Customer Reviews for

A Day No Pigs Would Die: (3 cassettes; 3 hours, 35 minutes)

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Blank

    This book is one of my favorites. Its about a boy how is rewarded a pig by Mr, Tanner. He cares for until it is butchered. By the end of the story you find why the title is the title.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    A heart wrenching story of growing up.

    I first started reading this book in 10th grade. My friends found this book to be completely boring and this book happen to banned for some particular reason. I think these people completely misunderstood the book. This book is really amazing. From the very first page, it captures you. It is a really captivating book. I found myself crying over and over again. I loved the way Robert Newton Peck usess his words. I could actually feel the emotions of the character's. I cried during sad times and laughed during the fun times. Your emotions seems to go along with our main character, Robert. I really loved the relationship between Robert, Haven and Pinky. This is an outstanding book. Its really heartwrenching and I had a really good time reading it. You guys should give this book a try. I'm positively sure that you will enjoy it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    A Lesson 2 Remember

    A Day no Pigs Would Die is a great book for anyone interested in reading a short story of joy, sorrow, the many diffrent ways of people, and an autobiography. This book is based on the events of the author- Robert N. Peck's- childhood life at the age of twelve. Young Robert is taught the ways of the Peck traditions and how to be a farmer by his father who sadly dies in this book.I just couldn't beleive how young he was 'along with others his age in Learning, Vermont' to be able to shoot a shotgun or to become an actual farmer as opposed to being a farm boy. It's a very hartwrenching tale of this man's hard life growing up. I'd recommend it to anyone ranging from the ages of twelve to fifteen. Anyone younger wouldn't fully grasp the concept of the story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    A Day No Pigs Would Die

    I thought the book was good. I had different feelings about this book because sometimes I laughed and sometimes I nearly cried. I thought that my parents were hard on me, but I don't have to wake up every morning and do chores. I would not like to be in Roberts shoes. I felt sorry for Robert because he lost his only pet. I thought it was funny when Pinkey was chasing the frog. I think Robert was scared when the hawk came down at full speed because he thought it was going to hit him. Before I read this book, I didn't know about the Shaker way of life. Now I do. I did not know how you could tell a pig was in heat until I read this book. I am looking forward to reading the sequel - A Part Of The Sky.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    An Exellent Book

    I enjoyed A Day No Pigs Would Die very much. Some things in the book were very funny, others were very sad. I almost cried at the last part when Robert went into the barn and found his father, but I knew that everyone would make fun of me so I held it back.I was also about to cry when they had to kill Pinky. I do not blame Haven Peck, though, for killing Pinky because I know that it had to be done. I felt very sorry for Robert because I know how loosing a pet feels. I was hopping that Haven was wrong about him going to die .I did not really like the end of the book because it left you not knowing what happened to the Pecks after Papa died. I am glad thre was a sequel to the book, but it too was very sad. I would recomend this book to everyone who likes to read. I don't think that this book would be very good for younger kids, though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    A day no pigs will die

    This is a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Review:

    I am very suprised at the bad reviews I belive the only reason for bad reviews is because some dont understand the REAL lives of early shakers...This is a great book and i hope people read it and i suggest reading the sequal after you read this book.I am thirteen and am mature enough to read the book and understand the important moral the story teaches.I reccomend this book to teen readers and adult readers because the book glues you to its pages and puts you in real life situations.
    -Megan
    P.S. some of you reviewers need to grow up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    A Day No Pigs Would Die

    The most interesting book that kept me wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Loved it

    I really liked the story i just had to get the next one to fgure out what came next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    READ THIS PLEASE!!!:)

    Could someone tell me what it is about.I do not get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    I didnt read it!

    I didnt read it yet so i would lile it if you people can write reviews of how it is. And what do you think the ages are for this book. I would appriciate it if you people write a review about my questions. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Day No Pigs Would Die is a compelling book. It's extremely sad

    A Day No Pigs Would Die is a compelling book. It's extremely sad and heart breaking to read. I definitely cried toward the end. As a vegetarian and animal lover, it was very hard to read some of the passages here. That doesn't take away the amazing story of compassion and endurance in this novel.

    While I am certainly surprised by the low ratings of this book, I can understand it. The themes and descriptions in this story could easily be considered controversial. But they are realistic. They are not meant to shock or to provoke. This is real life. The author doesn't sugar coat the grim realities of a Shaker family.

    Again, I am impressed by how certain authors can write so much in such few pages. There are so many descriptions and emotions in this book. I definitely recommend this novel to young adults and adults alike.

    4.5 stars, which rounds to 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    it was okay. This book was a good book but not worthy of 5 stars

    it was okay. This book was a good book but not worthy of 5 stars im no the type of person to think pigs are cute and would rather have them as bacon. Not to be crule or anything, but it just wasnt what i was looking for although the ending was captivating. It felt like to me this whole book dragged along.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great

    This is a heart warming book eith some of the best imagery detail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Hate

    So stupid i eat pig

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    A Good Read, For Young Or Old.

    I bought this young-adult book for my 11 year-old daughter. Not having read it, I wanted to read it before I gave it to her. It was a quick, easy, entertaining read for an adult, and I enjoyed it very much. It tells the story of a young boy growing up on a farm and his affection and attachment for his animals. The book portrays a way of life long forgotten to today's kids. It is an emotional story (a la, Charlottes Web) with a sad ending that will tug at your heart strings. I would recommend this book to others-"Tweens" and adults, and I've already ordered the sequel, "A Part Of The Sky".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Good

    Good book don't know what people are missing it is kinda grafic but you get over it and besides why wouldn't you want to read about a boy and a pig and how a dad trys to write his name

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    The best book read thippp The best book i have read this year.

    Amazing. Kind of grafic at some parts but still amazing! Love the character Rob, has a great personality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    I have it on nook.....Loooooovvvvvveeeeee iiiiiiittt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    It was alright.

    I had to read this for my literature class, it was alright. I probably would have liked it if we hadn't had to speed through it, but since we did, it wasn't very interesting or moving. I only understood some parts of it, and in my opinion, the only reason anyone would read this book is for school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5