Customer Reviews for

The Dead (Enemy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

An Awesome Rollercoaster Thrill Ride

I just finished reading the second book in this exciting new series by Charlie Higson. This second book in the series is actually a prequal to the first book, "The Enemy". The first book was also an awesome thrill ride. It began about a year and a half after a viral out...
I just finished reading the second book in this exciting new series by Charlie Higson. This second book in the series is actually a prequal to the first book, "The Enemy". The first book was also an awesome thrill ride. It began about a year and a half after a viral outbrake that killed almost everyone over the age of 14. Those adults and older teens that didn't die, became zombie like creatures who hunger for the flesh of the surviving children. This prequal takes the reader back to right after this viral outbrake and leads right up to the point where the first book also ended. Both books are great action from the beginning. Beware, to the squeamish among us, Mr. Higson seems to love to go into great detail when describing the gory affects the disease has had on the afflicted, and also in describing the gruesome ways many of the zombies and children meet thier bloody end. But I do believe these descriptions added to the fun and realness of the story.
What is interesting is how the different kids deal with their new world. Some form militaristic groups that are controlled by one, the strongest, person. Others form familial groups that work together to support, protect, and comfort eachother. But, regardless of the type of group, leaders do emerge out of necessity, but not always out of the leader's own desire. Often these different groups cross paths, and it's at these times that the reader is really given something to think about. Who is the Enemy? What kind of world do we want? And which kind of group will survive better in this world war of zombies versus kids?
I highly recommend this series to anyone who likes action stories, zombie stories, and/or apocalyptic stories. This would be a good fit for the reluctant teen reader who would rather play video games, because it reads like one. Though this is, as I stated, a prequal to "The Enemy" I would highly recommend that you read the series in the order that the authur intended. If you haven't yet, read "The Enemy" read it, then read "The Dead", then like me you can anxiously await the new installment in this great adventure.

posted by ScottGallagher on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Fear

The third book comes out in 151 more days. June 12 i believe.

posted by rebelwolfgirl166 on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Awesome Rollercoaster Thrill Ride

    I just finished reading the second book in this exciting new series by Charlie Higson. This second book in the series is actually a prequal to the first book, "The Enemy". The first book was also an awesome thrill ride. It began about a year and a half after a viral outbrake that killed almost everyone over the age of 14. Those adults and older teens that didn't die, became zombie like creatures who hunger for the flesh of the surviving children. This prequal takes the reader back to right after this viral outbrake and leads right up to the point where the first book also ended. Both books are great action from the beginning. Beware, to the squeamish among us, Mr. Higson seems to love to go into great detail when describing the gory affects the disease has had on the afflicted, and also in describing the gruesome ways many of the zombies and children meet thier bloody end. But I do believe these descriptions added to the fun and realness of the story.
    What is interesting is how the different kids deal with their new world. Some form militaristic groups that are controlled by one, the strongest, person. Others form familial groups that work together to support, protect, and comfort eachother. But, regardless of the type of group, leaders do emerge out of necessity, but not always out of the leader's own desire. Often these different groups cross paths, and it's at these times that the reader is really given something to think about. Who is the Enemy? What kind of world do we want? And which kind of group will survive better in this world war of zombies versus kids?
    I highly recommend this series to anyone who likes action stories, zombie stories, and/or apocalyptic stories. This would be a good fit for the reluctant teen reader who would rather play video games, because it reads like one. Though this is, as I stated, a prequal to "The Enemy" I would highly recommend that you read the series in the order that the authur intended. If you haven't yet, read "The Enemy" read it, then read "The Dead", then like me you can anxiously await the new installment in this great adventure.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    FIVE STARS!!! All the way!!!

    This book honestly is up on my top 3 series of books, next to The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner. I love how in every book at least one thing happens that you weren't expecting, and if you were, than you read ahead. Although when this book started, i was concerned that it was going to be a hard book to read, considering how suddenly it throws you into action. But if you haven't read it yet and you're looking at these reviews, by all means read it!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    This is one of the best series I've read, in fact, I'd rank it a

    This is one of the best series I've read, in fact, I'd rank it as number two next to Harry Potter, but that's like number one 'cause nothing's better than HP. I would recommend this book to people who love action and adventure with a scary feel. It's not that scary, but if you have an elaborate imagination and you read before bed you might have a problem. I thought it was awesome, but to furthur expain I think that Mr. Higson did a wonderful job portraying the proper emotions that kids on their own might feel. And I really love The Fear, the third book in the series. If you buy the original version of the series, it'll feel so much more authentic, considering that this story takes place in London, and the version you buy off here is translated. That's kind of weird since they're translating English to English..........Well, overall it's the best book of 2011!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Sequel

    Book 3 please?!? Seriously, come im B&N, get your head in the game!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Even Better Than The First!

    I have to say, I am not a zombie fan, but Charlie Higson can tell one hell of a story. Seriously--this book is not just for teens. Anyone who is a fan of zombie tales needs to pick up this series. The Dead is a prequel to The Enemy, which tells the story about a horrible plague that attacks anyone over 16. They either die or turn into child eating zombies. The Dead starts out a year before The Enemy, and you meet a whole new group of kids who start out fighting their way from a school in the country into London, where they realize there will be more food and better shelter. Along the way, they meet Greg, an adult with a bus who gets them to London. Greg is not a nice man, however, and between his ominous ideas for survival, and the inability of any adult to escape the plague, you have a built in time bomb. You will be on the edge of your seat reading this story!

    What I love about this novel is how well written it is, and how the plot neatly brings you to the beginning of the first novel, The Enemy. The characters are all great kids who are faced with the devastating knowledge that their parents are either dead or zombies, and they have no one to rely on but themselves for survival. You will be hard pressed to have just one favorite character and yes, there are a few tissue moments.

    I cannot wait for the third novel! A well written teen series that any fan of apocalyptic novels or zombie novels would enjoy. Disregard that fact that it is a teen novel and pick this one up. And read The Enemy first!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    This book is the best book i have ever read besides the hunger games. Its so intensifiying and i couldnt put it down !! This book is so awesome i want to read it again but i dont recomend this book to people who get scared easily!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for people for the taste of horror!

    This is a great book. Instead of one main character theres about ten i say. You really get to know each one and the book does go into detail about their pass life a little. Totally worth it. This book has everything from fighting with the zombies and shooting them, to having good laughs while eating lunch, even sadness and anger when a fellow friend is lost in this never ending battle against "The Dead". I find Charlie Higson has my newest favorite author after reading this. Its one of those books that after the fist page your hooked and never want to put it down. Once again i recommend to anyone who loves a good zombie survival story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Wooooooooooo!

    SMALL SAM AND THE KID LIVES!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    This book did not release me from its clutches until three in th

    This book did not release me from its clutches until three in the morning.  I was so afraid that I slept with the lights on.  Charlie Higson created a terrifying world in his novel, The Dead.  A group of boys are trapped in a boarding school in the English countryside when a strange virus becomes an epidemic.  Anyone over a certain age quickly becomes afflicted and succumbs to the disease.  However, unlike any other deadly sickness, victims of the illness do not immediately die; the adults and teens become zombie-like creatures who crave the flesh of children.  The boys must survive an attack by people they trust, they have to fight for their survival. 
    The Dead is not a book for children; I would not give this novel to any child under the age of thirteen.  Gruesome scenes are described and at least twenty people died within the first few chapters.  Most children could not handle the attacks and violence written by Charlie Higson.
    I give Higson’s work four out of five stars.  Blood, gore, and insanity are often brought together, but not like this.  Charlie Higson created a world that will exist in the minds of all his readers, a world that they will not soon forget.      

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome read

    This was a great sequel (well actually prequel) to the enemy. I did find it odd at first that none of the characters from the Enemy were in the beginning, but then I realized there are a bunch of new characters to connect with. Every page is filled with action, gore, and plot changing moments. I would highly recommend reading this book! The only problem is now I have to wait for the next book...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    The best book yet!!

    I read the first book just 2 weeks ago and I have to say the ending chapter left me hunry for the next book. Of course, I have not read this book yet, but if you read the first book you would now why i rated this one 5 stars. the first book is action-packed,suspenceful, and of course one of the books i would rate a "must have" kind of book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    This book

    Made me cry when the boy dies and gets Floppy dog back. I seriously cried in the middle of math class. <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    A must read series

    All books exciting..no typical vampire book, No vampires, so many funny scenes..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    D

    GREEEEAAAATTT book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Number 1 in top 5 book series ever.

    P.S. Harry Potter SUCKS HOT DOGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :P

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Kindle has 3rd book already and nook dosent

    Kindle already has book 3 and will get book 4 when it comes B&N stinks they dont even have book 3 yet

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    A ROLLER COASTER THRILL RIDE FOR YOUNG ADULTS! THE DEAD BY CHARLIE HIGSON!!

    THE DEAD by Charlie Higson is an interesting fiction for young adults ages 14 and older. This is the second in "The Enemy Series",Book One "The Enemy".While I have not read the first in this series it was not too hard to follow. This is the prequel to "The Enemy" and begins a year and a half prior to the incident of "The Enemy". A viral outbreak kills almost everyone over the age of 16,a few teens survived. The older teens and adults who didn't die became zombie like creature who hunger for human flesh of the surviving children. BEWARE the author does go into the gory detailsThis diesease causes not only zombie like effects,it causes their skin to itch,spots appear that turns into boils filled with pus,heartaches,sensitivity to light and sound,hears inner voices that confuses them while telling them to eat the young children. This is an allbeit interesting story it is also a little scary.It is a roller coaster thrill ride for young adults.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Hyerion,an imprint of Disney and My Book Addiction and More Reviews.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Kate

    Waaaaaaaa!!! I am so sad. Jack was my favorite!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Read

    LsyWefrwdtb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Must Read

    It could not have been any better. Although it didnt go right after the event what happened in the Enemy, itll puzzle up together eventually and itll all make sense. All your questions will be answered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7