Customer Reviews for

Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

can't wait for the sequel!

i've already read the first book daughter of smoke and bone and loved it.i went ahead and pre-order the sequel days of blood and starlight.it picks up where the first book ended.looking forward to reading the next book and the movie adaption of the first book that i'm h...
i've already read the first book daughter of smoke and bone and loved it.i went ahead and pre-order the sequel days of blood and starlight.it picks up where the first book ended.looking forward to reading the next book and the movie adaption of the first book that i'm hearing about.

posted by anastasiaoa on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Elders den

Here

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    can't wait for the sequel!

    i've already read the first book daughter of smoke and bone and loved it.i went ahead and pre-order the sequel days of blood and starlight.it picks up where the first book ended.looking forward to reading the next book and the movie adaption of the first book that i'm hearing about.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    The Daughter of Smoke and Bone was a lot better in my opinion. N

    The Daughter of Smoke and Bone was a lot better in my opinion. Not that this book wasn't great. It really was. This is definitely one of my favorite series. But it was really confusing. For all of you who are hoping for some Akiva/Karou romance, you may be out of luck until the next book. They didn't really have that much romance in this book. At least, not as much as the previous.

    But even after what i have said, this book only took me 4 hours to read. It was great. There are new characters and foes, and some people that you've wanted to learn more about will have their time to shine. Like Zuze; she narrates a lot in the book!

    It wasn't as great as i had hoped, but it was still good. I cannot wait for book three!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    "Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and d

    "Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a world free of bloodshed and war. This is not that world. [...] She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it."
    How could one not want to read DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT after the ending of DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE? Took me a while to get into the story and feel moved though. This could be because we are following the stories of a bunch of new characters now. The many perspectives mean there's less time to learn more about our beloved Karou and Akiva, too. Akiva's siblings are playing a major role. Then there are chapters about what Zuzana and Mik are up to and how they are planning on getting Karou back. The evil angel leaders' plans on the one side, the forming of a chimaera revolution on the other. We are travelling with a slave caravan and find out how the victims are treated in a war without rules. Many new characters, that could bring new meaning, too, make sure that this sequel is a well-rounded read regarding the narrative emphases Laini Taylor is setting.
    Unforunately, there's not as much travelling in the real world, than in Eretz (One of my favourite parts of DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE were Karou's travels). But Laini Taylor takes us back to Prague where Zuzanne and Mik are worrying about Karou and a second setting in the real world which is located in the desert, under the blazing sun and the bright starry sky. Again, I did feel like I was in a different country and time when I read DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT. Laini Taylor's writing is so vivid and grasping.


    4/5 **** DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT - A brutal and, later into the story, very emotional read with strong character additions.

    A war-torn country, beasts and angels are fighting for their lives when the battle had been thought to be lost. I pretty much guess the pages of this sequel to DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE capture the darkest moments in our character' lives. DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT didn't have the immediate stun effect on me that the first book had. What can we expect from DREAMS OF GODS AND MONSTERS now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Worthy Sequel

    Romeo & Juliet had it easy. What if they had not taken the easy way out? What if they had lived? What if they had fought on opposite sides of the war? In the first book we were introduced to a world of hidden beauty and magic. In this - the 2nd book - the curtains are pulled away to reveal what was only glimpsed at in the 1st book. And we are witness to the war between Angels & Demons. A war of questioning loyalty, where the lines between good and evil are blurred, and there are no easy or right answers. This is a much darker book than The Daughter of Smoke & Bone but it is a more than worthy sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    All that i expected..

    A lot darker than the first and the heroes were never in a good place. Karou is filled with guilt and shame for her perceived wrong to her people that she allows herself into being bullied into doing things in the name of vengeance and war that first book Karou would never think of. And Akiva is also filled with shame and anger and self hatred for his actions...so it a book full of pain and suffering both physical and mental. Karou an Akiva are both filled with pain and mistrust towards each other, but it is understandable based on the history between their people, and what they both witnessed and endured when they still were wide-eye and full of hope. But towards the end, you can still see a glimmer of that hope despite everything, that Karou may still yet live up to the meaning of her name. But I know it will be a while, if the plans of the Dominion for the world of humans are anything to go by...I look forward to seeing how Humans react to these Angels in their midst’s. I think that they may surprise the Angels and Demons alike. Akiva I think is right to fear a war between their world and the Humans....if one thing humans have proven.....they know how to create destruction and death. But they also are capable of never-ending good deeds, and hope. So I hope ...despite all signs...we get a happy ending for both worlds. Fingers crossed.

    Like the first book, I loved the world building. It is rich and seems so real. All the characters introduced add more to the world and to the experience of the people in it, even the ones that our hero and heroine...if that is what they are in the end. It is kind of up for debate. Which is another thing I liked about this series...it does not try to make anything black and white. Who is the good guy, who is the bad? Who is your enemy, who isn't? And look how quickly that can change based on the situation you face. It shows that everyone is the hero in their own tail, and the villain in another's. Who decides which is true? And how?

    I look forward to the third and final installment. It promises to be very exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Good book.

    I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    4 Stars Genre: YA Fantasy/Paranormal Publisher: Little, Brown

    4 Stars

    Genre: YA Fantasy/Paranormal

    Publisher: Little, Brown Books

    Pages: 513

    Target Audience (IMO): 16 and up; some disturbing images

    GoodReads Summary:

    Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a world free of bloodshed and war.

    This is not that world.
    Art student and monster's apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.
    In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she'll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.
    While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.
    But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?


    First: I AM IN LOVE WITH THE COVERS IN THIS SERIES. They are gorgeous.

    Ok, so I RAVED about Daughter of Smoke and Bone. It’s one of the few books I’ve read all the way through multiple times. I thought it was absolute brilliance. So I went into Days of Blood and Starlight with astronomical expectations.

    Let me start by saying this: This book is excellent. I really enjoyed it, and I was sufficiently frustrated by its second-book-in-a-series-ness. Lots of things happened, not much was resolved.

    HOWEVER. I did not love it as much as the first one. (of course, I haven’t loved many books as much as I loved the first one).

    First of all, the world is not as weird and different in the sequel. There aren’t many outings to eerie restaurants where coffins serve as tables and the portal to Brimstone’s shop is closed. I wasn’t assaulted with fascinating and bizarre new bohemian shops or studios. This was one of my favorite parts of the first book. Now, the second book needed to move on to a different setting, so I wasn't disappointed about this, but I will say it I missed its presence slightly.

    HOWEVER: we finally get a solid look at the world inhabited by the chimaera and their angel enemies. Now that was fun and slightly terrifying. But because of that paradigm shift, it felt more like a general fantasy novel, whereas the first was this fascinating hybrid of real life and mythology/fantasy. It's a horrible, brutal world that the chimaera and angels inhabit. And it was excellent getting to see it.

    It was great to get more back story on Akiva and Karou and all their friends/enemies.

    The thing about this book is that it really was more of an explanation of the first. It was almost like Laini Taylor was like, “ok, I gave you that awesomeness and epic-ness in the first one, now let me explain what happened and do some ground work for the third”. It was SO FRUSTRATING though that Akiva and Karou were apart. I mean, it was great for the tension and stuff, but OH MY GOSH. I wanted to rip the book apart, I had so much angst. Which means I am expecting a BEAUTIFUL reuniting scene in the third book. Or at least have them talk without trying to kill each other.

    Also, I was THRILLED that Zuzanna and Mik were important parts of this story. It was fun to have a human perspective on all the magical insanity that was happening. They are such fun characters and I was glad they didn't just disappear when Karou decided she had go off and save the world.

    But really, because the first book was so amazing, and because this one was good, just not AS good, I still loved it. I can’t wait for the third book.Something about the way Taylor writes just sucks me in and won't let me go. I'm being perfectly honest when I say I haven't enjoyed a book as much as Daughter of Smoke and Bone in a long time. Certainly I love many of the books I pick up, but this series is different. I don't re-read many of the books I read, but this series I've read multiple times already. Now, it's not for everyone. My best friend, also a reading maniac like myself didn't care much for this series, and we usually like the same books. It is a weird, at times macabre fantasy ride through Laini Taylor's somewhat creepy and disturbing imagination. But I think it's absolutely BRILLIANT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Confused┬┐

    Honestly, when I read the first page, and on a little, I was confused. I read the first book, tearing through it hungry for more, I grabbed the second book as soon as I could. But, I didn't understand what happened, where nthe characters were, what happened, anything. I mean, the book was great overall, but confusing at first. At least, in my opinion ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    I'm having a hard time deciding between 3 or 4 stars but decided

    I'm having a hard time deciding between 3 or 4 stars but decided on 4 for the ending.This was slow reading for me. Usually I can just plow through a really good book. This one, although interesting, I had to force myself to read it at times. I love how unique the story is. If you read the 1st in the series you will definately want to read this. I'm invested in these characters and want to know how they fare. So I will be looking forward to the 3rd installment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite "Days of

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite

    "Days of Blood & Starlight" is a part of a series and probably the second book. Not knowing what the first book was about, I picked this up. Here we see Karou being held captive in the desert by her enemies who have killed her kind and they force her to resurrect their own. She is torn between worlds as she passes as human yet she is not. Her heart is confused by her choice she has to make. She finds herself battling daily for survival while under the scrutiny of everyone near her. Targeted as a traitor by those who have been misinformed, she is scorned and loathed. She longs for life before the war but knows it can never be again.

    Laini Taylor has one of the most brilliant imaginations we come across in the written word form. Her characters are well-defined to the point that the reader can close their eyes and picture the monsters, the angels and whatever else the author describes. I could all but feel the heat of the desert sand, and the cottony feel of a dry tongued mouth as the scene of the trek of her friends unfolds. I found my teeth gritting with hatred for the enemies of Karou and her people. And I was taken aback at the sight of the apocalyptic scenes and the disturbing underworld. If you are a fan of fantasy, this is definitely the series for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Compelling

    Powerful story but bleak

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Bleak and Beautiful

    Even better than Daughter of Smoke and Bone! The first book is all set-up to this beautifully crafted book. I had great book - hangover on this one and could hardly pick up a new book because I was so engrossed in the story of Karou and Akiva.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Too powerful to put down. . .Following in the footsteps of book

    Too powerful to put down. . .Following in the footsteps of book one, we pick up very near to where the story left off and just keep on running flat out from there. Along the way we learn a great deal more about several of the main characters, including things that suddenly alter the direction of the story, and sometimes our relationship to certain characters.

    Once again Taylor manages to surprise us with story changes that keep the books from feeling like rewrites of stories that came before. She puts her own unmistakable stamp on the story, one the will make the reader want to try anything with her name on it.

    This time she manages to pull a whole new world into the story, in two ways, though the reader only knows of one to begin with. And until writing this review I felt totally surprised by that particular twist and the earlier risk of it, but in retrospect I have to wonder how it is that this knowledge was never previously exposed in the story. Hopefully that will be answered in the third installment.

    Once again Taylor has a deft hand when it comes to wringing emotion from both the characters and readers (either that or I'm a total sap). This book contains peaks and valleys for the characters/readers to try to successfully navigate. And like anyone, there will be some astounding 'saves,' as well as some spectacular 'wipe-outs' for many characters.

    Throughout the story we are treated to some impressive whiplash plot twists (in a good way, assuming there is such a thing as good whiplash), and in the end left breathlessly anticipating the next installment. (This being my hint to honor me with an ARC to review, pretty please?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2