Customer Reviews for

Day by Day Armageddon: Shattered Hourglass

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best Zombie series ever!  The only downside is, that the story i

Best Zombie series ever!  The only downside is, that the story is over too soon.  As soon as I pick the book up, I can't put it down.  Can't wait for the next one.

posted by NavyRN on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Meh...

Not what youre expecting or hoping for. A very quick read that, to me, lacked the feeling of the fist two books. While enjoyable, the ending feels like a cop out. Kind of a bummer way to end the series.

posted by 3035274 on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Best Zombie series ever!  The only downside is, that the story i

    Best Zombie series ever!  The only downside is, that the story is over too soon.  As soon as I pick the book up, I can't put it down.  Can't wait for the next one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Not worth the wait

    While I enjoyed the first two books, this one disappointed. It felt like Bourne jotted this down to satisfy his fans and had forgotten the first two. It was disjointed and kind of strange to read. Now that he's gotten that out of his system, Bourne needs to release the real novel. I'd recommend passing on this one and spending your money somewhere else. Wait until it's free or 99 cents and maybe you'll feel like you got your money's worth.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Meh...

    Not what youre expecting or hoping for.

    A very quick read that, to me, lacked the feeling of the fist two books. While enjoyable, the ending feels like a cop out.

    Kind of a bummer way to end the series.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    The return of the je...i mean zombie

    Book 3 of the most original series I have had the pleasure to read.....maybe an opening for a spin off? I loved it. It was a little rushed at the end with not much intensity like book 2, but the multiple stories worked for me! Probably could have been 100 to 200 more pages and i would have nominated it for an emmy! Can't wait to see more from J.L. Bourne.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    While I found Shattered Hourglass enjoyable and worth the cash I

    While I found Shattered Hourglass enjoyable and worth the cash I couldn't help but feel a little discombobulated while reading it. With that said I know a reread of Shattered Hourglass is in my future...just after I lock all the doors and load all my magazines first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    The book is a good read.  I have to echo some of the complaints

    The book is a good read.  I have to echo some of the complaints about too many story lines.   On the other hand , this is the only way to close out the story with a trilogy.  
    It was pretty satisfying and a good read.     

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Great book!

    Felt a little rushed and lacking the detail from the journal writing style of the previous two, but still doesn't disappoint!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    WRENSTAR TO ALL

    I'm sorry if you enjoyed RPing here, but we don't have enough active members to sustain the clan. Thank you for joining, and goodbye.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    I enjoyed this last installment in the Day by Day series. It was written in a much different style than the others. I couldn't even tell that it was the same author. I understand the reason for it as this part of the story takes place over a very wide area of the globe & the diary sytle writing wouldn't have worked.

    I enjoyed it, but it was different!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Great read

    Yes the ending iis abrupt. However, the book is worth the purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    :(

    what a rush job, this book had no heart which is so devestating compared to thhe previous books which were brilliant

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I can't imagine this book getting any less than 4 stars...but, t

    I can't imagine this book getting any less than 4 stars...but, to each his own. Any lover of zombie fiction as well as military action will enjoy this book. I did give the others in this series 5 stars but this book was still excellent. Don't want to spoil anyone's read so just know if you are a zombie/apocalypse fan-this book & series is for you! (start with 1st book though)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    i was disappointed with this last one, it's almost as if Bourne

    i was disappointed with this last one, it's almost as if Bourne got tired of writing and just ended it as fast as he could. this story could have go on for a few more books. what happened to the crew at hotel23? oh they were just never heard from again.

    this book needs DO OVER

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I read the 1st 2 books great read this one is great too. hoping for more in this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Great series!

    He is a great author and this is an amazing zombie/military series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Style of writing was changed from the previous books...

    Unfortunately, the author is not as talented with this style of writing. The book seems to drag on a bit in some chapters and is not as successful at grasping attention as the first two. Never-the-less, it is still worth the read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    The final (?) book in the Day by Day series. It¿s much like the

    The final (?) book in the Day by Day series. It’s much like the first two with a mix of zombie action (although it seems a bit slower than the others) and insight from the survivors. It gives some more background on remote 6 and wraps things up rather nicely but leaves the door ajar for a possible follow on. The format is slightly different than in the first two books. The vast majority of the first two books was based on the journal of the main character. While there are some journal entries included in this book since the main characters are spread out in the world, it takes on a more third person view. If you liked the first two books you will like this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Eh! Could have been better...

    Decent flow with different storylines intertwined into a good narrative. Story seemed spread thin with so many threads, though. Biggest issue is the ending...so much led up to this and, bam, straight hollywood all loose ends tied up in a couple of sentences. Not bad, but cannot help but feel like I climbed a mountain only to see a McD's in the middle of the valley.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Love the series

    A really great series..would highly recommend..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Great

    The book was great even if it was differant. The only reason im giving it a 4 star is because it was differant fron the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3