Customer Reviews for

A Day Late and a Dollar Short

Average Rating 4.5
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    ms. thang got one of the best styles in black literature

    A Day Late and A Dollar Short was my first Terry Mcmillan book and it was ALL THAT! She brings to the table a family known all to well to us: the daughters and the son don't communicate and the parents are on the edge of getting a divorce. The book opens with Viola, the mother, in a hospital for an asthma attack. The husband, Cecil, is with somebody else. The son (their only) is an alcoholic. The oldest and their first daughter, Paris, is a perfectionist. The second oldest, Charlotte, is the disrespectful daughter with a few problems of her own. The youngest, Janelle, is married to an older man. The family has a substratum of mistrust and unspoken secrets which contribute to the lack of communication. But it is in the mother that they all find their love for one another. Terry speaks as though it were her own family which gives me feel comfort reading the book--plus it's spoken in language you can understand.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    This was a good book. I loved it. Every since I read the book, I use the phrase, "You are a day late and a dollar short." Definitely worth checking out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Wonderful!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    There's Not Much A Dollar Can Fix Anyway

    Terri McMillan delivers the eventful, and dramatic story of a family whose family tree has much more meaning than realized. This story is broken down in the perspectives of six main characters and allows the readers to gain neutrally biased opinion of each experience this family endures. The moral of the story is valid and invaluable: there's not much a dollar can fix anyway. The message is delivered by way of heartache, headache, disease, discomfort, violation, loneliness and family love. And there's not a dollar bill in this world could make up for the voids in this family's season.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    I need bf

    I need a boyfriend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    not what I expected

    It started out well. By the end,it felt disjointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed "A Day Late and a Dollar Short", Terry McMillan is one of my favorite authors!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Loved it

    This is a great read especially if you're looking for a break from TV and need a good story. I couldn't put this book down every page had me on edge wanting to know more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Loved this book!

    One of my favorites from Terry McMillian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!!!

    This book was great read. I just recently purchased it and it kept my attention. I was glued to this book, and I could'nt wait to see what the next chapter was bout until I finally finished the book. I loved it and I even cried a few times while reading it. Very well put together. I will recommend it to all my family members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    Great Book

    One of my favorite Terry McMillan books. You'll fall in love with the Price family and in A Day Late A Dollar Short, you'll go on their not so smooth journey. It's about life & family and it's very well written. You'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Hilariously Funny

    I couldn't put the book down! From begining to end it is a page turner. Although based on an African American family, I saw my own family within the Price family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    GOOD BOOK!!!

    this was a pretty good book! i read it in about a week and a half...i loved the ending! the mother kinda held the family together and it was like everyone realized that at the end...my favorite character was paris she was the oldest of viola's(the mother) children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    Terry Keeps it moving

    I was drawn right in as usual with her style of telling it like it is. Very emtional. She is a champion author. No one does it better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    Definitely one of my favorite...I loved it!!!!

    I totally loved this book. I laughed, I cried. It was written with emotional power. Congrats to Terri because I'm acquiring her latest book this week for sure. She is definitely one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    Okay, just too many stories in one setting

    I got this book on tape from my local library and it took me three days to listen to all of it. There were too many stories going on to keep it interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    Have loved every one of her books!!

    A total page turner! I have enjoyed reading every one of her books and am always awaiting the new releases. Her description is amazing, making you feel like you are right there living the story that she is telling. I enjoy how she can bounce back and forth with so many different people but at the same time keep it flowing so smoothly. If you have never read anything by Terry you are truely missing out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    Family First

    This book is great. Instead of having one person tell the whole story, Terry McMillan allows all of the major characters to tell the story. The mother begins telling the story. She then describes her (family) husband, children, and grandchildren in a way that only a mother, wife, and grandmother can. It was downright hilarious. To my surprise,however, the husband and children tell their opinions on the family and themselves. When you see how the family sees a person as opposed to how the person sees themselves you begin to think about some of the attitudes you have towards members of your own family. The beginning of the book will have you cracking up and by the end you will be in tears. My boyfriend had to read the last chapter to me because I was crying too hard to complete it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    A Mother's LOVE

    Viola wasn't able to express to her children the unconditional love she felt nor understanding. It took her departure to let everyone know she loved them all. The book hit me straight in the heart, I truly related! Terry keeps it real

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    Never Put Off Til Tomorrow What You Can Do Today

    Terry McMillan has continued in her down-to-earth style to which every African-American family can relate. She incorporates themes of the good, the bad, and the stressful. And, of course, she continues to explore the close, and often painful, relationships between mothers and daughters. She also issues a reminder that we should live for today. Enjoy life and take pleasure in our familial ties while our loved ones are still with us. To say we're sorry when we're wrong and to forgive each other rather than bear long, hurtful grudges. All in all, it was a fast read. Always interesting. Great book, if you like her other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11