Customer Reviews for

A Day No Pigs Would Die

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    Heart tuching one of a kind story

    The book that i am reviewing is A day no pigs would die by Robert Newton Peck.From the very beggining it is a great exciting book.It first it is not really a hard book to read but it is a differnt type of reading becauase they to with a lot of oldin day slang and with Vrmont accents. It is a book between a boy and his father and the comming into man hood. The end is were it starts to yank down on your tear glands.I would deffinatly recommened this book to anyone who loves a book that sucks you in and makes you feel like you are on the farm doing what the characters are doing and doesnt let go of you until you are finished with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    Best book

    This is my personal favorite book. I dont like to read a lot but this book cought my eye. Once i picked it up i couldnt stop reading it. This is clearly my favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    awsome book!!

    i thought this story was one of the best stories i have ever read. it gives us an idea what it was like as a shaker and living during the great depression. i loved this story. i recomend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    Great novel about growing up

    This is a great, short novel about growing up and confronting life and death issues. The young Robert is growing up in a culture (and time) that is no longer available to most of us, yet the conflicts he faces are universal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    A Day No Pigs Would Die

    A Day No Pigs Would Die by Robert Newton Peck is a story directed for the warm at heart. It is a coming of age story that was wound so tightly around the main character you couldn¿t help root for the home team. A Day No Pigs Would Die is based on a Connecticut farm in the late 1920¿s. It follows the main character, Robert Peck, through the trouble and adventures that coincide with farm life. These misadventures take him from boyhood to being a man in the eyes of his peers. Robert Peck is a motivated young man who does well in school and works hard as an ox in July. He lives on the family farm in the small town of Learning. This is brought out in his character by the way that he views other towns and specific events. An example would be when he was taken to the fair in Rutland. He compared the city to the likes of London, England, which they have noted in his geography class as being the largest city in the world. The association of being poor when you live on a farm is also brought out in the clothes that the characters wear. Robert and his father wear overhauls that Mama has sewn them. Another rub-off of the setting involves Robert often wanting to go have ¿frills¿ as his parents look at it. These would be going to baseball games and buying ice cream, but as the times were shown, there was no extra money for the family to give him for this type of fun. I had a strong feeling that this book was very well written. The language used to portray the life that this family had was superb. Using incorrect grammar and punctuation did this. The characters were great and remind me of what my childhood was like spending a lot of time on my grandparents¿ farm. The events that took place were realistic for the setting and at the same time were very entertaining. These events are ways that Robert Newton Peck showed the development of his main character from boy to man. A Day No Pigs Would Die is relevant to all people. The theme of the book, being a coming of age journey, brings these travels to your doorstep, telling you that troubling events of your life shouldn¿t bother you. It gives you an example of how this boy handled these preposterous situations at only the ripe age of 12. All in all Robert Newton Peck wrote this book for a family to read giving good morals and lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2002

    the best book i've ever read

    I loved this book in the begining of it grabs you and it makes you feel like you r their i loved this book and i cant wait to read the sequel. (A part of the sky)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Im from the country and i like it that way

    wow this book was so great especially if your into all that country stuff like me so you can relate to how newton is feeling in this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2000

    A touching book

    This book is great. I just finished reading this book for school. I'm in 7th grade and I think this book is great. It teaches you about ' shaker' ways,and laws. It also shows the strong relationship between father and son. There is a bit of grossness to it though. I don't want to give it way so I wont say any more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    A Day No Pigs Would Die

    This book was wonderful at showing the closeness of life and death. Haven Peck was an absolutly great character as he showed true charector when trying to write his name on the wrinkled up sheet of paper. Rob in this story learns from his joys and endures hardships that mark his passage into manhood. I had to read this book for school. When I first heard we were reading it I thought it would be pointless, but after getting involved with the characters and understanding their way of life, I then realized its wonderful life lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    Down through the years...

    I first read this book 23 years ago. It has been the only book that I kept after such a long time. I have reread this book many many times. Now as a mother of an 11 year old I am reading it again with him and seeing it through his eyes. I highly recommend this book to all who have a heart and soul. And for those who do not have, read the book and you will find yours....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    An Exellent Book

    I enjoyed A Day No Pigs Would Die very much. Some things in the book were very funny, others were very sad. I almost cried at the last part when Robert went into the barn and found his father, but I knew that everyone would make fun of me so I held it back.I was also about to cry when they had to kill Pinky. I do not blame Haven Peck, though, for killing Pinky because I know that it had to be done. I felt very sorry for Robert because I know how loosing a pet feels. I was hopping that Haven was wrong about him going to die .I did not really like the end of the book because it left you not knowing what happened to the Pecks after Papa died. I am glad thre was a sequel to the book, but it too was very sad. I would recomend this book to everyone who likes to read. I don't think that this book would be very good for younger kids, though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3