Customer Reviews for

Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    chouhefuiwefgughrubajcbkjbcbdicvkbasckjnhuasbbaiebwjcknjkvbvbqeh

    chouhefuiwefgughrubajcbkjbcbdicvkbasckjnhuasbbaiebwjcknjkvbvbqehgquewbewibedkvd

    I have too many feels right now. Review later.

    *Edit*

    Well, thinking it over didn't give me any better an idea of what to say about this. If I'm not mistaken, I was the exact same way after reading Daughter of Smoke & Bone. Struck speechless. That is a feat of no mean proportions. I thought there was no possible way that Laini Taylor could follow up with anything even close to what she did to me with the first book. Apparently, when I am wrong, I am SPECTACULARLY wrong.

    Reading this was a physical, visceral experience. I didn't just read it with my eyes, my whole body got in on the act. My blood, by turns, either froze or boiled. The hair stood up on my arms, gooseflesh crawled over my whole body, muscles locked down, my stomach dropped and rolled, and my heart clenched, squeezed and shattered. It was ridiculous, incredible, terrifying and fabulous.

    In DoS&B, Karou was a badass, true. But she still had an innocence to her, as with the blush of her first true love. That's all gone now. Burned away with all that became ash under her feet in Loramendi and all that's left tastes as bitter in her mouth as that ash would be.

    Now Karou has not only got to be tough, she has to be iron. Unbreakble. Even when she's terrified, or when her heart is in pieces. To me, that makes her even more of a badass than she was before.

    Akiva, oh my God. He crushes me in this, so much. But no matter how devastated he is, he's determined to do what he promised he would. He's absolutely hopeless that he will ever be forgiven by Karou, but he never stops trying to make it right.

    There are so many awesome characters. Mik & Zuzana are so great in this, I love them. And Ziri, a Kirin like Madrigal, who crushed on her before she was executed. *sigh* I really love Ziri, but I can tell already that he is going to break my heart too, in a totally different way. Hazael and Liraz, Akiva's brother & sister, are much more present in the story and you get a closer look at who they are, which is more than they appeared to be previously.

    But this is war and it is brutal and harsh. Thiago, that snake, is every bit as savage as he was before and consumed even more by his desire to destroy the angels. *shivers* He's evil and scary as hell to read. This time though, Thiago isn't the only one plotting to spill blood. Jael, the commander of the angel Dominion forces is every bit as cruel and sly as Thiago, but he takes pleasure in being twisted.

    Ms. Taylor's writing here is just as lush, rich and spell-binding as everything I've read by her. But I'm not gonna lie, she is going to run your emotions through a wringer with this story. This is a truly amazing read and you can bet your ass I'll be first in line for the next one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    can't wait for the sequel!

    i've already read the first book daughter of smoke and bone and loved it.i went ahead and pre-order the sequel days of blood and starlight.it picks up where the first book ended.looking forward to reading the next book and the movie adaption of the first book that i'm hearing about.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When we last left Karou, her family was missing and possibly dea

    When we last left Karou, her family was missing and possibly dead, she had learned many secrets about herself and those around her and was potentially mortal enemies with the angel she loved. ¿It is in this desolate state that we find Karou again in Days of Blood and Starlight.

    I hesitate to go into too much detail about the plot points in fear of ruining the unfolding of Karou's new circumstances. Suffice it to say that although Karou believes she is doing exactly what she must do to right the wrongs of her world, she finds herself allied with her previous enemies and with no one to guide her except her own guilty conscience. Caught in the middle of the ages long war between the seraphim and the chimaera, Karou finds she plays a vital role which could change the outcome and end the war forever.

    I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone to pieces and it was my Favorite Book of 2011. Sometimes the sophomore effort of a series can leave a reader wanting, this is not the case with Days of Blood and Starlight. After the initial setup, I found this to be quite the page-turner.

    As always, Laini Taylor is a master storyteller and brilliant world-builder. The detail with which she has plotted out every detail of Karou's fantastical world is stunning. If you are reading Days of Blood and Starlight for the romance, you might be a tad let down. Akiva and Karou are kept apart for the majority of the story, however, much is revealed through a series of flashbacks that might keep your need for amour sated.

    I highly recommend Taylor's latest novel with zero hesitation, but you must read Daughter of Smoke and Bone first! This series is a soon to be classic and a perfect way to escape for a few days.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Elders den

    Here

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    I loved the first book, and this one was just as good

    This book book was wonderful, well paced, and all together amazing. I was dieing to read the 2nd book by the time I was done with the the1st book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    When I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone, it was a book that I have never read before. Brilliant storyline and conflict among characters. The brilliance continues in Days of Blood & Starlight. I couldnt put the book down once i started reading it. Karou and Akiva's battles with themselves and surroundings drew me into their world. I felt I was following them page after page. This book did not dissappoint, and i cant wait to read the third installment to these wonderful, creative books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

     

     

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    The Daughter of Smoke and Bone was a lot better in my opinion. N

    The Daughter of Smoke and Bone was a lot better in my opinion. Not that this book wasn't great. It really was. This is definitely one of my favorite series. But it was really confusing. For all of you who are hoping for some Akiva/Karou romance, you may be out of luck until the next book. They didn't really have that much romance in this book. At least, not as much as the previous.

    But even after what i have said, this book only took me 4 hours to read. It was great. There are new characters and foes, and some people that you've wanted to learn more about will have their time to shine. Like Zuze; she narrates a lot in the book!

    It wasn't as great as i had hoped, but it was still good. I cannot wait for book three!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    I went the audiobook route with the second in this series becau


    I went the audiobook route with the second in this series because I adored the first audiobook. I find that the narrator spins magic with Taylor’s words and she can paint a beautiful image of all those in Karou’s world. I found this one even more heat breaking than the first as the two worlds plunged into war.


    I think what made me most sad was that Karou and Akiva were still at odds the way they were at the end of the first book. There is so much more to their lives that we have yet to learn, but this book did a great job of opening up into what the war looked like for both sides. It gave us a glimpse at what the problem was, at who was continuing this battle that seemed to have to no start. Its almost like Romeo and Juliet the way no one knows what started to feud between the different sides.

    I think that it was great that we learned more about the different Chimera and the way that they lived and loved. There was no sense to what was happening to villagers as we learned how the battle between the Angels and Chimera was affecting all.

    But even better was that we continued to follow Akiva as he went to try to set things straight. He made decisions that were punishable by death, but we learned that he wasn’t alone in his feelings as he joined other’s who felt the same way. This book broke your heart in ways that you didn’t even know it could be broken.

    I loved that we got to see both sides from Karou and Akiva. We saw the underlying cruelty of both sides and we saw the kindness and the hope. I cannot wait for the third book to hit shelves so I can see where this is all going to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Worthy Sequel

    Romeo & Juliet had it easy. What if they had not taken the easy way out? What if they had lived? What if they had fought on opposite sides of the war? In the first book we were introduced to a world of hidden beauty and magic. In this - the 2nd book - the curtains are pulled away to reveal what was only glimpsed at in the 1st book. And we are witness to the war between Angels & Demons. A war of questioning loyalty, where the lines between good and evil are blurred, and there are no easy or right answers. This is a much darker book than The Daughter of Smoke & Bone but it is a more than worthy sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Tyranno's bio

    * Tyranno * one moon * tom * kit * brown wirh darker brown stripes and green eyes * Fox * Deimos * &#9856 * ask *

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Darkness

    res three

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    All that i expected..

    A lot darker than the first and the heroes were never in a good place. Karou is filled with guilt and shame for her perceived wrong to her people that she allows herself into being bullied into doing things in the name of vengeance and war that first book Karou would never think of. And Akiva is also filled with shame and anger and self hatred for his actions...so it a book full of pain and suffering both physical and mental. Karou an Akiva are both filled with pain and mistrust towards each other, but it is understandable based on the history between their people, and what they both witnessed and endured when they still were wide-eye and full of hope. But towards the end, you can still see a glimmer of that hope despite everything, that Karou may still yet live up to the meaning of her name. But I know it will be a while, if the plans of the Dominion for the world of humans are anything to go by...I look forward to seeing how Humans react to these Angels in their midst’s. I think that they may surprise the Angels and Demons alike. Akiva I think is right to fear a war between their world and the Humans....if one thing humans have proven.....they know how to create destruction and death. But they also are capable of never-ending good deeds, and hope. So I hope ...despite all signs...we get a happy ending for both worlds. Fingers crossed.

    Like the first book, I loved the world building. It is rich and seems so real. All the characters introduced add more to the world and to the experience of the people in it, even the ones that our hero and heroine...if that is what they are in the end. It is kind of up for debate. Which is another thing I liked about this series...it does not try to make anything black and white. Who is the good guy, who is the bad? Who is your enemy, who isn't? And look how quickly that can change based on the situation you face. It shows that everyone is the hero in their own tail, and the villain in another's. Who decides which is true? And how?

    I look forward to the third and final installment. It promises to be very exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Amazing book

    Utter perfection, is Laini taylors written word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Outstanding!

    Outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Good book.

    I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Exciting Sequel

    This was every bit as exciting as the first book. Laini is a gifted writer with a flare for story telling. I can't wait for the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Ultimate Favorite Series I unfortunately just finished readi

    My Ultimate Favorite Series

    I unfortunately just finished reading this. At least when I finished Daughter of Smoke & Bone I had this one to jump right on. But now I have to wait til April 2014, FRICKIN APRIL 2014!!! for Dreams of Gods & Monsters. But I digress...

    This book and the one before it are the type of books that you want to know what happens, but you never want to end. Even as I got closer and closer to that last page, I still devoured every word, careless disregarding the rise in page numbers. It is one of those books that as soon as you are done, you could go right back to Page 1 and start reading it all over and still have all the same feels you had the first time through.

    I have never been more in love with a book series than this one. I am hopeless devoted to any and everything Laini Taylor may ever write that is in any regard to the world she created in this series. This book can be put in no other category. It can't be compared to others. It is in a class all of its own. There is no aspect of it that is anywhere similar to anything you have ever read before. 

    Ms. Taylor, the only thing I implore of you, please continue writing. I can promise you I will be there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    The first book was a great read, this book was only okay...It se

    The first book was a great read, this book was only okay...It seemed like there wasn't enough dialogue, and I know this isn't a real story, but come on, how much can possibly go wrong??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    4 Stars Genre: YA Fantasy/Paranormal Publisher: Little, Brown

    4 Stars

    Genre: YA Fantasy/Paranormal

    Publisher: Little, Brown Books

    Pages: 513

    Target Audience (IMO): 16 and up; some disturbing images

    GoodReads Summary:

    Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a world free of bloodshed and war.

    This is not that world.
    Art student and monster's apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.
    In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she'll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.
    While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.
    But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?


    First: I AM IN LOVE WITH THE COVERS IN THIS SERIES. They are gorgeous.

    Ok, so I RAVED about Daughter of Smoke and Bone. It’s one of the few books I’ve read all the way through multiple times. I thought it was absolute brilliance. So I went into Days of Blood and Starlight with astronomical expectations.

    Let me start by saying this: This book is excellent. I really enjoyed it, and I was sufficiently frustrated by its second-book-in-a-series-ness. Lots of things happened, not much was resolved.

    HOWEVER. I did not love it as much as the first one. (of course, I haven’t loved many books as much as I loved the first one).

    First of all, the world is not as weird and different in the sequel. There aren’t many outings to eerie restaurants where coffins serve as tables and the portal to Brimstone’s shop is closed. I wasn’t assaulted with fascinating and bizarre new bohemian shops or studios. This was one of my favorite parts of the first book. Now, the second book needed to move on to a different setting, so I wasn't disappointed about this, but I will say it I missed its presence slightly.

    HOWEVER: we finally get a solid look at the world inhabited by the chimaera and their angel enemies. Now that was fun and slightly terrifying. But because of that paradigm shift, it felt more like a general fantasy novel, whereas the first was this fascinating hybrid of real life and mythology/fantasy. It's a horrible, brutal world that the chimaera and angels inhabit. And it was excellent getting to see it.

    It was great to get more back story on Akiva and Karou and all their friends/enemies.

    The thing about this book is that it really was more of an explanation of the first. It was almost like Laini Taylor was like, “ok, I gave you that awesomeness and epic-ness in the first one, now let me explain what happened and do some ground work for the third”. It was SO FRUSTRATING though that Akiva and Karou were apart. I mean, it was great for the tension and stuff, but OH MY GOSH. I wanted to rip the book apart, I had so much angst. Which means I am expecting a BEAUTIFUL reuniting scene in the third book. Or at least have them talk without trying to kill each other.

    Also, I was THRILLED that Zuzanna and Mik were important parts of this story. It was fun to have a human perspective on all the magical insanity that was happening. They are such fun characters and I was glad they didn't just disappear when Karou decided she had go off and save the world.

    But really, because the first book was so amazing, and because this one was good, just not AS good, I still loved it. I can’t wait for the third book.Something about the way Taylor writes just sucks me in and won't let me go. I'm being perfectly honest when I say I haven't enjoyed a book as much as Daughter of Smoke and Bone in a long time. Certainly I love many of the books I pick up, but this series is different. I don't re-read many of the books I read, but this series I've read multiple times already. Now, it's not for everyone. My best friend, also a reading maniac like myself didn't care much for this series, and we usually like the same books. It is a weird, at times macabre fantasy ride through Laini Taylor's somewhat creepy and disturbing imagination. But I think it's absolutely BRILLIANT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7