Customer Reviews for

Days of Gold (Edilean Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Series, ebooks have flaws

First let me say I love it when Ms. Deveraux writes books in series, and the Edilean series is very good. I recently purchased a NookColor, which I love. I was excited to again start reading Ms. Deveraux's books again. But I have to say I am a bit disappointed. I've rea...
First let me say I love it when Ms. Deveraux writes books in series, and the Edilean series is very good. I recently purchased a NookColor, which I love. I was excited to again start reading Ms. Deveraux's books again. But I have to say I am a bit disappointed. I've read the five books currently available in the six book "Edilean" series. I'm not sure if Barnes and Noble is responsible for my disappointments or if Ms. Deveraux is responsible, but I believe it is a combination of the two. In the first book I found a reference to a character and the name was wrong, page 177 "Joce and Luke", should be "Ingrid and Luke". Throughout each book every time the word "historical" is used, the word "an" is before it, this is grammatically wrong, and hard to read time after time. These are probably issues that should be direct to Ms. Deveraux. However, having the ebooks numbered incorrectly, whose fault is that? I just finished #5 which has a preview for #3 which clearly indicates that "Scarlet Nights" #3 is after "The Scent of Jasmine" #5. Also, on every page of the story portion of the ebook version of The Scent of Jasmine in the top left corner is "Judge deveraux" so the name of the author is wrong on every page and the author's last name is not capitalized. Who is responsible for that? Now let's talk about ebook number #4 in this series, the fault of both Barnes and Noble and Ms. Deveraux. Having read five of the six books in this series, I have to ask, what were these people thinking? First #4 is not anything more than a seventy page short story, and completely unnecessary to the series as a whole. The enhanced portion of this book, which by the way this book is only available in NookColor format, is video. I was hopeful that the videos would add to the story. They do not. To make matters worse, the videos are all of poor quality and have a very amateurish feel to them. Again I have to ask, what were these people thinking? If I was buying this series as regular paper versions, I would be extremely upset that book #4 in the series was unavailable to me. The story series is very good, and I still love my NookColor and Ms. Deveraux is still one of my all time fav romance writers (I've read probably more than 20/25 of her books), but I am disappointed in the execution of these books to electronic format. Please someone tell me where is the quality control and editors when these conversions are done?

posted by MzLittleBird on July 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Too Predictable

I knew after the first two chapters how this book would end. I normally love Jude Deveraux's books and have bought several. Glad I borrowed this one from the library. Not worth the price.

posted by CarolynSS on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Very Good Series, ebooks have flaws

    First let me say I love it when Ms. Deveraux writes books in series, and the Edilean series is very good. I recently purchased a NookColor, which I love. I was excited to again start reading Ms. Deveraux's books again. But I have to say I am a bit disappointed. I've read the five books currently available in the six book "Edilean" series. I'm not sure if Barnes and Noble is responsible for my disappointments or if Ms. Deveraux is responsible, but I believe it is a combination of the two. In the first book I found a reference to a character and the name was wrong, page 177 "Joce and Luke", should be "Ingrid and Luke". Throughout each book every time the word "historical" is used, the word "an" is before it, this is grammatically wrong, and hard to read time after time. These are probably issues that should be direct to Ms. Deveraux. However, having the ebooks numbered incorrectly, whose fault is that? I just finished #5 which has a preview for #3 which clearly indicates that "Scarlet Nights" #3 is after "The Scent of Jasmine" #5. Also, on every page of the story portion of the ebook version of The Scent of Jasmine in the top left corner is "Judge deveraux" so the name of the author is wrong on every page and the author's last name is not capitalized. Who is responsible for that? Now let's talk about ebook number #4 in this series, the fault of both Barnes and Noble and Ms. Deveraux. Having read five of the six books in this series, I have to ask, what were these people thinking? First #4 is not anything more than a seventy page short story, and completely unnecessary to the series as a whole. The enhanced portion of this book, which by the way this book is only available in NookColor format, is video. I was hopeful that the videos would add to the story. They do not. To make matters worse, the videos are all of poor quality and have a very amateurish feel to them. Again I have to ask, what were these people thinking? If I was buying this series as regular paper versions, I would be extremely upset that book #4 in the series was unavailable to me. The story series is very good, and I still love my NookColor and Ms. Deveraux is still one of my all time fav romance writers (I've read probably more than 20/25 of her books), but I am disappointed in the execution of these books to electronic format. Please someone tell me where is the quality control and editors when these conversions are done?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story line!

    Here is a book that took turns that you didn't see coming. Very romantic and full of lust. Great read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This historical prequel to Lavender Morning provides readers the background to the founders of Edilean, Virginia,

    When Edilean Talbot leaves England for Scotland in 1766 to live with her uncle, she feels out of place. However, worse she is despondent because rather than take care of her, he is marrying her to one of his odious friends once she turns eighteen so they can use the gold she inherited from her late father.

    Although he believes no good deed goes unpunished, Angus McTern agrees to help her escape from her nefarious uncle. Both must flee Scotland as she runs from an unwanted marriage and he from the law accusing him of kidnapping her. He escorts her by pretending to be her husband, across the ocean to the colonies though he also conceals he loves her. However, upon reaching Boston, they separate, but meet soon afterward when mutual friends help Edilean with an adversary.

    This historical prequel to Lavender Morning provides readers the background to the founders of Edilean, Virginia, but readers do not need to have read the second tale to enjoy this fun Georgian romance. The story line is fast-paced with a damsel in distress theme enhanced by the hero seeming to always get in trouble when he rescues her. Although the cast is somewhat stereotyped, the plot is refreshed by Angus who cannot prevent himself from rescuing Edilean, which he knows is trouble with the law, her enemies, and his heart.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    Good but in wrong order

    These are in the wront order. This is book 2 in the series, but it should have been the first. It just makes more sense to read this one first. It was a good book though. I couldn't put it down. She is the absolute best author EVER!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    I enjoyed this story very much. I had read later books in the Ed

    I enjoyed this story very much. I had read later books in the Edilean series and was very interested in learning the origins of the story. Wonderful and kept me reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Addicting!!

    I read one of the Edilean books a long time ago, and I liked it; for some reason I never pursued buying the other books; I guess I just needed to read them in order!!

    Simply loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good read

    I enjoyed this book but did not find it to really have to be read as part of the series. I feel they are independent stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    Too Predictable

    I knew after the first two chapters how this book would end. I normally
    love Jude Deveraux's books and have bought several. Glad I borrowed this
    one from the library. Not worth the price.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    I love the Edilean Series- Of all the series in the Edilean seri

    I love the Edilean Series- Of all the series in the Edilean series, this is my favorite. If you are a true Jude Deveraux fan, you must read the series and this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Days of Gold is the second novel in the Edilean Series. I was c

    Days of Gold is the second novel in the Edilean Series. I was curious about this novel since I read Scarlet Nights which is the following novel in the series.
    Synopsis:
    The will states that Edilean Talbot has to marry a gentleman of her choice who will inherit her gold. Her uncle interpreted this statement a little differently and chose two men for her to marry. Edilean makes a choice which involves the Angus McTern and not the two men. Angus develops affection for her in their journeys, but can it blossom into love? What will happen once they make it to America? Will Edilean be successful there?
    My Thoughts:
    I looked forward to reading this book. I did enjoy it! I was ready to find out what happens next in the series. I did like that this novel was not the typical historical romance where the man arrogantly pursues the female; and she quietly hates him. I like the fact that the plot was different. The characters of Angus and Edilean are memorable.
    If you have not checked out the Edilean series by Jude Deveraux, there are many books in the series. Days of Gold is second novel in the series. Scarlet Nights is the third novel in the series. Edilean is a little town in Virginia. The town is made up of people from Scotland. You can go to Jude Deveraux’s website to find out more about the family tree of the McTern’s. I am looking forward to learning more myself.
    Please visit Jude Deveraux at her website and Facebook.
    Rating:
    4/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I haven't read this series yet, but can someone tell me the corr

    I haven't read this series yet, but can someone tell me the correct order of the books? Seems I shouldn't go by the numbers, so could you please list the order by tittle?

    Thank you in advance!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    So far loving these series..

    So far loving these series..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    The Edilean series

    Love it. I can't wait to read the last two in the Edilean series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Farming out her books

    This lacks all the skill of her early novels. Clearly, a pathetic ghost wrote this. If you like historical romance, look to Dev's early novels--not this junk. Poor writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I usually love books by Jude. But not this one. It should have been book 1, not book 2. Not up to the usual Jude standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Big Disappointment

    This book was another let down. Jude is really losing her touch. The story was just plain silly and weak. No real connection or any real sexual tension between the main characters. Nothing romantic. The men in the story were silly men. What is going on with Jude? Just a bunch of words thrown together. Glad I borrowed the book from the library or I would have been asking for my money back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Breath taking!

    Excellent story of the begining of the story. Great book to get lost in could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    Great Book

    I think this is one of her best books in recent years. The hero and heroine are fallible yet good people and their connection results in what I believe is a breathtaking love story. Note, if you're searching for a book with tons of sex scenes, this isn't it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Jude Deveraux is the Best!

    Once again, she has captured a wonderful story. I have read almost all of her books, and this one is as fantastic as the others. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Why I Enjoyed "Days of Gold"

    I was not, until within this past year a reader of novels of any type. I had never been able to find a story that captivated me long enough for me to stick with it until the end. Well, finally about a year ago, I finally found the right book. From then on, I have been on a "terror" of sorts, reading several other novels. Some I have already re-read. Dayf of Gold was given to me by my sister. She had borrowed it from a co-worker & we were passing along novels. My sister said she liked it, but didn't go into a lot of detail. I said that I would try it. It only took me a day-day 1/2 to finish it. Once I got into the story, it did indeed capture my full attention. Even though it is set in the 1800's, it still brought forth a lot of special feelings & thoughts. It actually re-triggered the need to for me to start work on family ancestry. It has always been said that my family decended from Germany, Ireland, England & SCOTLAND. I believe this story truly touched me on a deeper level because of this connection. I have already confirmed 3 of the 4, with the Scottish connection still not completely confirmed, however, many of the Scotts first traveled to Ireland before coming to America. I'm just trying to find that specific connection. But even still, I am very excited about what I have already found. So thanks to my sister for passing this novel along to me. I really enjoyed it. I have now even purhcased it to include it in my newly started book collection. My sister & I have since discussed this novel & she stated she felt the same type of draw to the story also. We strongly believe it is because of our heritage. If you like a little fiestiness, playfulness & definite unrequitted romance, then I believe that you will enjoy this novel also.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10