Customer Reviews for

Day of War (Lion of War Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lion of War Series First Book 'Day of War'

998 B.C. I felt pleased and blessed when Zondervan sent me a copy of "Day of War," by Cliff Graham. Cliff has signed note read: Psalms 140:7 "O God the Lord, the strength of my salvation, Thou hast covered my head in the day of battle." Battle rage and battle weariness ...
998 B.C. I felt pleased and blessed when Zondervan sent me a copy of "Day of War," by Cliff Graham. Cliff has signed note read: Psalms 140:7 "O God the Lord, the strength of my salvation, Thou hast covered my head in the day of battle." Battle rage and battle weariness are continuous themes throughout the novel. Understanding how warriors actually fell under those conditions and what they depend on is one of the great achievements of this book. To know God's covering, praying for it during time of desperate need is an even greater achievement. The tale of David and his mighty men comes from two Bible sources; 2 Samuel 23 and 1 Chronicles 11 and have been a favorite of mine for 30 years. Graham has truly captured the brutality and male heroism of ancient Israel. He has taken the story of King David the warlord and his Mighty Men and written the first installment of an epic tale on a scale with, the valor of "The 300, a tale of the Spartans'" and hopefully will have greater impact at the box office. 2012 will see a major motion picture from David Cunningham (Path to 911) and Grant Curtis (Spiderman 1, 2, &3) with another sequel the following year. This is a page-turner, which I could not put down. It is deeply masculine, but not in sense of bulging muscles, macho, and blind killing machine sort of way, (it is a very violent book). Graham touches on the deeper part of manhood as the reader sees the main character, Benaiah, who suffers through the insecurities, guilt's, and frustrations that every man battles during his life. The relationships between the main characters in the story evidence the fact that Graham has served in the military and understands the inexplicable bond of men who fight together. I marvel at how well written the book is yet remains as faithful to the biblical record which inspires it. Benaiah, David, The Three along with the other Mighty Men are going to be the heroes of the next generation.

posted by Silverbill on June 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great.

Good but not great. Thoroughly enjoyable but enthralling. Many scenes simply take too long with too much detail. Not in a Quintin Tarrintino sort of way building suspense. Just simply too long. I felt like the first third of the book was about the fight with the lion. N...
Good but not great. Thoroughly enjoyable but enthralling. Many scenes simply take too long with too much detail. Not in a Quintin Tarrintino sort of way building suspense. Just simply too long. I felt like the first third of the book was about the fight with the lion. Not enough story there to carry that much of the book.
On the positive side, the characters are very believable and the made up back stories connect the reader with them in a way that otherwise wouldn't happen. Would love to see this as a movie.

posted by 10064640 on October 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Lion of War Series First Book 'Day of War'

    998 B.C. I felt pleased and blessed when Zondervan sent me a copy of "Day of War," by Cliff Graham. Cliff has signed note read: Psalms 140:7 "O God the Lord, the strength of my salvation, Thou hast covered my head in the day of battle." Battle rage and battle weariness are continuous themes throughout the novel. Understanding how warriors actually fell under those conditions and what they depend on is one of the great achievements of this book. To know God's covering, praying for it during time of desperate need is an even greater achievement. The tale of David and his mighty men comes from two Bible sources; 2 Samuel 23 and 1 Chronicles 11 and have been a favorite of mine for 30 years. Graham has truly captured the brutality and male heroism of ancient Israel. He has taken the story of King David the warlord and his Mighty Men and written the first installment of an epic tale on a scale with, the valor of "The 300, a tale of the Spartans'" and hopefully will have greater impact at the box office. 2012 will see a major motion picture from David Cunningham (Path to 911) and Grant Curtis (Spiderman 1, 2, &3) with another sequel the following year. This is a page-turner, which I could not put down. It is deeply masculine, but not in sense of bulging muscles, macho, and blind killing machine sort of way, (it is a very violent book). Graham touches on the deeper part of manhood as the reader sees the main character, Benaiah, who suffers through the insecurities, guilt's, and frustrations that every man battles during his life. The relationships between the main characters in the story evidence the fact that Graham has served in the military and understands the inexplicable bond of men who fight together. I marvel at how well written the book is yet remains as faithful to the biblical record which inspires it. Benaiah, David, The Three along with the other Mighty Men are going to be the heroes of the next generation.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    An incredible, hard to put down, page turnig historical fiction novel based on the biblical story of David and his mighty men. The battle scenes are intense and graphic with swordplay,spears, daggers, bow and arrows and rocks. (Helpful biblical reference for this action novel is 2 Samuel 23 & 1 Chronicles 11).

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    Wow! What an amazing book! Cliff Graham really knows how to make

    Wow! What an amazing book! Cliff Graham really knows how to make battle scenes come to life! I am a huge Gladiator, 300 etc. fan, and this book did NOT disappoint! A lot of fighting, blood and gore, so if you're into happy-feely, princess books, this is not for you. It really makes the battles of King David and his Mighty men come to life. 5 Stars!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Awesome reading

    We always here about David and his Mighty Men but nothing really specific to what made them mighty. This author works wonders with words to try and fill in those gaps. Reads very much like Gates of Fire and really leaves you in awe of what made these men who they were.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Forever changed!!

    Taking into consideration the fictional aspect of this work...it was exceptional. A truly believable account of David and his rise to kingship over a very broken people. Now to go back and read the coinciding OT books about David and his men...wow...I will never read them the same!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    J daniels J daniels

    A different prospective on the life of David worth the read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Loved it

    Incredible reading

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Outstanding biblical read written by one warrior about another

    This was SUCH an outstanding read, on the times of King David from the POV of David's Mighty Men, one of the world's early Special Ops forces. I saw this as a free download, but didn't bother as I assumed it was one more same-oh biblical fiction on the life of David, of which I've read many in two languages, until some military acquaintances starting raving about it. This was definitely written by a warrior and is one of the best and most realistic novels set in biblical times I've ever read. The only drawback: the story didn't finish, and the sequel isn't yet out. I am hooked and waiting anxiously for the next installment. Just hope it is soon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Loved it!

    very good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    Great

    action packed and keeps your interest from start to finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Powerful. Excellent. A Must Read!

    I know most of the reviews are written by men, so I thought I would throw in my 2 cents for a little variety. I am 26 and female, and I LOVED this book! While yes it is very graphic and gruesome, I appreciated that Cliff Graham did not hold back in his descriptions. By adding in these parts, I felt more immersed in this story- like I was actually there in the dessert thousands of years ago. I thought this book was a great fiction story that made David and his Mighty Men more relate-able than any other. I will definitely be getting the next book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Good but not great.

    Good but not great. Thoroughly enjoyable but enthralling. Many scenes simply take too long with too much detail. Not in a Quintin Tarrintino sort of way building suspense. Just simply too long. I felt like the first third of the book was about the fight with the lion. Not enough story there to carry that much of the book.
    On the positive side, the characters are very believable and the made up back stories connect the reader with them in a way that otherwise wouldn't happen. Would love to see this as a movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I've read quite a few books and let me just say, The Lion of War

    I've read quite a few books and let me just say, The Lion of War series is some of the best literature I've ever read. Never have I been so emersed in a story or characters. If you love nitty gritty biblical fiction with action packed fighting along with the grace of God, I recommend this series! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Incredible Action

    Perfect guy book! If you like history or just good combat this is a must read. It starts a little confusing but it comes together masterfully!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    must read!

    Graham is an amazing writer, no questions asked. His ability to write Biblical fiction from a soldier's point of view is second to none. He knows war and he knows the Bible, and that combination makes his stories poignant, moving, and so real. The Lord has truly blessed him with a gift for bringing His followers to life thousands of years after their deeds were written down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Great

    Really brings the story of David and his men to life. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Most excellent!

    A story that articulates what every boy wonders when he reads 1 Chronicles 11.

    Disclaimer: not a read for young boys. Violent and mature themes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Engaging insight!

    Although the battle scenes were not as polished as some I've read, the descriptive phrasing and dialogue in this story is solid. For those who are interested in the details of King David's life, this book offers a compelling version well worth reading! I will be reading the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Great book.

    Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4