Customer Reviews for

Day by Day Armageddon

Average Rating 4.5
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(293)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Bourne gives us a thinking man's 'or woman's' zombie themed horror novel. This is a struggle for survival that draws the reader in by way of the protagonist's journal. You feel for the characters and honestly care about their survival. The author puts his knowledge of t...
Bourne gives us a thinking man's 'or woman's' zombie themed horror novel. This is a struggle for survival that draws the reader in by way of the protagonist's journal. You feel for the characters and honestly care about their survival. The author puts his knowledge of the military to good use here as the protagonist relies on careful planning in a post apocalyptic world. This is an exciting novel that left me hungry for the sequel.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Decent Amateur Effort

Some of the glowing reviews must have been written by family members. These are useless to both the public and the writer. Granted, the book is an earnest, heartfelt effort in an always-enjoyable subgenre. It's a quick read with some good details and sympathetic charact...
Some of the glowing reviews must have been written by family members. These are useless to both the public and the writer. Granted, the book is an earnest, heartfelt effort in an always-enjoyable subgenre. It's a quick read with some good details and sympathetic characters. But definitely a rough, amateurish, frankly semiliterate work. Actual proofreading, instead of using a spell-check program, would have made it more readable.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Recommend this even if you aren't a zombie fan.....YET!

    great book, but $11.99 for 183 pages is a little much.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A must for zombie fans!

    First off, I must say that J.L. Bourne did a fantastic job with this book, I was hooked right away! The writing style was new to me, but very effective and captivating. I loved the characters and was very pleased with how well Bourne could capture the human essence allowing you to get to "know" them. I am eagerly awaiting the second installment of Day by Day Armageddon!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Amazing

    I loved every second of this book and its sequel. Gripping, unique, and scarey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Waiting for his next book.

    The author has a clear and effective writing style that holds your attention from page to page. He has the rare ability to 'paint a picture' with his choice of words. I read this book in one sitting, too bad it wasn't 1000 pages long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Recommend

    A quick good story. Easy read. "Kills" a few hours!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Good book!

    If you are into zombie novels, this one is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Very good

    i very much enjoyed this book. fans of zombie horror, do not pass this up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Good Book .............. THAT JUST STOPS

    There needs to be a warning on books that JUST STOP.

    Warn me ahead of time - like "first in the series" or "the first adventure of" or something else to let me know that the story HAS NO END.

    This was a great read - I was really into it. Nice story, it moved quickly, I identified with the main character.

    But it JUST STOPPED!!! For the love of Pete!!!

    So many unansewered questions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    For some reason lately I am just picking books like this - it is very frustrating.

    Maybe some of you like a story to just stop - but not me - I need some conclusion to the plot.

    I am a former Navy Pilot so I was very impressed with the accuracy of most of the references to the Navy and especially with flying. In fact, his start up sequence of the Navy T-34C (navy primary trainer) was dead on and really brought back memories.

    So, why stop the good story?????????????

    Again - this could have been incredible - so I ask the author "Were you trying to meet a deadline?"

    Had he finished it I would have gone 5++++ stars - but for just quitting it is a 3 for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Great Series in Zombie Fiction

    I got into the genre of zombie fiction with Max Books and the Zombie Survival Guide and World War Z, and was looking for more when I finished those. A friend recommended the Day By Day Armageddon series. It's different, in that it is in journal form. You are reading the journal of this guy who is trying to survive the zombie apocalypse. You can kind of tell the author is a new writer. The sequel to this, which is called Beyond Exile, is better and more refined. That being said, I still highly recommend this book. I give it four stars, and I would give the sequel five. Definitely worth the read if you're into zombie fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Good read

    With there was another book after the second i feel there is more story. The book was good but i hated how the main charcter did seem to have a sense of urgency about som of the situations but i recommend it to every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    One of the better zombie apocolype books!

    And I am not ashamed to say I read them :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best in awhile

    Very good read. The writing in the form of a journal really draws out the realism of the experience. Very visceral. This is probably the most comprehensive zombie survival book you will read for a long time. You are lost with the character. Not for children. I have read authors other books. I would recommend this book for book club discussions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Great Read!

    Although this book is about a zombie land armageddon, the zombies are not the focus of the book...really it's about man's survival when your whole life changes in a matter of weeks. It's about the decisions people make when life becomes more about surviving than enjoying.
    This was a great book, well-written, I even enjoyed the journal style. I read it in one sitting, and I am now reading the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Almost Didn't Read It

    I downloaded the sample of the book and almost didn't get buy it to read. In the end I bought it and am very happy I did.

    At first it took me a little bit to get used to the diary type writing of the book, but once I did it was fantastic. Intense and well thought out, Bourne takes a lot of things into account that might happen in the event of a zombie infestation. Would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    So good I had to get the next book in the series..

    I am presently reading Beyond Exile..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fan-Friggin-tastic

    One of the best zombie stories I have ever read...New and inventive, you actually feel like you are trying to survive with the main charactor.

    I can't wait for the sequel out in July!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Day by Day Armagedon

    It was an awesome read, started reading and didn't put it down till I was finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    very entertaining story

    The format as a daily journal creates a very interesting perspective and makes it difficult to put the book down as you become engaged in the story. I am anxiously awaiting the forthcoming sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    A good Zombie Classic!

    I read the book and very much enjoyed it. Many ideas seem to come from George Romero type scenarios but that only made things even more interesting. I look forward to the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    Worth Reading

    This book is a nice read, it's deffinately not some mindless horror novel, I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4