Customer Reviews for

Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    chouhefuiwefgughrubajcbkjbcbdicvkbasckjnhuasbbaiebwjcknjkvbvbqeh

    chouhefuiwefgughrubajcbkjbcbdicvkbasckjnhuasbbaiebwjcknjkvbvbqehgquewbewibedkvd

    I have too many feels right now. Review later.

    *Edit*

    Well, thinking it over didn't give me any better an idea of what to say about this. If I'm not mistaken, I was the exact same way after reading Daughter of Smoke & Bone. Struck speechless. That is a feat of no mean proportions. I thought there was no possible way that Laini Taylor could follow up with anything even close to what she did to me with the first book. Apparently, when I am wrong, I am SPECTACULARLY wrong.

    Reading this was a physical, visceral experience. I didn't just read it with my eyes, my whole body got in on the act. My blood, by turns, either froze or boiled. The hair stood up on my arms, gooseflesh crawled over my whole body, muscles locked down, my stomach dropped and rolled, and my heart clenched, squeezed and shattered. It was ridiculous, incredible, terrifying and fabulous.

    In DoS&B, Karou was a badass, true. But she still had an innocence to her, as with the blush of her first true love. That's all gone now. Burned away with all that became ash under her feet in Loramendi and all that's left tastes as bitter in her mouth as that ash would be.

    Now Karou has not only got to be tough, she has to be iron. Unbreakble. Even when she's terrified, or when her heart is in pieces. To me, that makes her even more of a badass than she was before.

    Akiva, oh my God. He crushes me in this, so much. But no matter how devastated he is, he's determined to do what he promised he would. He's absolutely hopeless that he will ever be forgiven by Karou, but he never stops trying to make it right.

    There are so many awesome characters. Mik & Zuzana are so great in this, I love them. And Ziri, a Kirin like Madrigal, who crushed on her before she was executed. *sigh* I really love Ziri, but I can tell already that he is going to break my heart too, in a totally different way. Hazael and Liraz, Akiva's brother & sister, are much more present in the story and you get a closer look at who they are, which is more than they appeared to be previously.

    But this is war and it is brutal and harsh. Thiago, that snake, is every bit as savage as he was before and consumed even more by his desire to destroy the angels. *shivers* He's evil and scary as hell to read. This time though, Thiago isn't the only one plotting to spill blood. Jael, the commander of the angel Dominion forces is every bit as cruel and sly as Thiago, but he takes pleasure in being twisted.

    Ms. Taylor's writing here is just as lush, rich and spell-binding as everything I've read by her. But I'm not gonna lie, she is going to run your emotions through a wringer with this story. This is a truly amazing read and you can bet your ass I'll be first in line for the next one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When we last left Karou, her family was missing and possibly dea

    When we last left Karou, her family was missing and possibly dead, she had learned many secrets about herself and those around her and was potentially mortal enemies with the angel she loved. ¿It is in this desolate state that we find Karou again in Days of Blood and Starlight.

    I hesitate to go into too much detail about the plot points in fear of ruining the unfolding of Karou's new circumstances. Suffice it to say that although Karou believes she is doing exactly what she must do to right the wrongs of her world, she finds herself allied with her previous enemies and with no one to guide her except her own guilty conscience. Caught in the middle of the ages long war between the seraphim and the chimaera, Karou finds she plays a vital role which could change the outcome and end the war forever.

    I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone to pieces and it was my Favorite Book of 2011. Sometimes the sophomore effort of a series can leave a reader wanting, this is not the case with Days of Blood and Starlight. After the initial setup, I found this to be quite the page-turner.

    As always, Laini Taylor is a master storyteller and brilliant world-builder. The detail with which she has plotted out every detail of Karou's fantastical world is stunning. If you are reading Days of Blood and Starlight for the romance, you might be a tad let down. Akiva and Karou are kept apart for the majority of the story, however, much is revealed through a series of flashbacks that might keep your need for amour sated.

    I highly recommend Taylor's latest novel with zero hesitation, but you must read Daughter of Smoke and Bone first! This series is a soon to be classic and a perfect way to escape for a few days.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Elders den

    Here

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    I loved the first book, and this one was just as good

    This book book was wonderful, well paced, and all together amazing. I was dieing to read the 2nd book by the time I was done with the the1st book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    When I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone, it was a book that I have never read before. Brilliant storyline and conflict among characters. The brilliance continues in Days of Blood & Starlight. I couldnt put the book down once i started reading it. Karou and Akiva's battles with themselves and surroundings drew me into their world. I felt I was following them page after page. This book did not dissappoint, and i cant wait to read the third installment to these wonderful, creative books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

     

     

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    I went the audiobook route with the second in this series becau


    I went the audiobook route with the second in this series because I adored the first audiobook. I find that the narrator spins magic with Taylor’s words and she can paint a beautiful image of all those in Karou’s world. I found this one even more heat breaking than the first as the two worlds plunged into war.


    I think what made me most sad was that Karou and Akiva were still at odds the way they were at the end of the first book. There is so much more to their lives that we have yet to learn, but this book did a great job of opening up into what the war looked like for both sides. It gave us a glimpse at what the problem was, at who was continuing this battle that seemed to have to no start. Its almost like Romeo and Juliet the way no one knows what started to feud between the different sides.

    I think that it was great that we learned more about the different Chimera and the way that they lived and loved. There was no sense to what was happening to villagers as we learned how the battle between the Angels and Chimera was affecting all.

    But even better was that we continued to follow Akiva as he went to try to set things straight. He made decisions that were punishable by death, but we learned that he wasn’t alone in his feelings as he joined other’s who felt the same way. This book broke your heart in ways that you didn’t even know it could be broken.

    I loved that we got to see both sides from Karou and Akiva. We saw the underlying cruelty of both sides and we saw the kindness and the hope. I cannot wait for the third book to hit shelves so I can see where this is all going to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Tyranno's bio

    * Tyranno * one moon * tom * kit * brown wirh darker brown stripes and green eyes * Fox * Deimos * &#9856 * ask *

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Amazing book

    Utter perfection, is Laini taylors written word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Outstanding!

    Outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Exciting Sequel

    This was every bit as exciting as the first book. Laini is a gifted writer with a flare for story telling. I can't wait for the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Ultimate Favorite Series I unfortunately just finished readi

    My Ultimate Favorite Series

    I unfortunately just finished reading this. At least when I finished Daughter of Smoke & Bone I had this one to jump right on. But now I have to wait til April 2014, FRICKIN APRIL 2014!!! for Dreams of Gods & Monsters. But I digress...

    This book and the one before it are the type of books that you want to know what happens, but you never want to end. Even as I got closer and closer to that last page, I still devoured every word, careless disregarding the rise in page numbers. It is one of those books that as soon as you are done, you could go right back to Page 1 and start reading it all over and still have all the same feels you had the first time through.

    I have never been more in love with a book series than this one. I am hopeless devoted to any and everything Laini Taylor may ever write that is in any regard to the world she created in this series. This book can be put in no other category. It can't be compared to others. It is in a class all of its own. There is no aspect of it that is anywhere similar to anything you have ever read before. 

    Ms. Taylor, the only thing I implore of you, please continue writing. I can promise you I will be there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    Karou has found a way home, but there is nothing left. Akiva has

    Karou has found a way home, but there is nothing left. Akiva has returned to his flock. Hiding his distraught over losing Karou again, he puts his efforts toward finishing what their love started. Two sides battle against the other in a different world. Yet Karou is now mixed, she is part of her own world, but she is also of Earth now. The small fact brings new opportunities and worse dangers to her fight. As each side fights for what they believe is right, how can survival prevail? I have been hording this book for a while. I knew it wouldn’t disappoint and man, it was just as miraculous as the first book. The blending of fantasy with reality is spectacular, as is the hardship and the grief. Taylor doesn’t hold back and she ploughs full force into this next exciting chapter in her well-crafted series. If you have read the first book but not this one, DO SO IMMEDIATELY. I can’t wait for the final book, although I’m sad to say it’s scheduled for publication in 2014, called Dreams of Gods & Monsters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Page turner!

    When's the third book come out? I'm on the edge of my seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    i didn't knew exactly what to expect from this book but it was a

    i didn't knew exactly what to expect from this book but it was amazing! can't wait for the third book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I have read Daughter of Smoke and Bone ten times this being my e

    I have read Daughter of Smoke and Bone ten times this being my eleventh and i am excited more even enthusiastic about reading the sequel. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Love love love this book

    This book is amasing! This is the sequal to "Daughter of smoke and bone"... I love the romance between the two! Fabulous book, it is a MUST buy!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Love, FAVORITE!

    Love this series. I cannot wait for the next one!!!!! I keep looking for it and would pre order it if possible. This is like no other story or writer. I love laini taylor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    You know how you come along through your life and you see things

    You know how you come along through your life and you see things that seem very well matched together?
    For example:
    peanut butter and jelly
    cookies and milk
    books/hot tea/coffee
    I think you are starting to get the idea now.  
    Well the author, Laini Taylor, and the narrator, Kristine Hvam, are like these matches I named above.  They are great by themselves but when teamed up together they make magic.  I know that sounds cliche but I am telling you Hvam can tell this story like no other person I have ever read.  And of course without Taylor creating this frightening and powerful world there would be no story to tell.  




    When I finished Daughter of Smoke and Bone I sat mystified.  I knew I had found my new favorite book.  The book that I needed to have a hard copy of, an auditory copy of, an digital copy of; and basically it would be cherished on the book shelf that no other person could reach unless I get credit check.  {Maybe its a little extreme but you know where I am coming from}
    Everyone I talked to I bragged about this story; that I was lucky enough to read it and get sucked into a world where Seraphim and Chimaera collided, with all kinds of outcomes, many good but many evil. 




    But then....I got my hands (and ears) on book 2 and let's just say I am forever changed from the simple yet powerful spoken words that came from Laini Taylor's imagination and uttered from Kristine Hvam's mesmerizing voice.  
    So now, Days of Blood and Starlight is my new new favorite book.  
    I found myself having a longer time finishing book 2.  Not because I found it distasteful but actually because I wanted to take my sweet time with it.  I wanted to slowly enjoy it and not rush through it like I did the first one.  I found myself really contemplating each chapter; and even now I find myself wanting to revisit the world of Chimaera when I become enthralled with waiting for book 3 impatiently. 
    The characters in this story are rich and complex as they come.  It is hard not to wince at their pain, share in their happiness, and weep at their heartbreak.  Akiva has many warring natures inside him and yet he still finds himself trying to do what is right, even though he feels like he has lost everything.  
    Karou is my heart and soul, character-wise.  She is broken in this book and slowly trying to make amends for what she feels is her fault.  And yet even through her guilt ridden thoughts, she still finds small comforts.  She is trying to become one person again even with the two personalities inside her.  Although she remembers her other life now, I still see her struggling to accept her life without Akiva, even though she blames him for so much.
    While our protagonists are amazing characters and probably some of my most favorite ones in the literary world today; our antagonists are breathtaking as well.  They are dark, evil, and strangely seductive in their badness.  I detest Thiago but he does have a sexiness to him that I believe Taylor deliberately gives his character so we can see the dark allure he has over some of the Chimaera.  Then there is the Emperor of the Seraphim and his brother.  In all honesty, I really hate these guys more so than I do Thiago, even though I believe these evil Seraphim leaders have plenty in common with the white wolf.  
    And of course I can't forget about the wonderful supporting characters of Zuzana and Mik.  I believe Zuzana has to be the comic relief in this dark and foreboding story.  She keeps Karou grounded to her human self even when it is so much easier to give in to her former Chimaeran self.  I love Zuzana to pieces and all of her quirky snarky comments really do add to this already emotionally written story.  
    Besides strong characters to die for, the plot in this story is a strong thread that runs throughout the novel, keeping you focused on it no matter what.  Days of Blood and Starlight is a heavy, dark, and intense sequel that keeps you worrying that nothing is as it seems.  There is a lot of sadness in this story among all the battles, death, and war happening all around both sides.  But even during this time, you see small victories, small smiles and a small and fragile feeling: hope.  
    I love how Taylor introduces us to many new characters but instead of bombarding us with so many that have very little to do with the main thread; each of these new identities we meet have an important part to play in this world.  
    Of course, in Laini Taylor fashion it seems she loves leaving the reader gasping for breath, shocked at the sudden cliffhanger we are forced to deal with until the next installment rescues us from the horror of it all.  




    I highly recommend you pick up this series.  It is the most beautifully well written prose I have every come across.  The world building as well as the character building is flawless and I just cannot find any fault with it at all.  
    I am, however, spoiled to the audiobook.  The narrator, Kristine Hvam, is an amazing and talented vocal actress.  I am not really sure if that is what you would call it but in truth, I really think that is what she does.  She can do so many voices that they truly sound like something otherworldly definitely from another time and place.  Her voice of Brimstone is dark and gritty, though carrying a hint of warmness; while her voice of Zuzana is mischevious and mildly mocking.  I am so awestruck at this lady's vocals talents and I am so glad she is the narrator for this wonderfully enticing series.  
    Like I said before:  these two together have gifted the literary world with a true magical present that we will never forget and will always cherish.




    I give Days of Blood and Starlight five hearts and many many more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2013

    this book is so good a little confusing in the beginning but it

    this book is so good a little confusing in the beginning but it gets better. so much suspense (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5