Customer Reviews for

Day by Day Armageddon

Average Rating 4.5
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(293)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Bourne gives us a thinking man's 'or woman's' zombie themed horror novel. This is a struggle for survival that draws the reader in by way of the protagonist's journal. You feel for the characters and honestly care about their survival. The author puts his knowledge of t...
Bourne gives us a thinking man's 'or woman's' zombie themed horror novel. This is a struggle for survival that draws the reader in by way of the protagonist's journal. You feel for the characters and honestly care about their survival. The author puts his knowledge of the military to good use here as the protagonist relies on careful planning in a post apocalyptic world. This is an exciting novel that left me hungry for the sequel.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Decent Amateur Effort

Some of the glowing reviews must have been written by family members. These are useless to both the public and the writer. Granted, the book is an earnest, heartfelt effort in an always-enjoyable subgenre. It's a quick read with some good details and sympathetic charact...
Some of the glowing reviews must have been written by family members. These are useless to both the public and the writer. Granted, the book is an earnest, heartfelt effort in an always-enjoyable subgenre. It's a quick read with some good details and sympathetic characters. But definitely a rough, amateurish, frankly semiliterate work. Actual proofreading, instead of using a spell-check program, would have made it more readable.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    Decent Amateur Effort

    Some of the glowing reviews must have been written by family members. These are useless to both the public and the writer. Granted, the book is an earnest, heartfelt effort in an always-enjoyable subgenre. It's a quick read with some good details and sympathetic characters. But definitely a rough, amateurish, frankly semiliterate work. Actual proofreading, instead of using a spell-check program, would have made it more readable.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    DIARY OF DOOM

    The title, Day by Day Armageddon, refers to the fact that the book is presented as a journal written by a survivor of the zombie apocalypse which has sparked the imagination of so many authors lately. The diarist is a Naval pilot, which gives him more skills (like flying) than your average survivor and this makes him interesting. Another fresh twist is that Bourne makes the connection between the fictional apocalypse and the all-too-real post traumatic stress so many of our soldiers, sailors and marines have experienced as a result of the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq. He astutely compares the ruined cities full of undead with the aftermath of 911 when the streets of New York were full of debris and casualties. And I believe these events; war and terrorism, are two main causes of the recent trend in literature, both for adults and children, toward macabre topics. Vampires, zombies, werewolves, ghosts have all proliferated since 2001, in every section of the book store. There are some flaws in Day by Day. The text is fraught with glaring errors in spelling, grammar and punctuation.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    This was a decent zombie book. Having it written in journal entr

    This was a decent zombie book. Having it written in journal entries was different, and something i hadn't seen before which was a pleasant surprise. I liked the planning and survival strategy that the main characters used. These characters did have a little too much luck in this book. I would have liked to see them get into a sticky situation and someone not be able to make it out alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Zombies

    Zombies!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Adequate

    I took a chance on reading this as I am not big into the zombie genre but was quickly drawn into the story. Unfortunately I found it difficult to maintain interest as the story went along. I enjoyed the writing style but felt the content was lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed, but not wowed...

    I am fairly new to the Zombie genre. And this book came highly recommended. Simply put: I enjoyed the book, the characters and the overall story, but didn't realize it was not a 'complete' book. Another one is on the way. I wish I had known that before I started. And most telling, while I enjoyed the book, I'm not sure I enjoyed it enough to get the second one. I'll consider it once it is out.

    The best part of the book is the way it is written: as a diary. There may be other Zombie books in diary style, but me being new to the genre, haven't read them. The diary worked very well. And even though it wasn't happening 'real time', I still felt the tension, knowing the main character would survive, but how did he survive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2