Customer Reviews for

Daysider (Harlequin Nocturne Series #165)

Average Rating 3
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read from August 03 to 05, 2013 Book Info  ebook, 304



    Read from August 03 to 05, 2013




    Book Info 




    ebook, 304 pages
    Published August 1st 2013 by Harlequin Nocturne
    ISBN 1460317025 (ISBN13: 9781460317020)
    Source:Netgalley EARC




    Book Buy Links 




    AMAZON 




    B&N 




    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    Human/vampire relations are in turmoil in a stunning new series by New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Susan Krinard




    Tensions between human and vampire factions are escalating. Peace hangs in the balance. And like two ill-fated stars, Alexia Fox and Damon are destined to collide. She's a seductive human operative on a mission to infiltrate an illegal vampire colony. He's a vampire and represents everything she loathes-and all that she desires. Their attraction is scorching, immediate...and could explode like the fragile truce they've both been fighting independently to preserve. Now the world's last hope hinges on their ability to work together. As enemies they are doomed, but as allies they just might save the world.




    My Thoughts








    What I did not like or what gave me the most pause as I read the book were a couple or things:




    1. The two main characters internalize more than they show by word or deed, even their actions are not consistent with how they seem to feel at times and it can be a bit confusing if not downright misleading. 




    2. The at times overwhelming amount of information that could have been minimalized by the characters just taking action rather than "thinking" things to death.




    3. The fact that the main characters are involved almost from the beginning while at the same time they fight their mutual feelings for each other, even though they become physically intimate, and they show no real trust in one another until almost the end of the book which makes it hard to see them as a couple.




    What I did like and what kept me enjoying reading the story:




    1. The world building done by the author was concise and well developed.




    2. The different factions of Vampires are explained in just enough detail to set them apart from each other and keep track of who is who easier.




    3. Alexia Fox, the dhampire Aegis agent, is a strong leading female character whose mission puts her at war with herself emotionally even though she tries not to let it hamper her ability to complete her job.




    4. Damon is very believable as a Vampire who has the ability to walk in daylight with full immunity to the sun, his race the Darketans are not quite unique to vampire lore but rarely explored and my favorite type of vampire hybrid.




    While I felt a bit of confusion trying to keep up with the different characters and their allegiances at times on the whole this was a nice easy read that the author has detailed very believably and her characters are developed in a manner that allows the reader more time to focus on the the action in the scenes rather than spending a lot of time worrying about who is doing what or why they are behaving the way they are. 








    There is a lot of political maneuvering that takes place in the story, at times it overshadows the main plot point and at times it also dictates the characters actions but in the end it all boils down to whether or not enmity can be set aside for the good of both human and vampire alike. By the time you finish this book you will have a new appreciation for just how hard such a resolution is to achieve. Kudos for the way in which the author dealt with the many problems as they arise throughout the story.




    Having read and enjoyed several books previously written by author Susan Krinard in her Fane series and her Vampire/Werewolf Trilogy it was with great joy that I saw where she had penned several new works in 2013 including this book Daysider and her first book in her new Urban Fantasy series Mist-Mist #1 which released in mid July.




    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Confusing

    At the start there are too many terms that are not defined, it makes it very hard to follow the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Daysider. Susan Krinard. ARC supplied by Netgalley. I love

    Daysider. Susan Krinard.

    ARC supplied by Netgalley.

    I love fantasy and especially vampire romance novels. I had some trouble starting this book though, the world introduced is typically dystopian, and as the environment and people are so different I had to keep referring back to see what the characteristics of the different types of people were, and exactly which side each belonged to. It was a work of suspense and adventure where Dhampire Alexia Fox is sent out on a covert mission with another person, and she meets Damon, a vampire, but of the type known as Darketan. Various things happen and Alexia ends up teamed with Damon, and her partner has gone off alone. It's part of a plan they've come up with not trusting Damon, but it has repercussions beyond that which they envisaged.
    For much of the early part of the novel the only characters are Alexia and her partner Michael. I thought that this would have allowed me to get to “know” them, but I never really felt I did that. Michael remained an enigma to me, and I couldn't feel any kind of empathy for Alexia. I don't know why – but it did mean that the novel never really took off for me. I did like Damon, what I knew of him, and he seemed, ironically, the most trust worthy of the three to me. There's lots of trickery and double dealing, and I got to the place where my gut was trusting Damon but I really hadn't a clue who else was telling the truth, and what was actually happening as opposed to the versions told by various others we met. The first half of the novel really doesn't seem to have much occurring, Michael and Alexia go into the Zone, a sort of neutral no mans (or vampires) land. They meet Damon as I said earlier, and other than scouting back and forth, and being attacked by unknown others there doesn't seem to be much real action, or anything relevant progressing the story . There's lots going on but it doesn't move the story forward for me.
    Sadly this is a novel that hasn't worked for me, I was just too uninterested in what happened to the various factions. There's lots of double dealing and betrayals, a smattering of romance and a big reveal at the end, but it all left me unmoved. Its just not the sort of novel I enjoy – but then I don't like Pratchett, Eddings, Rowling, Showalter etc. and yet millions of readers love them. Its an example of a good, well written book but one that simply doesn't resonate for me. That doesn't mean others won't like it – thankfully we all want different things and that leads to a fantastic selection of novels and inevitable some will appear to be ones we'd like but in reality not work out. My rating is personal, based on my enjoyment – others will form a different view.
    It contains 368 pages for £4.74 on kindle, a good lengthy read and another reason I thought I'd enjoy it. Its such a different world with so many types of character that a shorter novel wouldn't allow any understanding of them. It needs to be that length, I'm just sad it didn't work for me :( On my VFM scale its good value, and for those who enjoy it and re-read as I do with favourite novels it works out a bargain.
    Stars: just two sadly, I just didn't like it – a reflection on how it fits – or doesn’t – my taste though and not on the book itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a good read for people who love vampire books. At tim


    This was a good read for people who love vampire books. At times, it was confusing keeping all the different terms correct. It had a great story line to it. The chemistry between Alexia and Damon was HOT. Even though they were mortal enemies, they needed to work together to save each other and the world, as they knew it. I hope to read more books by Ms. Krinard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olso

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson
    *eARC received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
    -Actual rating 4.5 Skulls

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It was like a Sci-Fi mixed with an Urban Fantasy, mixed with a Paranormal Romance and had me hooked
    from the very beginning.

    Susan somehow managed to combine heart stopping action and edge of your seat suspense with enough romance to keep diehard
    Paranormal Romance fans happy while still making Urban Fantasy lovers want more. There was also a deliciously dark edge to things.

    The world building was done wonderfully, the characters were well developed and instantly likable (or reviled) - except of course for those
     times when they were one or the other and ended up being the opposite. ;-)- and the story was fast paced and full of intrigue. 

    This was a book that I grabbed from NetGalley because it looked interesting and because I knew we would be hosting Susan for her
    Urban Fantasy debut, but it ended up being a read that I couldn't put down. I can't wait for more of this series... If you want a unique Urban
    Fantasy Romance with a bit of a Sci-Fi feel that has tons of action, fascinating plot twists, and major room for future installment potential
    then this is definitely a book you need to check out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    I had never read anything by Susan Krinard before I read this bo

    I had never read anything by Susan Krinard before I read this book, so maybe this story is somehow tied to her other series, but I don’t think it is. And that is where the problem’s begin, although this book does have a prologue explaining some things in this world this book is written like it’s the second or third book in a series. The prologue while explaining the war the led the world to be the way it is also very briefly tells us the story of Jenna Donnelly’s conception one of the first Dhampire’s on record. A woman who whose parents loved each other and met during the first wave of the war. Why was Jenna mentioned? I have absolutely no idea because she had nothing to do with this story. After her mention in the prologue neither she, nor her parents make an appearance in the book. This story follows Alexia, a dhampire born of the second wave of the war. These Dhampire’s, mother’s were raped by the vampire’s.




    The Vampire’s or Opir as they prefer to be called are a complete mystery. They lay dormant deep in the earth for Millennia. Why? We don’t know, and we’re never told. One day they awoke and decided to take over the Earth replacing human’s are top dog. Why? We don’t know and we’re never told. Although the Opir don’t consider themselves human everyone we come into contact with has been turned. So several millennia ago did a bunch of people became Vampire’s then decided to bury themselves deep in the ground. Why? We don’t know and we’re never told. Are these elder’s that are spoken of but we never see truly supernatural or other worldy? Were they truly never human but able to turn human’s? We don’t know and we’re never told. When the Opir rose they must have had low number’s so they turned several human’s to be their soldier’s. Some of these soldier’s are mutants and can walk in Daylight. Why can the walk in the sun but are weaker in strength than other Opir? We don’t know and we’re never told. The Opir also have their own ancient language that was unknown to human’s before they rose, but we never get to hear it. Damon our Opir/Daysider/Darketan hero refer’s to himself as sterile. Alexia says something to the effect of Dhampire’s can’t just be made, so are they sterile too? The Opir are not dead as evidenced by the fact that they can procreate with human’s. So can Opir procreate with each other? Why are Daysider sterile? Are Dhampire’s sterile? Does walking in sunlight strip them of their fertility? We don’t know and we are never told. Also this story take’s place in California. There are three colony’s. One human, on vampire, and one undetermined rebel. There is no mention of the rest of the world. Is this all that’s left of life? Are their other colony’s but no longer a larger Government overall. Are there other vampire colony’s? I understand that a writer has to leave a bit a mystery so that the reader comes back for more of a series but this was ridiculous.




    Alexia the heroine was strong, smart, and capable. Damon was the typical brooding and mysterious vampire. Neither character was particularly witty or endearing, to be honest none of the character’s were. How these character’s fell in love is beyond me. They didn’t spend much time talking about thing’s other than avoiding or fighting the conflict they both faced. Alexia did not even begin to trust Damon until the very end of the book. They did have very hot sex, but that’s lust not love. In the end the stories conflict was resolved, so I am grateful there was no cliffhanger. All that being said I probably would read the next book in this series. I liked the world that was built, of the next book answer’s some of the basic question raised in this novel I would become a fan of the series. I’ll just have to wait and see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1