Customer Reviews for

Dead and Beyond (Ancient Legends)

Average Rating 4.5
( 485 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(353)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

"For eighteen year-old Amber, life was never easy. And when her sexy boyfriend Aidan changes her against her will into a vampire, life is getting a lot more difficult. Did Amber fail to realize that her boyfriend’s enemy Devon, who always warned her about Aidan, was mor...
"For eighteen year-old Amber, life was never easy. And when her sexy boyfriend Aidan changes her against her will into a vampire, life is getting a lot more difficult. Did Amber fail to realize that her boyfriend’s enemy Devon, who always warned her about Aidan, was more friend that foe? Amber is about to find out…..and the secret is nothing she ever imagined."

This is the first time I read a book where the female protagonist is a vampire and I was not disappointed. I loved her point of view, her weakness and her strength. I loved that she had her flaws and her sarcastic attitude that made me laugh. If you are looking for a feel good book with some romance, suspense and action, this is the book that will entertain and please.

posted by fairybookreader on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

really liked it

Let me say up front that this author did an excellent job with the material. Beautifully written and well edited, with well-drawn characters and plot lines, I was definitely caught up in the story of Amber, who is anything but a fragile or weak young woman. Even when sh...
Let me say up front that this author did an excellent job with the material. Beautifully written and well edited, with well-drawn characters and plot lines, I was definitely caught up in the story of Amber, who is anything but a fragile or weak young woman. Even when she is facing a deadly situation, Amber shows courage by maintaining a sense of distinct humor.
I was skeptical when I purchased this book. For someone like me who actually doesn’t like paranormal books (especially those involving vampires make me roll my eyes because I would consider myself as a thriller/mystery reader), I must admit that the author has a very good way of bringing characters to life. Jayde Scott's writing is both terrifying and lyrical, a killer combination that makes the book as suspenseful as my regular read.

posted by coreas on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 485 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Highly recommended

    "For eighteen year-old Amber, life was never easy. And when her sexy boyfriend Aidan changes her against her will into a vampire, life is getting a lot more difficult. Did Amber fail to realize that her boyfriend’s enemy Devon, who always warned her about Aidan, was more friend that foe? Amber is about to find out…..and the secret is nothing she ever imagined."

    This is the first time I read a book where the female protagonist is a vampire and I was not disappointed. I loved her point of view, her weakness and her strength. I loved that she had her flaws and her sarcastic attitude that made me laugh. If you are looking for a feel good book with some romance, suspense and action, this is the book that will entertain and please.

    47 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Well done

    This is a delicious, brilliant, emotionally engaging novel where there is so much happening that I want to read it a second time. I like the fact this book has everything: humor, romance, suspense and entertainment.Many of the characters are multi-dimensional and yet very easy to relate to. The plot is very fast paced with no real breaks in between and with Scott introducing a new world that you might not have read before and in doing so, he did an excellent job. Very original, I must say. Well Done!

    41 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a fantastic story. If you're into Vampire thrillers with a

    What a fantastic story. If you're into Vampire thrillers with a touch of steamy romance, this book is for you. Amber Reed, a so-called psychic with the ability to communicate with dead humans as well as supernatural beings, is highly sought after in the paranormal world. When her best friend, Angel, disappears, a Shadow turns up at Amber's door, asking for help to solve the mystery.

    Amber's confused because she's a newly turned vampire, plagued by visions she doesn't understand and burdened with an uncontrollable craving for blood. Plus she's worried that her boyfriend, Aidan, is not what he appears to be. To figure out what's going on, she turns to her boyfriend's archenemy, Devon, hoping he can help her to understand what's happening to her mind and body.

    To add more confusion, Amber's home seems to be haunted by something evil, but as she tries to escape the insanity of it all, she's lured in by Devon's charm. Though she tries to resists his flirtations, it proves harder than anticipated. Amber's heart sinks with despair when she finds proof that her boyfriend, Aidan, has indeed kept a terrible secret from her, one that could risk her life as well as their relationship and future together. Now, she wonders if there is still a future with her soul mate, after all, it now seems that she's the root of all their problems.

    A well written book filled with mystery, suspense, and steamy romance. Though Amber's strong, she's also a bit of a klutz, which is a hilarious combination and I found her quite endearing. The twists and turns kept coming and had me on the edge of my seat. A great read and I highly recommend it.

    39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    really liked it

    Let me say up front that this author did an excellent job with the material. Beautifully written and well edited, with well-drawn characters and plot lines, I was definitely caught up in the story of Amber, who is anything but a fragile or weak young woman. Even when she is facing a deadly situation, Amber shows courage by maintaining a sense of distinct humor.
    I was skeptical when I purchased this book. For someone like me who actually doesn’t like paranormal books (especially those involving vampires make me roll my eyes because I would consider myself as a thriller/mystery reader), I must admit that the author has a very good way of bringing characters to life. Jayde Scott's writing is both terrifying and lyrical, a killer combination that makes the book as suspenseful as my regular read.

    34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    my favourite

    There is something I never say: I will never move this book from my top favorite shelf!!!!!
    Everyone who doesn’t read it, they will miss out the best book they have ever read.

    32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    highly recommended

    My heart is were my throat is and my chest is sealed so tightly that I feel as if i'm losing my breath. Dead and Beyond is a book recommended for adults and teens, any age, who is willing to read it. But i warn you, this book has many wonders and many surprises up ahead-you wont even know what hit you until a few minutes after. I am a very hard girl to please when it comes to books, I'm very choosy, but this is one of the best written books ever written. Breath taking-amazing literature-and crafty thinking-piece by piece this book perfectly like a puzzle.

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Definitely a fun read

    Mystery surrounds Amber after winning a psychic ability she calls a curse. Throughout the book she attempts to make a place for herself in the paranormal world while also maintaining her individuality.
    Her eyes are opened to a complicated world of danger and magic as she attempts to figure out her role in Aidan's world, who has no intention to let her go. Surviving in this world as a newly turned vampire is easier said than done, when strange things start to happen that aren't supposed to.
    Like with the other books of the ancient legends series, I found there is so much happening in this story. Aidan's relationship with Amber was mysterious and at times fragile. And then there's also Devon who really seems to like Amber and offers his assistance.

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Loved it

    One newly turned vampire. Two guys that won’t stop to make her theirs. One Friend that goes missing. Could Amber’s life be more complicated when all blood trails lead to her?
    ....I LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. It’s not so much about the story or the humor, but more the suspense, the action, the thrill that is hidden in this little gem. I believe everyone would enjoy it.

    29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Fantastic

    I was in from the first chapter. So much of what was happening before did make sense later. Well done! Great way to reveal the answers!

    28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Review of Bewitched

    First and foremost, thank you for providing me with an advanced reading copy for an honest review. I have been anxiously awaiting this book, so I am REALLY glad that I was chosen for a review. I know how much I can't get enough of Jayde Scott's master story telling with her torturous cliffhangers in each chapter that always keep me wanting to read more. THANK GOD Bewitched was no exception.
    How the author is able to fill each book with lots of action and more twists than a winding road, is beyond me. When I read the book, I knew that Jayde Scott won't let me down because of my past experience with her fantastic Ancient Legends books. While I knew I would not get bored, what I didn't expect, however, was where this story was heading...

    To my review:

    In Bewitched we have the signs of Amber changing into something she has always feared: a blood craving vampire with no control over herself. Haunted by a spirit only she can hear because of a psychic ability, she is being brought to the edge of her sanity. Instead of trusting her boyfriend, Aidan, who is busy in pleasing a demi-goddess and shows signs of having every intention to raise his ex, Amber confides in Devon, a shadow warrior and the result is that the two of them get closer in a forbidden way. When Amber's friend Angel disappears and all eyes are on her and an old prophecy seems to come true, I was bracing myself for a roller-coaster and found myself clutching the book right under my nose. As the story drew closer and closer to the final page of the book, the climax swept me off my feet. It’s as fantastic as any good climax can be and it contains the biggest plot twist. I am burning to share the details, to ramble on and on about what happened, but I won’t spoil it. All I can say is, I was not disappointed as the story line molded itself into something more gripping than I ever read before.

    Overall, it was as thoroughly entertaining as it could be. The characters are back with fighting vigour and the plot is bigger and better than before. By the end, I was really sad to see Bewitched nearing the last page as the next book seems now so far away.

    They always say, save the best for the last. Tis true. Tis true. Bewitched was in every possible way brilliant. It had suspense, action, mystery, and thankfully more romance than Scott's other books. Thank you, Jayde Scott, for providing me with an excellent story. You have a fan for life.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Breath of fresh air for young and adult readers

    Bewitched was amazing. It definitely was in my head for a couple of days. I felt the story line was very unique and unpredictable. It kind of crept along, subtly intriguing. You feel the dark clouds gathering over the protagonists head and then BOOM, leaves you shell shocked. It’s one of those books that tugs at your heat strings and makes you think, wonder, asking and even rooting for the character. There's some steamy scenes in here as well. I would recommend this book to young and adult readers.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Definitely gets you wrapped up in the story! I actually didn't r

    Definitely gets you wrapped up in the story! I actually didn't realize this was a series until after i was finished reading. Not that I had a problem- I read everything backwards and still was not confused. For those who haven't read the first three books, no worries all important plot points are summarized in each book and you may enjoy the fourth one without reading the first. ¿

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    couldn't put it down

    I am impressed with the author’s writing. I was totally engulfed in this story, never able to let go. I was like a vampire craving more. If you thought you have read a good book, think again, this exceeds everything

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Fabulous Read!

    I could not put the book down! I was only disappointed when I realized I' d reach the last page. I desperately wanted story to continue.

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    everything is fresh, unique and compelling

    I was very happy with this book.JS throws the reader into an unique fantasy world where literally everything you thought you knew is thrown out the door and reinvented in a smart new way. Amber is hilarious for a vampire and completely relatable.she stays my fav character in the series

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    hilarious

    This book started out quite funny and enjoyable..and then it got really better and more exciting towards the middle. I found myself not able to put the book down, and waiting for the last minute to go eat or take a bathroom break lol. If you have time, this is a good book to read. I love the ending...it's the best part. and nothing you will expect.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Legend - ,wait for it, - Dary!

    I was going to write a review about the things that could have been better but..... Scratch That! it was awesome, *reviewer high five*
    This book had everything needed for a fast paced, action packed, AMAZING story and also, one helll of a ride. The film follows Amber and her
    journey to escape from a paranormal world after accidentally winning the first prize. She teams up with vampire archenemy Devon and plots a way out of her problems. This book is simply awesome!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    sounds good

    there's no description? but just want to say the free preview's awesome. The first chapter starts out so good that I got goosebumps. can't wait to read the full book 2night.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    great

    Bought it yesterday, finished it today. Proves again you can never get too many good books!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    I really liked this story, it was well written and definitely wo

    I really liked this story, it was well written and definitely worth picking up. I can't wait to read the trilogy next.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 485 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25