Customer Reviews for

Day Of Vindication

Average Rating 3
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Fun but flawed

    A good story marred by a lack of editing. The author has the bones of a good plot with adequate complexity to keep the reader interested. This is offset by some very strange sentence construction and awkward dialog. All in all a good effort that could be improved by the application of a red pencil to the manuscript. I would gladly read more by this author!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    Recommended - light reading

    I read this novel stuck in an airport for hours. It is light and entertaining. Would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    Day of Vindication is outstanding white kunckle suspense.

    "Army's senses went haywire.Time was suspended for a moment.It all happened in a split second.The smell of gunpowder filled her nostrils. Army surveyed the scene. Two bodies lay prone on the floor."
    "Army" is Cassandra Armendorfer, a six-year veteran of the FBI, fluent in Arabic and Hebrew with a passable knowledge of Greek. She is a pre-law graduate of Costal Carolina University, described by her colleagues as; "flamboyant," "extreme" and "compulsive". She is also young and beautiful.
    Her partner is Raphael (Ralph) Guerra, son of a Cuban exile, who is fluent in Spanish, with dual degrees in law enforcement and accounting from the University of Miami.
    Both are overachievers, loyal and determined.
    These two hard-charging FBI agents are assigned to counterterrorism in the southeast regional Homeland Security taskforce, tasked as the lead operatives subsequent to an early morning nuclear attract on Houston Texas on the day before Independence Day. They attempt to locate and neutralize what appears to be a larger terrorist operation involving several additional nuclear devices while the nation marshals its considerable resources.
    Day of Vindication succeeds in employing the best and worst of mankind realistically in the plausible likelihood of a nuclear conflict.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Chilling Look At The Unthinkable

    "Day of Vindication" is a fascinating and frightening look at the unthinkable, a nuclear explosion in the United States.

    Downtown Houston is gone. Terrorists have detonated a nuclear device that took out hundreds of thousands of innocent people and will result in a total of 3 million deaths from the effects of radiation poisoning within 10 years. The group claiming responsibility has issued an ultimatum with a one week deadline. If the conditions aren't met, 3 more US cities will be destroyed. When a lead walks into FBI headquarters in Florida, it falls on Agents Armendorfer and Guerra to find the terrorists and the remaining bombs before it's too late.

    Author James Rupe approaches the story from many different sides including, the media coverage, the government reaction, and the FBI investigation. He also divides the story into two parts which was really my only issue with this book. Part two seemed rushed and wasn't as fully fleshed out as part one. I would have rather seen the book end with part one and have the loose ends tied up in a well-developed sequel. Other than that, Mr. Rupe has painted a terrifying picture of our worst nightmare, a nuclear attack on American soil. Often, it seemed too real and I felt like what I was reading was really a vision into the not-so-distant future if we, as a country, let our guard down. It is a riveting, suspense filled novel that I hope will always remain nothing more than a chilling work of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well Written, Thought Provoking, Too Real

    Regardless of your religious or political leanings, I think everyone in America is aware of the potential of another terrorist attack, or perhaps the end of the world as we know it. One has only to read newspapers, online news or watch the evening news on tv to see that this is a real threat to today's world.

    Day of Vindication is a chilling story, and one that should give pause and concern to us all. Imagine: A major US City in Texas suffers a massive explosion, numbering millions of deaths and crippling the local law enforcement system. For some time, the rest of us would be unsure just what happened. Newscoverage would be everywhere, but basically telling us nothing new, hour by hour. Then, as confirmed reports come in, we realize it is the worst possible scenerio; nuclear attack. The search is on to find out who is responsible, and if worse is planned.

    The story centers on two elite counterterrorism agents, Cassandra "Army" Armendorfer and her partner Raphael Guerra, lead government specialists on a hectic chase. The search for the bombs and terrorists travels far beyond our country's borders. Could the entire world teeter on the brink of annihilation?

    This is definitely a well written, well thought out nail biter! The author seems to have done his research homework thoroughly. I don't want to give away too much of the story': suffice to say that it is nothing less than frightening and sobering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1