Customer Reviews for

The Day the Falls Stood Still

Average Rating 4
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Do Not Underestimate

I admit upon receiving the Advance Read for "The Day the Falls Stood Still", I was not captured by the description of the book. I did not see how a story about life along Niagra Falls could be all that interesting. Having never visited the area, I had little knowledge...
I admit upon receiving the Advance Read for "The Day the Falls Stood Still", I was not captured by the description of the book. I did not see how a story about life along Niagra Falls could be all that interesting. Having never visited the area, I had little knowledge of the history of the Falls, or what it's like to see. However, I was very pleasantly surprised by the lovely story Buchanan has composed on so many levels. She paints a vibrant picture of the Falls - it's grandeur, beauty, and danger. She also gracefully spells out how it impacts Bess's life, both directly & indirectly, over the years. Finally, Buchanan chronicles a beautiful love story between Bess & Tom Cole, that is surrounded by tragedy. Thoroughly enjoyable - don't underestimate it!

posted by tara_graff on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

When I started the book I thought it would be good, but I was disappointed. It ended up being dark and depressing. I wasn't able to finish the book because it just got worse with each chapter. I cared about the characters and the writing style was excellent.

posted by TootsieMN on October 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Do Not Underestimate

    I admit upon receiving the Advance Read for "The Day the Falls Stood Still", I was not captured by the description of the book. I did not see how a story about life along Niagra Falls could be all that interesting. Having never visited the area, I had little knowledge of the history of the Falls, or what it's like to see. However, I was very pleasantly surprised by the lovely story Buchanan has composed on so many levels. She paints a vibrant picture of the Falls - it's grandeur, beauty, and danger. She also gracefully spells out how it impacts Bess's life, both directly & indirectly, over the years. Finally, Buchanan chronicles a beautiful love story between Bess & Tom Cole, that is surrounded by tragedy. Thoroughly enjoyable - don't underestimate it!

    28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    A must read!!!

    Simply put: I loved this book. I laughed. I cried. I didn't want it to end. It is one of those rare literary finds that cannot be put down once started. Not since Margaret Atwood's Alias Grace have I felt so emotionally connected to the characters and enthralled by the story. Congratulations Ms. Buchanan on a stunning debut!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    When I started the book I thought it would be good, but I was disappointed. It ended up being dark and depressing. I wasn't able to finish the book because it just got worse with each chapter. I cared about the characters and the writing style was excellent.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Touching and Haunting Love Story

    I found this book to be a bit different from any I'd read as it was so rich in local color, history and folklore. While it is primarily a love story set in Niagara Falls, Ontario, during and following the end of World War I, it encompasses the local surroundings at its very core and weaves the story around the colorful area of the Niagara River region bordering the US and Canada.

    It is told from the first person perspective of the teenage and then young woman and wife named Bess Cole (nee Heath) who is one of the two central characters in the book. While still very young, Bess finds herself cast out of her former school academy due to her family's changed financial fortunes. While she is ending her stay at school, on the way home with her trunk on the trolley, she meets Tom Cole, grandson of the Niagara riverman Fergus Cole, who had become a legend because of his uncanny ability to understand the Niagara River and its awesome forces. Tom had been raised by his grandfather and learned the river and its nuances inside and out. Contrary to her family's wishes and former social status, Bess and Tom become involved and marry within a six month period, only to weather a three year separation until the end of the Great War. Bess has been employed as a very talented seamstress since prior to their marriage and she has used her growing expertise to keep Tom's family afloat while he has been gone. When Tom returns, his search to find himself and provide for his family and Bess' desire to balance who Tom is with the necessity of improving their standard of living is a delicate balance and conflict between the two personalities.

    Their first child had been born a few short months after Tom left to go to war. Upon his return, Bess soon found out she was pregnant with their second child. With her urging and with few employment opportunities available, Tom takes a foreman's job with the area hydroelectric plant, which is contrary to his upbringing and his beliefs as to how the river's force should be harnessed and used. He does well in the position and is well respected for his knowledge and abilities, but he is not happy because the harnessing of the river for power production has naturally caused the river to drop and he has painstakingly kept a personal record of the river diversion. Learning this, Bess works behind the scenes to help him start over. It is at this point that a cruel irony of fate intervenes and changes their lives forever.

    I decided to read this book because I had visited the region within the past two years and I thought it might be interesting reading. Even if you have not been to Niagara Falls, the descriptions and historical period photos included in the book should be of interest. I found myself immersed in the area and could easily picture the descriptions of life in the area almost a century ago. This book will stay in my memory for awhile and the memory is a pleasant one.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    A sad story

    I was in the middle of another book and only meant to read the first page or two to decide if this would be the next book I would read. The first page turned into the first chapter and after that I couldn't put it down. It's a story of hardships, love and regrets. Beautifully written, but very sad.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Bring on the tea and biscuits!

    Loved this book from cover to cover. The writing was so real, I could smell the falls and picture exactly what the setting looked like. Bess was so real to me and I could almost feel her emotions.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quick read,so good

    This story was an interesting, easy read. I really enjoyed the main character's story of struggle to find happiness. The writer's ability to weave Niagra Falls history within the story made the book even more exciting to me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Flawless

    As I read this book, I was taken away to the time of 1915 amid the chaos of war, love, and loss. Cathy M. Buchanan for a first time writer seamlessly tied together all of the details of the book. It's ebbing and flowing made me want to read more about Bess' life after all what had happened. Just a great book.

    http://seredipiter.wordpress.com

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent debut!

    The Day The Falls Stood Still takes place in Niagara, Canada, circa WWI. Bess Heath comes from a well-to-do family, but all that changes when her father loses his position as Director of the Niagara Power Company. Bess is forced to leave school, while her mother works as a dressmaker to make ends meet. Bess's older sister, Isabel ,is left by her finance and stops eating, her father spends his days and nights drinking at the local tavern. The only bright spot in Bess's life is Tom Cole, a young man who makes his living selling fish and pulling dead bodies out of the Niagara River. Tom is the grandson of the legendary Fergus Cole, a renowned riverman who could foresee disaster at the Falls and was responsible for the rescue of many people that would have been lost. Tom is also deeply connected to the river, but Bess's family is urging her to marry Edward, the older brother of her childhood friend. Marrying wealthy Edward would insure the future of her family. But tragedy strikes and against the wishes of her family, Bess rebukes Edward in favor of Tom.
    Buchanan writes an interesting story that combines history of Niagara Falls with the trials of a young couples' marriage and the struggle between progress and the environment. Tom is a riverman but with two children to support, he goes to work for the same power company that he reviles for its destruction of the Niagara river and the beauty of the Falls.
    While this is a debut novel, Buchanan work seems that of an accomplished writer. Her prose is skilled, with the right amount of plot and dialogue balancing the descriptions and history of Niagara. Throughout the book are pictures of the falls and newspaper articles that originally referred to the real legendary riverman, William "Red" Hill, but is changed with the name of Fergus Cole, the fictional legendary riverman. This was a great work of historical fiction, which I enjoyed even more as I live about ninety minutes from the Falls and have visited there frequently. I highly recommend this novel.
    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Struggle for control of the Niagara Falls area combined with romance

    As a person that has made many trips to Niagara Falls during my years, I especially looked forward to reading this book. I was not disappointed. Cathy Buchanan has written a lovely love story combined with some of the many historical occurrences in the Niagara Falls area. While the main characters in the story are fictional their deeds are very closely aligned with true history. As I read I felt as though I could feel the mist from the falls, the rapids, the whirlpool, the islands above the falls as the thunderous currents flowed by, the gorges with their many marks from old water levels, and see the power of the falls, some of which, the power companies have diverted for mass electricity.

    The family of Bess Heath is not rich but they live as many others did in 1915, from week to week. Her father was one of the directors of the Niagara Power Company but his drinking was his undoing and he lost that job. He kept his secret for a while but the family had to eat and live. Bess had a sister, Isabel, who was not in the best of health so was unable to work. When the family finally discovered that the father had lost his job, Bess's mother, Margaret, went back to the only thing she knew, dressmaking. She even had Bess learning the craft so she could assist the family but with school, Bess did not have much time. Bess decided not to return to school and helped her mother with the sewing, learning as she went.

    Bess and Tom Cole met each other "accidentally on purpose" seeing each other on Tom's daily walks. Bess was currently engaged but she wasn't sure she wanted anyone but Tom! Tom was an expert on the entire falls area, a subject his father had taught him. Tom was so perturbed that the electric power companies were taking so much of the water to produce electricity. He wanted Niagara Falls to stay the way it always had been with a constant full flow above and below the falls and whirlpool. But this wasn't to be with the advancement of power in Canada and the United States. Tom was well known for his rescues of many that fell, jumped, or went over the falls or into the river by plan. He knew every rock and every situation that would cause unusual rockslides or changing of currents.

    The love story and the history of the area are wound into a delightful story by the author. She can spin a love story as not many can. There is too much in this story to give away the different plots so I will not go there. You must read this if you have any romance or adventure or any combination of each.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    really

    Why would you put nothing else than its about the niagra falls?
    What about mystery, or maybe even a little excifement. These people are really stupid.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good story

    I bought this book in the bargain section at B&N... WITHOUT reading the reviews on it first, which is something I wouldn't normally do. But for four dollars I figured I didn't have much to lose. I was pleasantly surprised, it was a really good book overall. The beginning is a bit slow to pick up but once you get in about 50 pages, you want to keep reading. The main character Bess is so likeable, and strong for a woman at that time. She endures loss, and hardships, yet still is able to find the good in life, and make the best of things. Against the advice and demands of her family and friends she marries not for money, but for love. And so the touching love story between her and Tom unfolds. Not much unlike any relationship they have theirs good times and their bad, but mostly good. Their love for each other is uplifting. Although the end may not be what you were expecting or wanting, I saw the meaning in it. A good weekend read.... worth your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Interesting Historical Fiction

    The story starts with a young girl, Bess, leaving her high school for the year after her junior year, most likely not to return due to her family's changed financial circumstances. Her father recently lost his job at the power company and has taken up drinking at a hotel bar most of the day to fill his time. She is accompanied from school by her mother, and on their way home, using public transportation, they are helped by a young man, who carries her trunk for them. He is Tom Cole, and he and the girl start a romance soon after that, much to her mother's dismay. She does not view him as a suitable catch for her daughter. Bess's older sister is resolutely despondent having been recently dumped by her fiance. She is not eating much and spends most of her time in her room.
    Tom is the grandson of a legendary riverman, who knew the Niagara River like no one else and was famous for his rescues on the river. Tom picks up where he left off.
    The book is an entertaining enough read, but it is definitely much more of a woman's book. There was far too much detail on women's clothes and seamstressing activities for my taste. The book is written from the point of view of Bess. She is a likable enough character, but I would have enjoyed it if she had been given a little more depth.
    I did enjoy the way the history of the falls, the dare-devils, the rescues and its development, were integrated into the story. But, I would probably have more enjoyed reading a straight history book instead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    It was an enjoyable read. The book title drew me in first. I lived in NY, have visited the falls often. My sister lives there now. I always look for new authors being promoted by your website, and ordered this one right away.

    I enjoy stories that are based on happenings in the past. This takes place in the early 2oth century. The characters were very believable.
    I was rooting for Bess and Tom all through the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    All of the elements are here...a sweeping love story, the struggle for acceptance, the challenges that family dynamics present...all amid the raging backdrop of the Niagara Falls. Lush and full of life. Fans of historical fiction will enjoy this one.

    Every time I opened this book, I felt as if I were stepping off of the page, right into the Niagara. I could feel the mist upon my face, the powerful tug of the current and I could hear the roar of the water as it plunged over the falls. I love it when a novel can transport you to another time and place.

    In addition to its glorious setting, this novel also deals with class struggle, the environmental impact of hydroelectric power upon the falls, and the effects of war. This novel is unique, well paced and well thought out. I appreciate the tenderness of the characters, and by that I mean that they are strong, yet vulnerable and I find that I can easily relate to them at different points of the story. Overall, a very enjoyable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    Niagra Falls Love Story

    The story is mainly a love story about one woman's love for a man that is not of the same social status as she comes from. The first part of the book follows her family through tragedy and scandal. The second half of the book looks at Bess and Tom's married life. It was slow moving at times, but overall a good, well researched story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Great book

    Lov it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Amazing book

    I don't want to give anything away but it is a wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    good book

    I enjoyed this book. It is a realistic book in that it portrays life honestly, not idealistically, yet is an uplifting story. Hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Boring!!

    The characters were incredibly stupid and did things no one would ever consider. I hated this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13