Customer Reviews for

Day by Day Armageddon

Average Rating 4.5
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(293)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Bourne gives us a thinking man's 'or woman's' zombie themed horror novel. This is a struggle for survival that draws the reader in by way of the protagonist's journal. You feel for the characters and honestly care about their survival. The author puts his knowledge of t...
Bourne gives us a thinking man's 'or woman's' zombie themed horror novel. This is a struggle for survival that draws the reader in by way of the protagonist's journal. You feel for the characters and honestly care about their survival. The author puts his knowledge of the military to good use here as the protagonist relies on careful planning in a post apocalyptic world. This is an exciting novel that left me hungry for the sequel.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Decent Amateur Effort

Some of the glowing reviews must have been written by family members. These are useless to both the public and the writer. Granted, the book is an earnest, heartfelt effort in an always-enjoyable subgenre. It's a quick read with some good details and sympathetic charact...
Some of the glowing reviews must have been written by family members. These are useless to both the public and the writer. Granted, the book is an earnest, heartfelt effort in an always-enjoyable subgenre. It's a quick read with some good details and sympathetic characters. But definitely a rough, amateurish, frankly semiliterate work. Actual proofreading, instead of using a spell-check program, would have made it more readable.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    Bourne gives us a thinking man's 'or woman's' zombie themed horror novel. This is a struggle for survival that draws the reader in by way of the protagonist's journal. You feel for the characters and honestly care about their survival. The author puts his knowledge of the military to good use here as the protagonist relies on careful planning in a post apocalyptic world. This is an exciting novel that left me hungry for the sequel.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This isn't your typical zombie story. The only leap it asks you to take is that the dead walk. Once you accept this premise, every other detail of this story is firmly planted in cold, hard reality. From the way each character reacts to the situations they find themselves in to the weapons and equipment they use, this is a story meticulously researched and executed. Each character is fully realized with strengths, weaknesses and depth. The story is rich in character development and surprises. This is a story not just for horror fans, but for all fans of good storytelling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    Interesting addition to the zombie fiction genre

    Some of the reviews I've read of Day By Day Armageddon have been unfavorable. I ended up purchasing it primarily because I was hungry for more of the genre and wasn't sure I cared how good it was. It ended up being excellent and a great addition to the zombie fiction genre. Some have complained about spelling and grammar errors, but I chalk this up to the nature of a "journal." However, one must assume that the main character is a well-spoken and educated individual, as the "errors" occur fairly infrequently.

    J.L. Bourne takes us through the early days of the zombie apocalypse with a soldier that starts the journal just a few days before the first outbreaks occur. I felt at multiple points as if I was the one experiencing such, or at least right there with him, and found myself uneasy and pondering my own survival plan. This is one of the best examples I've seen of someone bringing in the personal psychological struggle of it all. (The Walking Dead graphic novel series also did a great job with this.)

    I would definitely recommend this to anyone that loves zombies, or even a good survival book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    cover to cover in one sitting

    The story starts off rather slow but begins to pick up after the character "bugs-out." If you stick it out through the early portions of the book you will be rewarded. I finished this book on a Sunday night and I bought 'Beyond Exile' on Monday morning. This is a solid read for any fan of the zombie apocalypse genre. READ THIS BOOK!!! You won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    Puts you right there with the flesheaters

    I loved this book, I hope he comes out with a sequel soon. I loved the fact that it was written from a military man's point of view and that there were zombies at every turn. It really made me think about what I would do if faced with this type of stiuation. This book is much more than just a gorefest, it has real, believeable characters in a surreal situation and it makes you think more than you would expect from a zombie novel. if you want a good, scary, seat of your pants read, then check it out and hang on, what a ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book hooked me immediately! I could hardly put it down, and am eagerly awaiting the next book from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Excellent book! It grabbed my attention and held it the whole wa

    Excellent book! It grabbed my attention and held it the whole way through. I started the sequel immediately after finishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    feast for my mind

    The ideas set in this book was took my imagination down paths that the adventurer inside me couldnt wait to see through. Descriptions of the situatiins the charecters are put up against are told so masterfully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    One of the bests.

    Amazing story that keeps u excited to keep reading. After finishing this i got the others and read them almost right away. this book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    I can't recommend the Day by Day Armageddon books enough, I like

    I can't recommend the Day by Day Armageddon books enough, I liked all three so much I bought the ebooks (not through BN though) and the audiobooks. I read copiously in the Zombie genre and these are my favorite with Max Brooks coming in second. Enough said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Very gripping story of survival in an undead wasteland. I couldn

    Very gripping story of survival in an undead wasteland. I couldn't put it down and have already finished the second book and started the third. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great read!!!!!!!!

    Great read!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    This is the best series of the zombie genre that I have read to

    This is the best series of the zombie genre that I have read to date.... awesome. It reads like a movie...fast paced, exciting yet insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    i wasn't sure i would like this series because it was written as

    i wasn't sure i would like this series because it was written as a diary/log and i took my time before buying this book because i've read some that stunk that had high praise but i took a chance and think its awesome, the best I've read so far. when the main character is out there alone trying to survive his description of his surrounding and what he's feeling is more unnerving than other zombie books Ive read. the fact that J.L. Bourne is a navel officer adds to the realism of characters escape and evade tactics, i get the feeling that some of the things I'm reading are actually taught to military personal as part of their training. rather than going in guns blazing this guy is cautious and aware of every sight and sound around him as he tries cross hostile territory to get back home. he only hints at a personal relationship with another survivor and focuses on the hear and now. how he packs his gear and what to take and what to leave behind and marking the location for possible future use by himself or others was brilliant and adds to the realism of his predicament. others have said this series is boring but i find it just the opposite, hope Bourne continues this series and character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Definitly a good apocalyptic experience

    This book kept me on the edge always wondering what could happen next. I found that I could not wait to get home to continue reading. I also enjoyed the writers minor details as pertaining to available technology and such. Looking foward to reading the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Amazing

    Iam probobly the most die hard zombie fan out there with my propaganda cosplay and huge collection of zombie multimedia and books this book is top noch and portrays the perfect zombie apocalypse and great survival methods bourne has made almost the prrfect zombie novel READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Top notch

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    To those who complain about grammar

    ITS IN JOURNAL FORMAT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Highly enjoyable, could see myself in his shoes. Preparation is

    Highly enjoyable, could see myself in his shoes. Preparation is the key!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Best in class

    Have read a lot of zombie fiction, hell i've read a lot of fiction, and this book is one of my favorite reads. A little short, and a little rough around the edges, but one hell of a ride. This is the story world war z wanted to be but imo fell short of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15