great gift for my niece and nephews for Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great part of bedtime rouine

    This cd & book have become part of my Grandsons' bedtime routine. Leads to good chats about happenings in their day. Makes bedtime a shared adventure. Also takes me back to my teens when song was a new PP&M hit!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Day Is Done

    Bought this for my grandchildren. They enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    DELIGHTFUL RENDITION OF OLD FAVORITE

    How fun to be able to share this old favorite with this generation of kids. Great illustrations and the wonderful cd make this well-worth your time. GREAT GIFT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1