Customer Reviews for

Day of Tears

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    I gave this book an exceptional rating because it really moves y

    I gave this book an exceptional rating because it really moves you. For me it tugged on my heart in a way that I never could have imagined. This was the first time I have ever shed a tear reading a book. Not only did I shed a tear I balled more than once. I found this book so hard to put down after I started reading it. Sometimes I found myself putting myself in the main characters shoes and wondering what I would do in that predicament. As I was reading this book I noticed the pattern they set in the book and I felt the title fit it perfectly. I love this book and would recommend it to anyone that is tired of boring books with no sentiment and reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    Slavery- Justified or Unjustified

    Yes! This is an incredible book. An excellent source to teach about slavery. It has it's owned uniqued form of teaching slavery through dialogue. The language of these slaves are including in the dialogue to give us(readers) how they convey their dialect amongst one another. This book not only show the basic aspect of slavery, it a good source to get some understanding of the relationship between slaves and slave owners.I highly recommend this book for a resource in social studies and history classes. It also can be use as a resource for multicultural literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    Day of Tears: A Novel in Dialogue

    Julius Lester's novel, Day of Tears: A Novel in Dialogue, is a touching story of a young slave named Emma. She, along with her mother and father, work for Pierce Butler's family. Emma accompanies Pierce to a slave auction in order to care for his children. Despite his original intentions, Pierce breaks his promise to Emma's parents and sells her for a large price. While working on Mistress Henfield's plantation, Emma and her friend Joe often discuss the idea of being free and finally decide to make the dream a reality.

    Day of Tears is a great inside look at the issue of slavery. Lester effectively captures the emotions, feelings, and attitudes of not only slaves, but also masters and the advocates for or against slavery. The writing style which he chose to use in this book allows the reader to become captivated by and absorbed in the story. Lester not only uses dialogue between the characters to tell Emma's story, but also flashbacks, inner character thoughts, and foreshadowing to bring this story to life. Furthermore, it is a quick read, yet it allows the reader to connect with and feel the emotions of the characters. It is also fairly easy to read and understand, making this book suitable for anyone grades 4 or above. Middle school students, especially, would be a good audience for this novel. I, personally, did not find objective material in it, but adults should be prepared to discuss and elaborate on the issue of slavery with young students who choose to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Awesome book

    This book is very well written about the biggest slave auction. The whole book is written in dialogue and I don't think it should of been wtiiten any other way. It is sad and it teaches American history and what went on during slavery. Once you open this book you will not want to put it down. It is a easy read and I recommend it to everyone to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    A Capturing Read

    This book is amazing. I love the way it's written. It's unique and it makes the book more fun to red. It also gives the book a better understanding because you can hear everyone's point of view.It's also a good reference for history.Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Pure genius.

    This book is so amazing, it is hard to stop reading it. For some reason, it never gets old. I still nearly cry whenever I read the sad parts, like when family is seperated or someone dies. It is an amazing mix of fact and fiction, not to mention regular prose writing and script dialouge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    confounding and life changing

    As Julius Lester takes you through the wrinkles of time to the period of the enslavement of African Americans he brilliantly paints a clear picture of the emotions and distress of the people. Taking you to the largest slave auction ever held in the world Lester sets the scene as you encounter the struggles slaves had to overcome. As the story is carefully unfolded Julius also describes the seperation of families and friends as more and more slaves were sold, the auction producing a whopping 300,000 dollars worth of slaves, yet trillions of dollars worth of sorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    THE BEST BOOK EVER

    I could read this over and over. I like how the hole thin is in dialog. And how it goes into the future amnd back into the past. THe book was sad too. I would recomend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Hello

    I dont like depressing books

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    A Fantastic Book

    I really liked this book because it is written all in dialogue. It was extremely well written and I finished it in less than a day, and I would read it again in a flash. This book deserves many awards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    read

    this is the best book i have basically read everybody has to read this i Julius lester did a great job

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    A 'Must Read' for All Students

    This book is definately a 'Must Read' for all students studying American History and slavery. Sad but poignant, it is a true account with fictionalized characters of the largest Slave Auction in U.S. history. Gives a true sense of what it must have been like for the slaves, to be thought of as nothing more than chattel, bought and sold as livestock, with no with thought given to their feelings. An excellent book and very deserving of the nomination for the California Young Reader Medal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    Tears to your eyes

    Lester, Julius. Day of Tears. New York: Jump at the Sun Hyperion Books for Children, 2005. Tears to Your Eyes *****outstanding Day of Tears is a book about a man that is deep in debt. He is trying to erase his debt by selling his slaves. This book explains how the slaves felt about being sold. This book is about the troubles and hardship that the slaves had to face and conquer. The conflict of the story is when Pierce Butler sells Emma and Joe to Mistress Henfield. Emma and Joe have to change to a different style of life. During the course of the book, it explains how Emma has to deal with her emotions while being separated from her family. I thought the book was really great. It has so many opinions, emotions, and hardships involved in it it will make you cry. Emma is a strong girl and has trouble dealing with her family being away from her. I really liked Emma. She was passionate about Pierce Butler¿s children like the time when Sarah was crying for her mother. Emma dropped what she was doing and rushed to comfort Sarah until Sarah went to sleep. In my opinion, all of the characters were fully developed. I really connected with Emma throughout the whole story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1