Customer Reviews for

De Novo Syndrome (A Novel of the DMB Files) (for fans of Ernest Cline, John Scalzi, Pierce Brown)

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Ugh

    It all sounds like a good mix but I found it incredibly confusing. Rather unbelievable as well; I know it's fiction and there is a willing suspension of disbelief implied, but too many times the situation became so improbable that I lost interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    An incredible science fiction/thriller full of mystery and suspe

    An incredible science fiction/thriller full of mystery and suspense.

    Dr. Jim Buckner is trying to find a cure for his daughter's 'illness.'  What he doesn't realize is his research will result in a war between factions he didn't know existed.  He finds himself and his daughter right in the center of this latest fight.  "De Novo Syndrome" by Jim Buckner (David Mark Brown) is an amazing new science fiction/thriller.  This novel is a wild ride, full of speculation, mystery, and action.  You won't be able to put it down.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  The reader is thrown immediately into an intense ride where you always feel at least one step behind.  I found the writing style to my taste and the character development to be fantastic.  I am aware the author has multiple other books that may be connected with this new series and which may fill in some of the blanks, though I believe this book can stand on it's own.  Although the book leaves the reader with more questions then answers, I did not find this detrimental or frustrating.  The action was profound and his take on telekinesis captivating.  The mystery and suspense leaves the reader wanting more.

    Brown's character development was flawless.  Dr. Bucker is a great character, full of humor.  He also has a side of himself that even he doesn't understand.  The reader follows Buckner while he discovers what he is capable of, as well as what has been hiding in plain sight all these years.  The world is a much different place then he ever imagined.

    It is a genuinely fantastic science fiction thriller with an extra splash of science and human evolution.  I read this book extremely quickly and will be impatiently waiting for the next installment.  

    I received this novel thorough Goodreads First Reads.  This in no way influenced my review.  I was not compensated for, nor required to, write a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    Highly recommended loved it

    This was made for me.I love fiction and science fiction.This was a delightful book.I read it in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1